|Chimney Point||Addison||Chimney Point State Historic Site||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2002|
This strategic point on Lake Champlain was occupied by Native Americans for thousands of years. In 1690 Jacobus deWarm build a small stone fort here. The French build a wooden stockade in 1731, erecting Fort St. Frederic across the lake in 1734. After the 1759 French retreat to Canada, the houses were burned, leaving only the chimneys and the name—Chimney Point. The British built a military road in 1759 to connect Fort No. 4 (Charlestown, NH) to their new fort at Crown Point, NY; the road ended two miles to the south. They also built earthworks at Chimney Point, as did American Revolutionary forces in 1776. The tavern, built in the 1780s, was visited in 1791 by Thomas Jefferson and James Madison. In the early 1900s it was a summer resort.
|DAR John Strong Mansion||Addison||6656 Route 17||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation ||2006|
General John Strong was a Revolutionary War patriot and a prominent early citizen of Addison County. He served as a judge, state legislator and represented Addison at the State Convention, which adopted the Constitution of the United States and approved admission of Vermont to the Union as the 14th State. Five generations of the Strong family lived in this stately Federal-style home built ca. 1796. The Vermont State Society Daughters of the American Revolution now maintains the home as a museum to help preserve and tell the story of life on the Vermont frontier.
|The Bohannon Site -- A Native American Village||Alburgh||Route 78 at Junction with E. Alburgh Road||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2008|
In 2007, archaeologists completed investigations discovering a pre-Contact village occupied sometime between A.D. 1400-1600. Evidence of longhouses, and cooking and food processing provide clues about the villagers' lives. Thousands of artifacts, including fragments of decorated pottery jars and smoking pipes, testify to their artistic skills. The remains of maize (corn) and bone from fish, frog, turtle, birds and mammals, ranging in size from squirrel to black bear, recovered from hearths and storage pits reveal the wide variety in the villagers' diet.
-continued on back side of marker-
Based on the decorative styles on the clay jars and pipes, and the village's layout, this site appears to have been inhabited by Native Americans with close ties to St. Lawrence Iroquoians, people whose main area of settlement was along the St. Lawrence River. The archaeological studies were conducted by the University of Vermont Consulting Archaeology Program with funding from the VT Agency of Transportation and Federal Highway Administration.
|Chittenden Home||Arlington||U.S. Route 7, East Arlington Road||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Oldest frame building one block east, built by Jehiel Hawley, 1764, was home of Thomas Chittenden, Vermont’s first Governor. Legend says the western vista, with its great pine, became the State Seal in 1779. Ethan and Ira Allen lived nearby.
|Dorothy Canfield Fisher -- (1879-1958)||Arlington||3854 Main Street||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation ||2002|
Known for her depiction of rural life in Vermont, Fisher was a popular novelist and proponent of education. She introduced the Montessori teaching method to American readers and helped found the Adult Education Association in the U.S. Born in Lawrence, Kansas; she received a Ph.D. from Columbia University and lived most of her life in Arlington at the Canfield family home. After publication of The Brimming Cup in 1921, Fisher became one of the nation’s most popular novelists. She served as the first woman appointed to the Vermont Board of Education and on the selection committee for the Book-of-the-Month Club (1926-1951). In her activities, she supported life-long learning, equal education and job training for women, and racial equality.
|State Seal Pine Tree||Arlington||North of Route 313 & West of 7||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1971|
This ancient tree was already a monarch of the forest in 1778. Visible then from the Arlington home of Thomas Chittenden, first Governor of Vermont, it is believed to have inspired Ira Allen in designing Vermont’s Great Seal. Note the similarity between the tree and its stylized portrayal in Seal atop this marker.
|Dorothy Thompson Memorial Common||Barnard||Route 12, South of the General Store||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation ||2002|
The Dorothy Thompson Memorial Common was established in 2001 by the Barnard Silver Lake Association, a non-profit organization, in memory of the renowned journalist and one of Barnard's outstanding citizens in the years 1928-1962. The Common offers an open space in the center of Barnard where residents and visitors can stroll, relax and enjoy the view of the lake. During the winter, the Common is used for sledding and tobogganing and affords snowmobilers access to the lake. The Barnard Silver Lake Association maintains the Common.
|Henry Stevens / Henry Stevens, Jr.||Barnet||1743 US Route 5 south at the town office||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation ||2007|
Born in Barnet on December 13, 1791, and educated at Peacham Academy, Henry Stevens was at various times a farmer, innkeeper, mill owner, legislator, postmaster, temperance leader, stage line proprietor, and operator of the Passumpsic Turnpike. A dedicated antiquarian who assembled Vermont's first great collection of historical materials, in 1838 he became a founder and the first president of the Vermont Historical Society. Stevens died on July 30, 1867, and is buried in the Stevens Cemetery.
-continued on back side of marker-
Henry Stevens, Jr. -Born in Barnet on August 24, 1819, Henry Stevens, Jr. inherited a love of books and historical research from his father. In 1845 he went to England, where he became his generation's greatest antiquarian book dealer, helping to build the Americana holdings of the British Museum, Library of Congress, Smithsonian Institution, and such eminent collectors as James Lenox and John Carter Brown. Fond of signing his letters "G. M. B." for "Green Mountain Boy," Stevens died in 1886 and is buried in London under a monument made of Barre granite that bears the inscription "Lover of Books."
|The Comerford Development at Fifteen Mile Falls||Barnet||I-91 northbound at the scenic turnout located at milemarker 121.83||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation ||2006|
The Connecticut River, starting at the International Boundary, flows 380 miles to the Atlantic Ocean. In its course the river falls 1640 feet. In 1928, the New England Power Association started a two-year project to build one of the largest hydroelectric developments in the country. The dam is located in the towns of Monroe, NH and Barnet, VT and is 275 miles above the river’s mouth. When dedicated on September 30, 1930 President Herbert Hoover pressed a button at the White House to start the first of four generating units.
This marker commemorates 75 years of continual operation of this project and is dedicated to the builders, operators, and neighbors of this first Fifteen Mile Falls Development.
other side of marker
The dam has earth embankments, a concrete gravity spillway and intake section, steel penstocks, and powerhouse. The reservoir has a surface area of 1093 acres at elevation of 650 feet above sea level and extends seven miles upstream. The dam is 2,253 feet long with a maximum height of 170 feet. The dam can pass flows through hydraulic operated sluice gates, flash boards, and stanchion bays as well as the turbines. The discharge capacity at full pond would be 99,000 cubic feet of water per second.
The powerhouse contains four turbines, at a combined rating 216,800 horse power and the 162,300 kilowatts is enough to power 162,300 homes. At the present time hydroelectricity accounts for five percent of New England's power needs.
|Henry M. Leland -- Designer of the Cadillac and Lincoln Automobiles||Barton||Junction of Route 5 & 16||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1999|
Born in Barton on February 16, 1843 to a hard working farm family, Henry Leland carried into his life the strength and quality of his family’s work ethic adding to it his gift and love for precision. By 1890, Leland was in Detroit where he had become chief engineer at Cadillac. Known as one of the world’s foremost automobile engineers, he won the Dewar Trophy twice:1909 for the concept of interchangeable parts; in 1914, with C.F. Kettering, for the automobile self-starter. At 74, he formed the Lincoln Motor Company to build aircraft engines for use in World War I. In 1919 he developed the Lincoln automobile. Henry Leland died March 26, 1932.
|George Washington Henderson -- First African-American Elected to Phi Beta Kappa, Minister, Educator, Champion of His Race||Belvidere||Route 109 at Belvidere Cemetery||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation ||1999|
Born in Virginia in 1850, Henderson was employed as a servant by Henry Carpenter, adjutant in the Eighth Vermont Regiment in the Civil War. In 1865 he accompanied Carpenter to his home in Belvidere and began "to learn his letters." After study with Oscar Atwood in Underhill and at Barre Academy, he entered the University of Vermont and graduated at the top of his class in 1877. He taught in schools in Jericho, Craftsbury, and Newport. After graduating in 1883 from Yale Divinity School, he went south in 1888 to serve as Congregational minister in New Orleans. He was author, in 1894, of the first formal protest against lynching in the U.S. From 1890 to 1932 he taught theology and classical languages in Straight (now Dillard), Fisk, and Wilberforce Universities. He died in Wilberforce, Ohio, in 1936.
|Bennington Battle Monument||Bennington||On the Old Bennington Village Green||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1957|
On August 16, 1777, British forces sent by General Burgoyne to seize supplies at Bennington were turned back by New Englanders under General John Stark and Vermont’s Col. Seth Warner. This 306 ft. commemorative shaft, planned 100 years later, was dedicated in 1891. In 1953 it was taken over, restored and an elevator installed by the VT Historic Sites Commission which now administers it for the State.
|Bennington Battle Monument||https://www.google.com/maps/place/42.8845833,-073.2136000|
|Park McCullough House||Bennington||Park and West Street||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2001|
Built as a summer cottage in 1865 for lawyer-entrepreneur-philanthropist Trenor Park and his wife Laura, the mansion was financed with a fortune amassed in California in the aftermath of the California Gold Rush. It was designed by the New York architectural firm of Diaper and Dudley and is considered one of the finest and best-preserved Victorian houses and one of the earliest French Second Empire residences in the U.S. In 1891 President Benjamin Harrison was a guest here during the festivities surrounding the celebration of the centennial of Vermont statehood and the dedication of the Bennington Battle Monument. Former residents include two Vermont governors: Hiland Hall, Mrs. Park's father, and John G. McCullough, the Parks' son-in-law.
|The "Corkscrew" Railroad||Bennington||75 Main Street at the Bennington Museum||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation ||2003|
When wealthy North Bennington resident Trenor Park purchased the Bennington-Rutland Railroad, he found that the railroad "barons" of the Troy and Boston Railroad refused him access to their New York lines. Rather than fight this monopoly, Park built a rail line from Bennington to Lebanon Springs, NY, where he could transfer his trains to southbound rails while bypassing Troy. The dozens of tight turns over 40 miles of hilly terrain gave this stretch of railroad the name "Corkscrew." Passenger service was canceled in 1931 and the line was officially abandoned in 1953. Remnants of the old rail bed can be seen where it crossed the highway at this point.
|Vermont -- Molly Stark Trail and Historic Old Bennington||Bennington||75 Main Street within the Iron Gate at Bennington Museum ||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
State Highway 9 traverses scenic Hogback Mt. to the Connecticut River Valley. Old Bennington, site of the Battle Monument and Historical Museum, was the meeting place of the Green Mountain Boys. It was the first town chartered by Governor Benning Wentworth of N.H. in 1749.
|Vermont Is A State I Love||Bennington||150 Depot Street||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2003|
"I could not look upon the peaks of Ascutney, Killington, Mansfield, and Equinox without being moved in a way that no other scene could move me. It was here that I first saw the light of day; here I received my bride; here my dead lie pillowed on the loving breast of our everlasting hills. I love Vermont because of her hills and valleys, her scenery and invigorating climate, but most of all, because of her indomitable people. They are a race of pioneers who have almost beggared themselves to serve others. If the spirit of liberty should vanish from other parts of the union and support of our institutions should languish, it could all be replenished from the generous store held by the people of this brave little state of Vermont." President Calvin Coolidge, 1928President Coolidge ended a two-day inspection of Vermont's 1927 flood recovery as his train arrived here about 7 p.m. Sept. 21, 1928. Five thousand people greeted Coolidge and wife Grace with loud applause as they appeared on the rear coach platform. After quieting the crowd, the president began, "Fellow Vermonters, for two days we have traveled through the state of Vermont..." He thanked Vermonters for their hospitality and great response to the flood. Continuing without notes, he said, "Vermont is a state I love…" A reporter heard Coolidge's voice "quivering with emotion." Applause was lengthy. Mrs. Coolidge asked if reporters had written down the words, lest they be lost. "Vermont is a State I Love" remains Coolidge's best-known tribute to his native state.
|1800 And Froze to Death / United Church of Bethel||Bethel||108 Church Street||Division for Historic Preservation||2016|
The year 1816 was known worldwide as “the cold year,” “the famine year,” and “the year without a summer.” Vermonters called it “Eighteen Hundred and Froze to Death,” as snow fell on June 7 and frosts came every subsequent month. The 1815 eruption of Mount Tambora, an island volcano of Indonesia, was surely the cause, as a cloud of volcanic ash spread throughout much of the world. In Vermont, the devastating loss of crops and livestock, coupled with economic collapse after the War of 1812, caused some 15,000 people to migrate west.
(continued on other side)
A religious revival, begun nationally in 1800, intensified in Vermont with the darkness and frigidity of 1816. In Bethel, five denominations united to build a house of worship. This Federal-style brick church, inspired by the published designs of influential architect Asher Benjamin, was consecrated Christmas Eve 1816. Members of the United Church of Bethel celebrated their building’s 200th birthday in 2016 with a series of events culminating in a bicentennial service on Christmas Eve.
(continued on other side)
|Bradford -- Home of Maker of First Globes and Birthplace of Adm. Clark||Bradford||U.S. Route 5, North Main Street||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Home of Maker of First Globes and Birthplace of Adm. Clark Home of Maker of First Globes and Birthplace of Adm. Clark James Wilson, a Bradford farmer and self-taught engraver, in early 1800’s made and sold the first geographical globes in the U.S. Adm. Chas. Clark, born here in 1843, was Captain of the "Oregon" which sailed around Cape Horn to defeat Spanish at Santiago Bay in 1898.
|Bradford -- James Wilson, Globe Maker||Bradford||I-91 Rest Area in Bradford||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1995|
100 yards behind this marker is the site where James Wilson had his home and workshop. Between 1808 and 1810 Wilson made and sold the first terrestrial and celestial globes in North America. Wilson was a farmer and blacksmith b. 1736 in Londonderry N.H. who moved to Bradford in 1795. He taught himself astronomy and geography, studied with Amos Doolittle in CT to learn engraving, skills he needed to make globes. Wilson died in Bradford in 1855 at the age of 92.
|Brandon Training School||Brandon||Route 7 North of the village||Dept. of Mental Health and Mental Retardation ||1993|
Established in 1915, the program served Vermonters with mental retardation and developmental disabilities continuously until 1993. Founded as the Brandon State School for Feebleminded Children, the name was changed to the Brandon Training School. Begun as a working farm, many original structures still exist, including remnants of a horse racetrack visible from Route 7. The campus grew to include over 30 buildings and 400 acres, and served over 650 persons at its peak in 1968. In the 1980s the population of the facility declined as persons were served in community based programs. The Brandon Training School maintained a proud tradition of quality care and active training throughout its history.
|Forest Dale Ironworks||Brandon||Route 73 N. E. of Forest Dale||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1991|
Ironworking began at Forest Dale in 1810 using local ore, and by 1823 a blast furnace was producing pig iron and a variety of ornamental iron. The Green Mountain Iron Co. later acquired the site and the mainstay of production was parlor stoves. An attempt to refit the furnace to burn coal instead of scarce charcoal failed during the 1850s depression. The Brandon Iron Works, the last owner to operate the site, shut down the forges and furnace in 1865.
|Stephen A. Douglas -- Opponent of Abraham Lincoln||Brandon||U.S. Route 7, in village||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1957|
The ‘little giant’ of national politics, born in Brandon in 1813, moved to Middlebury to learn cabinetmaking. Returning to Brandon, he attended the Academy. Moving to Illinois in 1833, his career merged with the stream of national politics, reaching the height in his famous debates with Abraham Lincoln in 1858. Lincoln’s opponent during the campaign, he nonetheless supported the Union until his death in June, 1861.
|Estey Organ Company||Brattleboro||Canal Street U.S. Route opposite end of Birge Street||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1997|
Here, in Brattleboro, was located the world’s largest manufacturer of reed organs. For more than a century, reed and pipe organs made in Brattleboro were sold to homes and churches around the world. The unusual slate-sided factory complex on Birge Street and the adjacent Esteyville neighborhood were developed in he early 1870s. Philanthropic and civic-minded, the Estey Company patented many manufacturing improvements and was a pioneer in equal pay for women.
|Naulahka -- Rudyard Kipling's Home near Brattleboro for 4 years||Brattleboro||U.S. Route 5, North of Brattleboro||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Rudyard Kipling’s home near Brattleboro for 4 years after marriage to the American, Caroline Balestier, and after visiting her home, famed British writer built isolated ‘Naulahka’. Here he wrote the ‘Jungle Books’ and other stories, and two daughters were born. In 1896 the Kiplings returned to England.
|Hathorne School -- Bridport District Schoolhouse #1||Bridport||Intersection of VT-125 and Basin Harbor Road||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2015|
Erected c. 1864, this one-room schoolhouse served hundreds of children in Bridport for nearly a century. Originally founded as the first district school in Bridport, it later became known as Hathorne School, reflecting the name of a nearby landowner. The restored building is a wood frame design on a stone foundation and features two entrances, one for boys and one for girls. A large woodstove heated the building and a cast iron bell called the children to class each morning.
|The Floating Bridge||Brookfield||VT 65 at Sunset Lake||Vermont Agency of Transportation||2015|
Since 1820, eight versions of the Floating Bridge have spanned Sunset Lake, each serving as a unique gateway to Brookfield Village. Previous versions of the bridge were constructed with a variety of materials, including massive timbers, 50-gallon barrels, and Styrofoam. The eighth version opened in 2015 and was intended to reflect the overall design and aesthetics of the previous crossings, but is constructed with a state-of-the-art flotation system to allow for easier maintenance and segmental replacement. Brookfield’s is the only floating bridge in Vermont, and remains an important community landmark and gathering place for the town.
|Old Stone House -- Historical Society Museum||Brownington||At the Brownington Church||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1958|
Historical Society Museum - In 1836, Rev. Alexander Twilight, schoolmaster of the Orleans County Grammar School, on a main stage route to Canada, built this structure, Athenian Hall, as a dormitory for his pupils. Open to the public, it holds the collection of the County Historical Society.
|2nd Vermont Volunteer Infantry Regiment||Burlington||North Avenue in Battery Park||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2011|
On June 24, 1861, the first Vermont soldiers who enlisted for service in the Civil War for three years left Burlington for Washington by rail. Four days earlier, the 866 officers and men from across the state had been mustered into the Union Army under Colonel Henry Whiting at the county fairgrounds. Company G was recruited mainly in Chittenden County. By autumn, the 2nd Vermont had been joined in the war zone by the 3rd through 6th Vermont. These five regiments were then formed into the Vermont Brigade that fought with distinction in many battles during the war. A total of 1,858 men served in the 2nd Vermont before its members mustered out on July 15, 1865.
Losses in the war: 399 dead, 692 wounded, 129 captured.
|Andrew Harris -- 1814-1841 -- First African American Graduate of The University of Vermont, 1838 -- Abolitionist & Advocate of Black Equality||Burlington||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2015|
“We consider it criminal in the sight of God and man, longer silently to submit to our indignities, or suffer them to be transmitted to posterity.”
Andrew Harris was one of the first African Americans to earn a college degree. The antislavery journal Liberator stated he was “probably the most educated colored man in our country.” He was a featured speaker at the 1839 meeting of the American Anti-Slavery Society. Harris was one of the founders of the American & Foreign Anti-Slavery Society, a delegate to the first convention of the Liberty Party, and pastor of the 2nd African Presbyterian Church in Philadelphia. He died at age 27.
|Athletic Park||Burlington||Intersection of Riverside and intervale Road||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2011|
Located on the streetcar line between Burlington and Winooski, Athletic Park was the home of the University of Vermont's baseball and football teams and track-and-field events from 1887 until Centennial Field opened in 1906. It was also where Burlington's baseball team in the first Northern League played from 1901 to 1906. Among the baseball players who graced its diamond were future major leaguers Bert Abbey, Arlie Pond, Ed Reulbach, Jean Dubuc, Ray Collins, Larry Gardner and Eddie Collins, and Negro stars such as Frank Grant, George Stovey, and Williams Clarence Matthews. History provided by the Friends of UVM Baseball.
|Battery Park -- Scene of British Attack in War of 1812||Burlington||Battery Park||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1958|
Here in June 1813, a Vermonter, Trent Churchill, and men built a parapet and set up a battery. On August 3 a British gunboat and 2 sloops, 12 miles offshore, began a cannonade. This attack was repulsed in 20 minutes by the American Battery and by 2 of Commodore Macdonough's armed scows.
|Burial Place of General Ethan Allen -- Born 1738 - Died 1789||Burlington||Colchester Avenue||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1954|
The mortal remains of Ethan Allen, Vermont leader, fighter, writer and philosopher, lie in this cemetery beneath the marble statue, but his spirit is in Vermont now.
|Captain John Lonergan -- 1837-1902 -- Hero of Gettsyburg||Burlington||City Hall Park||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2013|
Hero of Gettysburg In this park on July 22, 1863, Vermont’s only ethnic Civil War unit was welcomed home from the battle of Gettysburg. Lonergan commanded Co. A, 13th VT Regiment— the Irish Company—and he received the Medal of Honor for gallantry in the battle. The five VT regiments on 9-months duty formed the 2nd VT Brigade on October 27, 1862. In late June of 1863, the brigade marched from Union Mills, VA, to Gettysburg in six days. On July 2, 1863, the Irish Company helped recapture four cannons and took 83 rebel prisoners. The next day Lonergan’s men led the way when two VT regiments flanked Pickett’s forces assaulting Cemetery Ridge, causing heavy rebel losses. The Irish battle cry: Faugh a ballagh—Clear the way!
|Centennial Field||Burlington||Centennial Field, University of Vermont||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1997|
Named to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the University of Vermont’s first graduating class, Centennial Field has been the home of UVM athletics since 1906. The three ballparks that have stood on this site have hosted semi-professional and minor league baseball, as well as exhibitions by visiting Major League and Negro League ballclubs. The current grandstand, constructed in 1922, is one of the oldest still in use. Among the outstanding players who have graced Centennial’s diamond are Larry Gardner, Ray Collins, Tris Speaker, Jesse Hubbard, Robin Roberts, Kirk McCaskill, Barry Larkin and Ken Griffey, Jr.
|Church Street Marketplace||Burlington||Head of Church Street||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2012|
In 1962 architecture student Bill Truex experienced the transformation of Stroget, Copenhagen's main shopping area, from traffic-snarled nightmare to successful pedestrian mall. Seven years later, while on the Burlington Planning Commission, Truex enlisted support from Pat Robins of the Street Commission and together they promoted turning Church Street into a pedestrian district. U.S. Senator Patrick Leahy and his chief of staff, Paul Bruhn, secured a federal grant and Burlington voters, with support from Mayor Gordon Paquette, passed a bond for the city's share of construction costs. The Church Street Marketplace, which opened on September 15, 1981, has been described as the gem in the crown of the Queen City of Burlington.
|Ethan Allen: Park is Site of Farm Owned by Hero of Ticonderoga||Burlington||North Ave||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Putting behind him the martial deeds of a hero, Ethan came here in 1787 to till the soil as a peaceful farmer. On Feb. 12, 1789, he died here after a trip across the ice to South Hero. Memorial Tower was built on Indian Rock, traditional Algonquin look-out.
|General William Wells (1837-1892) / Dr. H. Nelson Jackson (1872-1955)||Burlington||158 S Willard Street (corner of South Willard and Main Streets)||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation ||2005|
In 1861 William Wells joined the First Vermont Cavalry as a Private and rose to the rank of Brevet Major-General. Promoted more times than any other Vermonter during the American Civil War, he participated in over 70 cavalry battles and skirmishes. For “conspicuous gallantry” at Gettysburg, Wells was awarded the Congressional Medal of Honor. This French Second Empire mansion was built for General Wells in 1877 by A. B. Fisher from a drawing in G. B. Croft’s “Progressive American Architecture.” After the Civil War, Wells was prominent in politics and business and was a partner in Wells, Richardson & Co. of Burlington, makers of Paine's Celery Compound. He married and had two children. Daughter Bertha married Dr. H. N. Jackson.
-continued on back side of marker-
Inspired by a bet Dr. Horatio Nelson Jackson, son-in-law of General William Wells and a University of Vermont medical alumnus, Sewall K. Crocker, and "Bud" the dog set out in May of 1903 from San Francisco for New York City. In a Winton car, christened "The Vermont," the trio completed their journey in two months and nine days. They are credited with making the first cross-country trip in a motor car. Jackson became a successful businessman upon returning to Burlington: bank president, newspaper publisher, and owner of the first radio station in town. Despite his age he joined the army in WWI, earning the Distinguished Service Cross, and was one of the founders of the American Legion. He died at 82.
|Grace Goodhue Coolidge||Burlington||312 Maple Street||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1997|
On Oct. 4, 1905, at 2:05 p.m. in front of the bay window in the parlor of this house, Grace Goodhue married Calvin Coolidge of Plymouth Notch, VT. Calvin Coolidge became President of the United States; Grace served as First lady from 1923-1929. Built in 1899, the house at 312 Maple Street was the family home of Capt. Andrew Goodhue, his wife Lemira, and their only child Grace Anna. Capt. Goodhue was federal steamboat inspector for the Lake Champlain Transport Co. The Goodhue family moved here while Grace was a student at the University of Vermont. Grace was a founding member of the VT Chapter of Pi Beta Phi, the first national college fraternity for women. The house was restored in 1993 by Champlain College.
|John Dewey -- Philosopher and Pioneer in Modern Education||Burlington||186 South Willard Street||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation ||2004|
Born here on Oct. 20, 1859, John Dewey attended local schools and in 1879 graduated from the University of Vermont. Dewey was world-renowned as a philosopher and author of many books. Ideas drawn from his educational doctrines profoundly influenced American education. John Dewey died June 1, 1952; his ashes are buried near Ira Allen Chapel at UVM.
|Little Italy||Burlington||Battery Street Extension and Intersection of Cherry Street||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2011|
Beginning in the early 1900s, the area directly to the east housed numerous emigrants. Many moved here from Italy with hopes to build better lives. Some worked in the lumber mills and railroad yards that bordered the lake. In the process, they created a community of over 140 homes, lush gardens, thriving businesses, community social centers, and Catholic schools and churches.
In the 1960s this area became the center of Vermont's largest urban renewal project. The final home was razed in 1968. Displaced families were scattered into the outskirts of Burlington. In place of this once vibrant family neighborhood stands a dynamic downtown district, internationally known as a social and economic center of Vermont.
|Mary Martha Fletcher -- (1830-1885)||Burlington||177 N Prospect St||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2007|
Mary Fletcher, born in Jericho, Vermont, moved here with her family at age 20. Following her father’s death, the family established Fletcher Free Library (1873). Mary Fletcher continued her parents’ benefactions. She founded Mary Fletcher Hospital (1879), the first general hospital in Vermont, and Training School for Nurses (1882). Mary Fletcher Hospital later became Fletcher Allen Health Care, Vermont’s academic health center. Mary herself suffered ill health and lived simply and privately. She died of tuberculosis in the hospital she founded. The Burlington Friends Meeting (Quakers) began to hold worship here in 1959.
|The Black Snake Affair||Burlington||On Intervale Bike Path||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2008|
In 1808, the Federal government, reacting to unfair British policies, passed an Embargo Act, forbidding trade with Great Britain. The Champlain Valley relied on trade with British Canada and the Act was unpopular and significant smuggling developed. The Black Snake was the most notorious smuggling vessel of its day. In August, 1808, the Black Snake was in the Winooski River to load potash for Canada. The Revenue Cutter Fly seized the Black Snake and, in the confrontation, the Black Snake crew killed three men. The smugglers were tried for murder and three men were sentenced to be hung but only Cyrus Dean was executed. On November 11th, with 10,000 people present in Burlington, he was "swung off".
|Vermont, Major Cross-State Route / Steamer "Vermont"||Burlington||At Foot of King Street||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
From this point, where the Winans launched their steamer ‘Vermont’ in 1808, travelers drive eastward on Route US 2, cutting through the Green Mountain Range at Bolton to the Capitol at Montpelier, to Barre - ‘granite center of the world’- and to St. Johnsbury, ‘maple sugar city’. John and James Winans built here the second successful steamboat to operate commercially only two years after Robert Fulton made his historic trip up the Hudson on the ‘Clermont’ The Champlain Transportation Co. was one of the oldest steamboat companies when it suspended operation in 1932.
|Church Street Marketplace||Burlington||Bottom of Church Street||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2012|
In 1962 architecture student Bill Truex experienced the transformation of Stroget, Copenhagen's main shopping area from traffic-snarled nightmare to successful pedestrian mall. Seven years later, while on the Burlington Planning Commission, Truex enlisted support from Pat Robins of the Street Commission and together they promoted turning Church Street into a pedestrian district. U.S. Senator Patrick Leahy and his chief of staff, Paul Bruhn, secured a federal grant and Burlington voters, with support from Mayor Gordon Paquette, passed a bond for the city's share of construction costs. The Church Street Marketplace, which opened on September 15, 1981, has been described as the gem in the crown of the Queen City of Burlington.
|First Unitarian Universalist Society||Burlington||152 Pearl Street||Division for Historic Preservation||2016|
Designed by noted architect Peter Banner of Boston, the Federal-style Meeting House was built in 1816 for the First Congregational Society (Unitarian) and is the oldest surviving place of worship in Burlington. Banner’s design features a projecting square tower with octagonal belfry in front of the two-story brick nave. It was renovated in 1845 to reflect the Greek Revival style, retaining the tower’s original design aesthetic. Its location and design have made the Meeting House one of the most recognized and significant historic landmarks in Burlington. In 1982, following a merger of the Unitarians and Universalists, the congregation voted to become the First Unitarian Universalist Society of Burlington.
|Historic Kent Tavern||Calais||Kents Corners||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1997|
This brick tavern was built by Abdiel Kent between 1833 and 1837. It served as his home, and from 1837 to 1846 was a stagecoach stop on the road from Montpelier to Canada. The Kent family settled in Calais in 1798 and this section of town is known as Kents Corners. One of Abdiel’s six brothers, Ira Kent, lived in the white clapboard house across the street. Together from 1837 until 1860 they operated I&A Kent Store in the two story wooden addition on the tavern. The Kent family owned the property until 1916 and at various times and places in town made and sold shoes and boots, ran a brickyard and sawmill, and farmed. The barn is the only survivor of the several outbuildings that stood on this property. Louise Andrews Kent, the best selling author of the ‘Mrs. Appleyard’ series of books, convinced her cousin, A. Atwater Kent, the radio inventor and magnate, to purchase his great uncle’s home and restore it as a museum in 1930.
|Cambridge Junction Bridge||Cambridge||Cambridge Junction Road||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2004|
This bridge was built in 1887 by George W. Holmes in order to access an important railroad junction and the surrounding village of Cambridge Junction. The Burr Arch structure has a clear span of 135 feet, making it one of the longest spans of its type in the United States. The bridge is also known as the “Poland Bridge” after the retired judge who led a lawsuit against the Town of Cambridge that resulted in the bridge’s construction. The bridge was rehabilitated in 2003-04 with funds from the National Historic Covered Bridge Preservation Act, which was authored by Vermont Senator James Jeffords.
|"Vermont's First College"||Castleton||VT Route 4A in front of the town library||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1986|
On this site Castleton State College, Vermont’s first college and the eighteenth oldest in the nation, was first established as the County Grammar School, chartered by the General Assembly of the Republic of Vermont on October 15, 1787. The College moved to its present campus in 1833.
|Edwin L. Drake -- 1819-1880 -- Founder of the Oil Industry||Castleton||U.S. Route 4, West of the Village||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1959|
Drilling the first modern oil well in the United States on August 27, 1859, at Titusville, Pennsylvania, Drake struck oil at 69 feet and launched one of the world’s great industries. On farm on Drake Road, near this spot, he lived as a boy and attended the local schools.
|Fort Warren||Castleton||U.S. Route 4, at Hubbardton Road||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1952|
Battle of Hubbardton Seven miles north directly east is the elevation of Fort Warren, built in 1779 for defense of the northern frontier. The road from the north was the route of American retreat before Burgoyne, protected by Col. Seth Warner’s rear-guard action at the Battle of Hubbardton, July 7 ,1777.
|James Hope -- 1818-1892||Castleton||South Street||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2014|
American portrait and landscape painter, James Hope excelled at capturing the beauty of mid-19th century Vermont. He is best known for his five large paintings of the Civil War Battle of Antietam in Maryland done from sketches made while serving as Captain in the 2nd VT Volunteers. The paintings are displayed at the Antietam Battlefield. Hope built his Gothic Revival style home in 1851, where he painted each summer for twenty years. He taught painting for a time at Castleton Seminary before later moving to Watkins Glen, NY where he became known for his landscape paintings. He is buried in Watkins Glen.
|The 'Old Chapel', Castleton Medical College, 1818-1862||Castleton||Seminary Street near college entrance||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1986|
Castleton Medical College was the first such college in Vermont. This structure, built in 1821, was originally located on Main Street west of the present town library. In 1864 a leading citizen presented the building to Harriet Haskell, Principal of Castleton Seminary. It has served the College as dormitory, classrooms, and chapel and is a reminder of traditions which date back to the College’s founding in 1787. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
|Slate Pencil Manufacturing||Castleton||North Road at Pencil Mill Road||Division for Historic Preservation||2015|
In 1843, John Cain erected a slate pencil mill along Sucker Brook. Benjamin and James Adams bought the mill in 1853, and began mass-producing slate pencils as The Adams Manufacturing Co. Soon, after acquiring more land and business partners, the company was renamed Vermont Slate and Alum. At its peak, the company produced up to 100,000 pencils a day, which were shipped throughout the world. By the end of the Civil War, slate pencil manufacturing began to wane as wood and graphite pencils took over the marketplace. The company ceased production following a devastating fire in 1876 and foreclosed two years later. Remnants of the pencil mill can be seen along the brook from Pencil Mill Road.
|The Charlotte Whale -- Vermont's State Fossil||Charlotte||N.E. corner of the intersection of Thompson's Point Rd and VT railroad||Charlotte Historical Society||1993|
In 1849 an 11,000 year old Beluga Whale was found north of this site in what had been the Champlain Sea. Resident J.G. Thorp collected the bones, and naturalist Zadock Thompson assembled the skeleton now displayed in the Perkins Museum of Geology at UVM.
|Chester Depot||Chester||Intersection of Railroad Avenue and Depot Street. In front of the train station.||Division for Historic Preservation||2015|
The first public train arrived here on July 18, 1849, and in December, the Rutland & Burlington Railroad opened the first rail line across Vermont linking the Connecticut River valley at Bellows Falls and Lake Champlain at Burlington. The route passed between Chester’s older North and South villages, and Chester Depot village emerged. Fire destroyed the first station in 1871, and the lessee Vermont Central RR built this one that year. By the 1890s, several industrial and commercial enterprises made Chester Depot one of the busiest stations on the Rutland RR. The State purchased the line in 1963, leasing it in part to the Green Mountain RR. Exceptional in Vermont, this brick station retains its high-style Italianate design and continues in railroad use.
|Kingsley Grist Mill||Clarendon||2964 East Street||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2005|
The last of a dozen mills that dotted Mill River during the 18th & 19th century, stands just upstream of the Town lattice truss covered bridge. Kingsley’s Mill, the only mill ever designed and built by nationally known Vermont covered bridge builder Nicholas M. Powers of Clarendon, served Vermont’s grain production needs from 1882 until 1935.
|Ray W. Collins||Colchester||Route 7, 2 miles south of Chimney Corners||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1997|
A descendant of one of Burlington’s original settlers, Ray Williston Collins was born on this farm on February 11, 1887. After graduating from Burlington High School and the University of Vermont, Collins joined the Boston Red Sox in 1909 and soon established himself as one of the best left-handed pitchers in the American League. In 1913-14 he won a combined 39 games for the Red Sox, and his lifetime ERA is an impressive 2.51. When his career was cut short by an injury in 1915, Collins returned to this farm and for 35 years struggled to make a living as a dairy farmer. He was active in community affairs; among other things, he represented Colchester in the Vermont Legislature from 1941-43 and served as a University of Vermont trustee in the 1950s. Ray Collins still lived on this farm when he died on January 9, 1970.
|Buffalo Soldiers at Fort Ethan Allen||Colchester||223 Ethan Allen Avenue, Ely Long Music Center||Division for Historic Preservation||2016|
In July 1909, the 10th U.S. Cavalry arrived at Fort Ethan Allen for a four-year assignment. Nicknamed the “Buffalo Soldiers” during the American Indian Wars, the 10th Cavalry was one of the first peacetime all-black regiments established in the regular U.S. Army after the Civil War. Highly decorated and famous for their professionalism and contributions during the Spanish-American War in Cuba, the 10th Cavalry became popular with the local community, hosting performances, parades and sporting events. They joined in military funerals and monument dedications. The Music Center, built in 1895 as Riding Hall, was used by the 10th Cavalry for drills, riding practice and as a performance venue in winters.
|1st Normal School -- Pioneer in Teacher Training||Concord||U.S. Route 2, at Shadow Lake Road||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1954|
The first recognized school in America for the purpose of training teachers was conducted near here by the Rev. Samuel Read Hall, 1823-25. Practice teaching was employed with ‘Lectures on Schoolkeeping’ which became in 1829, the first professional book for teachers 2.4 miles south at Concord Corner.
|George Lansing Fox -- One of the 4 Dorchester Chaplains||Concord||Methodist Church in East Concord||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1960|
Called from his Gilman parish to serve as a Chaplain in World War II, First Lieutenant Fox died when the Dorchester was torpedoed in the North Atlantic. Giving his life jacket to a soldier, he perished with 3 other chaplains, in one of the most heroic acts of the War.
|Pearl S. Buck: June 26, 1892 - March 6, 1973||Danby||Main Street||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2000|
Mother, wife, writer, humanitarian, and civil rights activist, Pearl Buck was the first American woman to receive the Pulitzer and Nobel prizes for literature. A visionary, she worked to cross political and cultural barriers to further understanding among all peoples of the world. Her own perspective was fostered by a life lived equally in China and America and by extensive world travels. She established Welcome House, the first adoption agency specializing in multi-racial adoptions, and the Pearl S. Buck Foundation to aid thousands of children fathered by American servicemen overseas. In 1950 she purchased property in Winhall, VT, and in 1969 moved to Danby, finding an American town she loved, helped restore, and where she died in 1973.
|Greenbank's Hollow -- A Forgotten Village||Danville||Intersection of Brook Road and Thaddeus Stevens Road||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2007|
On this site, in 1849, Benjamin Greenbank converted an existing small mill into a 5-story woolen factory. As many as 45 people worked here to produce up to 700 yards of cloth a day. Greenbank's Hollow, as it became known, included a company store, gristmill, sawmill, school, and several residences nearly all owned by Greenbank.
On December 14, 1885, a fire at the mill quickly spread and destroyed the village including the covered bridge. Greenbank did not rebuild and today only the foundations of mills and homes remain--mute testimony to the existence of a once thriving and important Danville community.
|Thaddeus Stevens||Danville||U.S. Route 2, on the common||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2006|
Born crippled and poor in Danville in 1792, Stevens was schooled by his mother, Sally Morrill Stevens, and at nearby Caledonia County Grammar School, graduating from Dartmouth College in 1814. He became a brilliant lawyer committed to racial equality. As an abolitionist Congressman from his adopted state of Pennsylvania and as Chair of the House Ways & Means Committee, he worked to finance the Civil War. He was recognized as the father of the 14th and 15th Amendments to the U. S. Constitution and architect of the Reconstruction of the South. He was both renowned and reviled for his eloquent call for the abolition of slavery.
|Vermont -- Orleans County Route||Derby Line||Derby Line Town Hall||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Derby Line demonstrates the goodwill between Canada and the United States with its International Rotary Club and Haskell Library and Opera House built astride the boundary line. Southward in Orleans County lie two of the New England’s most beautiful lakes, Memphremagog and Willoughby.
|Birthplace of William Griffith Willson, 1895-1971: Co-founder of Alcoholics Anonymous||Dorset||Village Street||Wilson House Board of Directors||1995|
Bill Wilson was born November 26, 1895, in a room behind the bar at the Wilson House Hotel. From age 11 until entering the Army, he lived at the Griffith House across the church yard from his birthplace. Will W. wrote the book recovery program for alcoholics. Through this program, a multitude of lives have been saved. Other programs, based on the original 12 steps, exist worldwide for healing individuals and families.
|Dorset -- Here New Hampshire Grants First Voted Independence||Dorset||Route 30, at Village Green||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
At Cephas Kent’s Tavern on the West Road, four Conventions were held, 1775-76, where finally the vote to form a ‘separate District’ was passed by the delegates from the East and West sides without one dissenting vote.
|Fenton Pottery Site -- 1801-1810||Dorset||Intersection of Dorset Hollow Road and Kirby Hollow Road||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2001|
Jonathon Fenton established a pottery and kiln near this site in 1801. He first made redware from clay found along the banks of the Mettowee River. He then became the first potter in Vermont to make salt-glazed stoneware. In 1810 he moved his pottery to East Dorest. His two sone, Richard Lucas Fenton and Christopher Webber Fenton, aslo became stoneware potters of note, working in East Dorest and later with the Norton family in Bennington.
|First Marble Quarry -- Oldest Quarry in U.S., 1785||Dorset||U.S. Route 30, South of Village||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Westerly near Mt. Aeolus, Isaac Underhill opened the first marble quarry in 1785. Dorset quarries were most active in early 1800s when small slabs were used for hearths, doorsills and headstones. With better transportation and saws, larger blocks were quarried.
|The Dorset Field Club -- Oldest Continually Operated Golf Course in the U.S.||Dorset||132 Church Street ||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2010|
On September 12, 1886 a group of golfers, principally from Troy and New York City, who summered in Dorset, laid out a nine hole golf course, then known as The Dorset Golf Links on this present site. The Club’s first president and principal architect was A.W. Harrington, Jr. The other founding members were: Allen Bourne, Richard M. Campbell, James C. Chapin, Ransom H. Gillet, Joe H. Harrington, George B. Harrison, Fred S. Hawley, S. Frank Holley, W.E. Kent, Edwin Q. Lasell, O.P. Liscomb, George Lewis Prentiss and Henry S. Woodruff. The Dorset Field Club constructed a Clubhouse in 1896 and it was named “Woodruff Hall” in honor of one of the founders. It is preserved as the dining room area of the present clubhouse.
-continued on back side of marker-
By 1886 Dorset had become a popular summer retreat and over the next century play increased and the course was lengthened and improved. The course underwent five substantial alterations and re-routings but always remained in the same location. It continued as a nine hole course with alternate tees for use on the second time around. Many of the early features are still recognizable. Adjacent land was acquired and in 1999 nine additional holes were opened. The course has become, not only venerable, but one of the most highly regarded in Vermont. Tennis courts were added early in the club’s history and it quickly became, and continues as, a center for competitive tennis. Platform Tennis courts were added in 1968 and the club developed one of the most active programs in northern New England.
|Dorset Field Club||https://www.google.com/maps/place/43.2561833,-073.1004000|
|Mountain View Farm||East Burke||Darling Hill||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1998|
Established in 1883 by Elmer A. Darling (1848-1931), native of East Burke. He became part owner/manager of the world famous Fifth Avenue Hotel in New York City. After the hotel closed in 1908, Mr. Darling retired to the life of a gentleman farmer, raised prize-winning Morgan horses and Jersey cattle. The farm also produced the choice ‘Darling’ brand of cheeses and butter. At its zenith, his prosperous Mountain View Farm included Burke Mountain and extended over 7,000 acres. The farm’s monumental barns and distinctive colonial yellow and white-trimmed farmhouses line Darling Hill Road. Elmer Darling studied architecture at M.I.T., and with the assistance of Jardine, Kent and Jardine, architects, designed his magnificent neo-Georgian residence, Burklyn Hall, built in 1905-1908 on knoll astride the Burke/Lyndon town line. Mr. Darling was a public-spirited citizen whose philanthropic generosity includes the Colonial Revival style Burke Mountain Club, built in East Burke in 1919.
|Birthplace of Larry Gardner||Enosburg Falls||On the Town Green||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1996|
Larry Gardner was born in the house at 14 School Street on May 13, 1886. After leading Enosburg Falls High School to the 1905 state baseball championship and starring at the University of Vermont for three seasons, Gardner joined the Boston Red Sox in 1908. One of the premier third baseman of his era, Gardner played seventeen seasons in the major leagues, participating in four World Series before retiring in 1924. In 1973 the Society for American Baseball Research chose Gardner as Vermont’s greatest baseball player.
|First Slate Quarry in Western Vermont||Fair Haven||Scotch Hill Road||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1997|
This area of Vermont is known for its high quality slate; the first quarry was opened on Scotch Hill in 1839 by Alonson Allen & Caleb Ranney. Allen began the first manufacture of roofing slate in Vermont in 1848. By 1869 there were seventeen quarries in Fair haven of which eleven were on Scotch Hill. Quarrying of slate was important to the economy of the area and brought in many skilled Welsh immigrants who were familiar with the quarrying of slate in their native Wales.
|Matthew Lyon -- Fair Haven's oldest mills built on falls by founder||Fair Haven||Near U.S. Route 4 & Route 22A||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Matthew Lyon, Irish-born leading grantee, built grist, saw and paper mills here, 1783, and a forge above. He ran first store, inn, and newspaper. As Congressman from Vermont he was jailed under the Sedition Law and later elected from Kentucky and Arkansas.
|Chester A. Arthur -- 21st President of the United States||Fairfield||At the Chester A. Arthur Historic Site||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2002|
Research indicates Chester Alan Arthur was born in Fairfield, Vermont, on October 5, 1829. When he was less than a year old his parents moved to a new parsonage built at this site. After graduating Phi Beta Kappa from Union College, he became a lawyer championing civil rights for blacks. Later, as Quartermaster General, he organized the provision of food & supplies to Union Civil War soldiers. On September 19, 1881, Arthur became president following the assassination of James Garfield. As president he advocated reducing tariffs and backed Civil Service reform, turning away from political patronage. Arthur died in 1886 and is buried in Albany, NY. This replica of the parsonage was built in 1954.
|Presedent Chester A. Arthur||https://www.google.com/maps/place/44.836114,-72.859408|
|Chester A. Arthur -- Birthplace of 21st President||Fairfield||Fairfield Village, Route 36||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2003|
Although the exact location is debated, Chester A. Arthur was born on Oct. 5, 1829 in Fairfield. He became a New York lawyer and politician and was elected Vice-President in 1880. Upon the assassination of James Garfield, Arthur became President on Sept. 20, 1881. His administration was distinguished by the creation of the U.S. Civil Service, better relations with Central and South America, and the revival of the U.S. Navy. Arthur died Nov. 18, 1886. The State-Owned Historic Site is 5 miles northwest from here.
|President Chester A. Arthur||https://www.google.com/maps/place/44.8016000,-072.9455833|
|Consuelo Northrop Bailey: 1st Female Lieutenant Governor||Fairfield||Town Highway 75 in front of the Bent-Northrop Library||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2005|
Born in Fairfield in 1899 at her family farm, Consuelo Northrop attended grade school in Sheldon and high school in St. Albans. In 1921 she graduated from the University of Vermont. Later she entered Boston University Law School, graduating in 1925. In 1940 she married Henry Albon Bailey. Consuelo Bailey was the “first” in many areas: first woman city prosecutor for Burlington, first woman lawyer in VT to try a murder case, first VT woman to be admitted to practice law before the U. S. Supreme Court, first woman to be elected Speaker of the VT House, and the nation’s first female to be elected lieutenant governor.
Traveling the world and representing the state were important to Consuelo Northrop Bailey but no place was more comforting than Fairfield.
“One of life’s most comforting extras is love of the land…I see here the same land which the Northrop Family knew for nearly two centuries…I feel close to the America I knew in days gone by and because I feel free here… I feel the love of those whom I have known there which today still gives me a feeling of confidence, protection and peace”.
Bailey worked tirelessly for the local and national Republican Party until her death in 1976. She bequeathed the Town of Fairfield monies to build “The Bent Northrop Memorial Library.” The library, opened in 1988, is a constant reminder of Bailey’s never ending love of Fairfield.
|Nathaniel Niles -- 1741-1828||Fairlee||West Fairlee Center, at the intersection of Middlebrook Rd & Bear Notch Rd||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation ||2007|
Revolutionary War patriot and author of the popular ode "The American Hero," written in celebration of the Battle of Bunker Hill, Nathaniel Niles was an original settler of Fairlee, then founder of West Fairlee, and first minister of this church. He came to Fairlee soon after the Revolution from Norwich, Connecticut, where he was active in politics, manufacturing and religion. During a public career that spanned three decades in Vermont, Niles served on the state Supreme Court, as Speaker of the state House of Representatives, as a trustee of Dartmouth College, and as one of Vermont's first two Congressmen. A staunch Jeffersonian Democrat, he led his party in Vermont and also published frequent articles on religious topics.
|Samuel Morey -- Pioneer Inventor of Steam and Gas Engines lived here||Fairlee||U.S. Route 5 in Village||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Samuel Morey, resident of Orford and later Fairlee, successfully operated a steamboat on the Conn. River in 1793. Making over 4,000 experiments, this early scientist patented an internal combustion engine in 1826 to anticipate the age of the motor car and airplane.
|Stewart Holbrook 1893-1964||Ferdinand||Route 105 at McConnell Pond Road||Division for Historic Preservation||2016|
Stewart Holbrook was a logger, a nationally recognized author, and self-taught historian whose topics included Ethan Allen, railroads, and the timber industry. Holbrook, believed to have coined the term “tree farm,” was renowned for writing about the forest and those who worked in it. A man of humble beginnings, he is remembered as an “ex-lumberjack who had lectured on American History at Harvard University.” In 1965, International Paper Co. dedicated 33,000 acres of forest as a memorial to him. Holbrook’s mission of conservation, hunting, fishing, hiking, and enjoyment of the spiritual values of the forest continues under the management of the Silvio O. Conte National Fish and Wildlife Refuge, U.S. Department of the Interior.
|Rokeby' -- Home of Rowland E. Robinson -- Writer of Vermont Folklore||Ferrisburgh||U.S. Route 7, near village||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Here in 1833, Rowland E. Robinson was born of Quaker parentage. He became a popular illustrator and interpreter of nature and Yankee dialect. ‘Rokeby’ was a station on the Underground R.R. Here are the blind author’s memorabilia. Open to the public during summer.
|The Great Convention||Ferrisburgh||U.S. Route 7, near the Wesleyan Chapel||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2002|
Frederick Douglass delivered a fiery abolitionist speech here in July 1843. Born in slavery in Maryland, Douglass freed himself by escaping to the north, where he became a tireless crusader for African American freedom and equality. He was among the greatest orators and black leaders of the 19th century. The Ferrisburgh meeting, organized by local activist Rowland T. Robinson, was one of the "100 Conventions" sponsored by the American Anti-Slavery Society.
|Runaway Pond||Glover||State Route 16, 5 miles south of Glover||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2010|
On this site, on June 6, 1810 settlers dug an outlet to the north from what was then known as Long Pond. The retaining bank collapsed, causing all water from the 1.5-mile long pond to be discharged toward Barton River, and on to Lake Memphremagog, with extensive damage to the countryside, but no loss of life.
|Rogers' Rangers Cemetery -- 1759||Granby||Porrell Road about a 1/2 mile from intersection of Granby Road||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2013|
This stone cairn marks the graves of two Rogers' Rangers who died during the French and Indian War. Their gruesome deaths were recorded in the diary of Lieutenant George Campbell: "(Sergeant) Lewis had told me that his party had shot a Moose near a River but it disappear'd in ye woods & they were to weak to track it, except 4 rangers who came upon ye Moose being attack'd by wolves who turn'd on ye 3 Rangers & kill'd one of them & mortally wd. Ye other 2 who crawled to Lewis where they died." Loescher, Burt G.: The History of Rogers' Rangers: The St. Francis Raid (Maryland, 202) p. 60. "Text printed with permission of Heritage Books, Inc."
|Hyde Log Cabin -- Built circa 1783||Grand Isle||U.S. Route 2, near schoolhouse||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation ||2001|
Built circa 1783. This pioneer log cabin was one of the first buildings constructed in the area. Built from cedar logs by Jedediah Hyde, Jr., an engineer and veteran of the Revolutionary War, it was the home of the Hyde family for over 150 years. The cabin has one large room, heated by a stone fireplace, and a loft above. Many believe this to be the oldest log cabin in the United States. The cabin was moved two miles to this location in 1946 by the Vermont Historical Society and restored in 1956 and 1985. The Grand Isle Historical Society owns the collection in the building.
|Vermont -- Major Cross-State Route||Guildhall||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
U.S. 2 is the major highway between the Atlantic and Lake Champlain. It leads through St. Johnsbury, the maple sugar center, down the Winooski River to Montpelier, through the tallest mountains of Bolton Gorge to Lake Champlain at Burlington, University center and the state’s largest city.
|Royall Tyler -- Early American Playwright||Guilford||Guilford Center Road, at the Historical Museum||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Boston-born Royall Tyler’s play, ‘The Contrast’ was the first American drama to be performed in this country (1787) and his novel, ‘The Algerine Captive’ presented the first Yankee types in our literature. He came to Guilford in 1791 and was Chief Justice of the Vermont Supreme Court for 9 Years.
|Vermont -- Connecticut Valley Route||Guilford||U.S. Route 5, near Massachusette state line||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
On this former wilderness trail to Canada, the pioneers built old Fort Dummer in 1724 below Brattleboro, then the frontier’s most advanced outpost. Guilford, then the largest town in Vermont, was the scene of bitter strife between the ‘Yorkers’ and the Green Mountain Boys led by Ethan Allen.
|Disastrous Train Wreck||Hartford||2591 Route 14||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2012|
At 2:10 AM on February 5, 1887 the last car of The Montreal Express derailed causing three cars to fall from the bridge and crash on the ice of the White River 43 feet below. Embers from the coal stoves ignited the spilled oil of the lanterns and fire consumed the wreckage. Twenty-five passengers and 5 crew members perished. As a direct result of the wreck, oil lanterns and coal stoves were abolished on railroad trains, and electric lights and steam heat were adopted.
|Vermont -- Gateway to Green Mt. State||Hartford||U.S. Route, west of White River Jct.||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
White River Junction, a natural transportation center, is where highways, rivers and railways converge. In 1759 the rapids at the confluence of the White and Conn. Rivers nearly brought death to Robert Rogers and 3 Rangers. Vermont’s first train ran from the Junction to Bethel in 1848.
|Saxe's Mills||Highgate||Intersection of St. Armand Rd (TH #7) and Ballard Rd (TH #10)||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2006|
Here in 1786 John Saxe, (Johannes Sachse) a Loyalist from Rhinebeck, N.Y, built the area's first gristmill. His sons added a sawmill, potashery, general store, post office, and tavern. They incorporated the town of Highgate in this house 1805, and served in numerous offices; Matthew as Highgate's first elected Town Clerk, Conrad as Captain of the militia during the War of 1812, and Peter as member of the Vermont General Assembly and Franklin County Judge. Peter's son, John Godfrey Saxe, born here in 1816, ran twice for Governor but is best remembered for his poetry.
|Early Black Settlers||Hinesburg||Lincoln Hill Rd||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2009|
On this hill from 1795 to1865 thrived an African American farming community. The first settlers at the bottom of this road in 1798, from MA, were Samuel Peters, Hannah Lensemen & husband Prince Peters. Prince served in Captain Silas Pierce's MA Line (8th Co, 3rd MA Regiment) for 3 years during the American Revolution. Samuel Peters, 2nd volunteered at the Battle of Plattsburgh during the War of 1812. This pioneering community at the bottom of the hill, at least six related families by the end of the Civil War, cleared the land, joined the local Baptist church, had home manufactories, and exercised their voting rights at Freeman Meetings. Their descendants owned land here and contributed to the local economy of this hill until the late 20th century.
-continued on back side of marker-
Violet and Shubael Clark, from CT, arrived at the top of this hill in 1795. Their farm grew to 175 acres spilling over into Huntington, and one son owned 100 acres nearby. During the 1850s-60s, the home of their daughter, Almira and William Langley, became a place of refuge for those escaping slavery. Three Langley brothers and a cousin fought in the MA 54th Regiment and the SC 33rd during the Civil War. Loudon Langley, born here about 1836, stayed in SC after the war and represented Beaufort at the 1868 Constitutional Convention. He and his brother Lewis are buried there in the National Cemetery. The original Clark settlers expanded to 5 related families just before the Civil War, and many are buried in an abandoned cemetery at the top of this hill.
|Battle of Hubbardton -- Only Battlefield on Vermont Soil||Hubbardton||U.S. Route 4, north to E. Hubbardton||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1989|
Only Battlefield on Vermont Soil, July 7, 1777 Here, a successful rear-guard action by Col. Seth Warner’s Vermont, Mass., and NH troops ended British pursuit under Gens. Frazer and Reidesel. Thus, Gen. St. Clair’s American Army safely retreated from Fts. Ticonderoga and Independence to fight again near Bennington and Saratoga. Burgoyne’s plans for British advance, first resisted at Hubbardton, ended in defeat at Saratoga.
|Island Pond||Island Pond||In village, near railroad station||Vermont Board of Historic Sites||1968|
Pioneer Railroad Planner John A. Poor’s dream of an International Railway connecting Montreal, Canada with the Ice-free harbor of Portland, Maine became a reality on July 18, 1853, when the first through trains met at this great halfway point on the Grand Trunk Railway.
|Site of French Fort Ste. Anne -- Vermont's oldest settlement||Isle La Motte||On West Shore Rd||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Vermont’s Oldest Settlement on this shore was the site of Fort Ste. Anne built in 1666 by Capt. Pierre LaMotte for defense against the Mohawks. The Jesuits celebrated the first Mass and erected the first chapel. Though not permanent, this stockade was Vermont’s 1st white settlement.
|Sweet's Ferry||Isle LaMotte||1250 West Shore Rd||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2008|
From here, "The Chazy Landing Ferry," completed the major automobile route across northern Lake Champlain from Isle La Motte, VT, to Chazy Landing, NY, before the Rouses Point-Alburgh bridge was built. In 1905 Will Sweet designed, built, owned, and operated the first gasoline powered ferry on Lake Champlain named "The Twins" (for his sons Clinton and Gerald). In 1916 he constructed a larger ferry named "Twin Boys." The ferries operated from 1905-1937 and were prominent on early road maps.
|Theodore Roosevelt's Visit to Isle LaMotte||Isle LaMotte||3849 West Shore Rd||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2008|
On this site on September 6, 1901, Vice President Teddy Roosevelt was a guest at the home of Lieut. Gov. Nelson Fisk to be the main speaker at the annual meeting of the Vermont Fish and Game League. Here Roosevelt learned that President McKinley had been shot in Buffalo, NY. McKinley died eight days later and Roosevelt became the 26th US President.
|"Snowflake" Bentley -- Jericho's world famous snowflake authority||Jericho||Jericho Center Cir., in village||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2003 |
For fifty years Wilson A. Bentley, a farmer and self taught scientist, developed his technique of photomicrography to reveal to the world the grandeur and mystery of the snowflake — its universal hexagonal shape and its infinite number of lovely designs.
|Chittenden Mills||Jericho||Old Red Mill Drive||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1997|
Named for Thomas Chittenden, first governor of Vermont and great-great grandfather of Frank Howe. Frank and his father Lucian rebuilt this mill in 1885 changing from grinding with mill stones to the new gradual reduction roller process. Grain was shipped in on the B&L Railroad from the mid-west and the flour sold over a wide area of northern Vermont. The four Tyler turbines were powered by the Brown’s River. The miller’s house was built in 1859. Until 1929 a Towne Lattice Truss covered bridge spanned the gorge on the site of the present footbridge.
|Julian Scott -- 1846-1901||Johnson||Route 15 west end of village||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1998|
Julian Scott, Vermont’s most renowned Civil War artist, was born in this Johnson house in 1846. At the start of the Civil War, when only 15, he enlisted as a fifer in the Third Vermont Regiment. Scott was awarded a Medal of Honor for rescuing wounded under enemy fire at the Battle of Lee’s Mills, Virginia. He later studied art under Emanuel Leutze at the National Academy of Design in New York and in1870 was elected an associate member of the Academy. The Battle of Cedar Creek, his monumental 1874 painting, was commissioned as a Civil War memorial for the Vermont State House. Scott’s Civil War and Native American paintings are acclaimed for their authenticity, detail, and democratic viewpoint. He died in Plainfield, New Jersey, in 1901.
|Mt. Killington -- State's second highestpeak -- scene of christening legend||Killington||Killington Access Road||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Southward appears the summit of Mt. Killington, once called Pisgah, on which Rev. Samuel Peters claimed he christened the wilderness with the name ‘Verd-mont’ in 1763. Most historians give credit to Dr. Thomas Young’s letter ‘to the inhabitants of Vermont,’ sent to Windsor in 1777.
|Abby Maria Hemenway||Ludlow||High St.||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2002|
Born in Ludlow in 1828, and educated at Black River Academy, Abby Maria Hemenway was the editor of the Vermont Historical Gazetter, a five volume compilation of local history, published between 1860 and 1891. For thirty years, Hemenway managed her own publishing empire, collecting, editing, and printing the history of every town in her state, an achievement matched by no one else in the United States. Floods, fires, and chronic indebtedness delayed the work, but in the end the town histories of every Vermont county but Windsor were published. Hemenway never married, and in 1864 joined the Roman Catholic Church. She died in poverty in Chicago in 1890, having continued working to the very end.
|Theodore N. Vail -- Pioneer in Creating the Telephone Industry||Lyndon||Campus of Lyndon State College||Vermont Division for Historic Preseration||1976|
Pioneer in Creating the telephone industry bought a farmhouse on this site in 1883. Continually enlarged by Vail, it became his permanent residence and office. Conferences held here culminated in the creation of the American Telephone and Telegraph Company with Vail its president, who proceeded to develop the world’s first mass communication system.
|Lincoln's "Hildene" -- Summer Home of Son of Civil War President||Manchester||On grounds of Estate Lincoln's 'Hildene'||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Eastward on the hillside can be seen the Manchester estate of Robert Todd Lincoln, eldest son of President and Mary Lincoln. He became fond of Vermont and for over twenty years made this his summer home. He died here July 25, 1926.
|Southern Vermont Arts Center||Manchester||On West Rd at the Southern Vermont Arts Center||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2002|
Begun in the 1920s as an informal artists' group for the exhibition of painting and sculpture, the Southern Vermont Arts Center has grown to become a leading Vermont institution devoted to performance, exhibition and studio art. It acquired the current site, the former Gertrude Divine Webster estate, in 1950. By 2000 a music pavilion, studios and museum expanded its role in the local and regional community. Hundreds of artists show and perform annually, and thousands attend programs, continuing the traditional search for creativity in the inspiring hills and small villages of southern Vermont.
|The Revolutionary War||Manchester||Historici Route 7A across from The Equinox hotel||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2011|
Ethan Allen crossed Lake Champlain to capture Fort Ticonderoga on May 10, 1775 for "America's First Victory." Allen's expedition passed through here on May 5, 1775. Nathan Beman from Manchester guided the expedition into the fort; John Roberts of Manchester was the head of the expedition's largest immediate family. In 1777, after evacuating Ft. Ti and Mount Independence, Gen. Arthur St. Clair traveled to the Saratoga area via Manchester. The first meetings of the Council of Safety (Vermont's initial government) were at the original Marsh Tavern (on site of south wing of The Equinox). In Manchester, Gen. John Stark declined orders from Gen. Benjamin Lincoln and opted to go to Bennington. Starks's NH troops and Seth Warner's "Green Mountain Boys" camped in Manchester prior to the Battle of Bennington victory on August 16, 1777.
|John Vincent||Mendon||U.S. Route 4 near Cream Hill Rd||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2003|
Near this location lived "Captain John" Vincent, a member of the Caughnawaga tribe. An admirer of General George Washington, Captain John became a firm friend of the Colonies. He accompanied Benedict Arnold and Richard Montgomery to guide American troops from Cambridge, Massachusetts, to Quebec for the siege on Quebec in 1776. He fought with General Gates at the Battle of Saratoga, where Burgoyne surrendered his British forces. After the Revolutionary War he settled in Mendon. Captain John died on July 3, 1810, at the home of Johnson Richardson, site of the first public house in Mendon, Vermont.
|Brigadier General Edward H. Ripley||Mendon||45 Route 4, Maple Sugar and Vermont Spice parking lot||Division for Historic Preservation||2016|
Born in Rutland, Ripley enlisted in the 9th Vermont in 1862 and fought at Harper’s Ferry, Chaffin’s Farm and Second Fair Oaks. As brigade commander of the Army of the James, the general led the first Union troops into the Confederate capitol of Richmond on April 3, 1865, restoring order and extinguishing fires that threatened the city. Ripley warned Abraham Lincoln of an assassination plot two days before the president’s death.
After the Civil War, Ripley had an estate and horse farm in Mendon, with interests in banking, marble and hotels. He donated land for the town hall and represented Mendon in the state legislature. His warhorse Old John is buried at the inscribed stone near the old sugarhouse.
|Birthplace of Ray Fisher||Middlebury||Junction of Route 7 and Creek Rd||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2002|
Born in Middlebury on October 4, 1887, Ray Lyle Fisher grew up on farms along Otter Creek and Creek Road. Ray starred in baseball and football at Middlebury High School and Middlebury College before joining the New York Yankees in 1910. He pitched in the major leagues for ten seasons, compiling a 100-94 record and 2.82 ERA. In 1921 Fisher became baseball coach at the University of Michigan, where he coached for 38 seasons and won 15 Big Ten championships. He spent his summers at a camp on Lake Champlain and coached in Vermont’s Northern League. Ray died at the age of 95 in Ann Arbor, Michigan.
|Emma Willard -- Pioneer educator gave women first college training here||Middlebury||U.S. Route 7, on the common||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Pioneer Educator gave Women 1st College Training Here. Emma Hart came to Middlebury in 1807 to take charge of the Femal Academy. After her marriage to Dr. John Willard, the town’s first physician, she gave the earliest collegiate instruction for women in America at a Seminary in her home, during the years 1814-1819.
|John Deere -- Inventor of "The Plow that Broke the Plains"||Middlebury||Cannon Park||Vermont Board of Historic Sites||1968|
Inventor of the plow that broke the plains John Deere learned the blacksmith trade here as an apprentice in the shop of Capt. Benjamin Lawrence from 1821 to 1825. The shop was located below this spot on Mill Street, in what is known as ‘Frog Hollow’. In 1836 Deere removed to Grand Detour, Illinois where, in 1837, he built the world’s first steel moldboard plow.
|A.W.Gray & Sons||Middletown Springs||Route 133A and Montvert Rd.||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1998|
Near this site Albert W. Gray manufactured his horse power treadmills, which he invented and patented in 1844 and 1856. He also invented a corn sheller, patented in 1836, and a machine for making wrought iron nails. For over 50 years the shop, under the management of A. W. and his sons, Leonidas and Albert Y., employed some 60 workers to produce treadmills, threshers, wood saws, ensilage cutters and gasoline engines that were sold all over the world. In 1868 A. W. Gray rediscovered Middletown’s mineral springs, which had been lost after the flood of 1811, inspiring a change in the town’s name to Middletown Springs in 1885. The Grays bottled and sold the waters, helped finance construction of the Montvert Hotel resort in 1871, and built their own fashionable homes nearby.
|Vermont at Cedar Creek||Middletown, VA||8277 US-11||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2014|
Vermont soldiers played an important role in the Union victory at Cedar Creek. In a desperate stand made to slow the early morning onslaught of confederate Jubal Early’s army, the Eighth Vermont Regiment lost 110 of its 164 men engaged. The First Vermont Brigade held the central position in the mid-morning stand that finally brought Early’s attack to a halt. the battered Eighth Vermont was the first Union regiment to break the Confederate line in the afternoon Union counterattack. In that attack the First Vermont Cavalry captured 23 cannon and three battle flags.
|Montpelier Recreation Field ||Montpelier||Route 12 North||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2003|
Built in 1940 by the Federal Works Projects Administration and home to the Northern League for the Montpelier Senators and the Twin City Trojans from 1941-1952. Many future Major League baseball players played on this historic field. The biggest star, pitcher Robin Roberts, called this his home field for two seasons. In 1946 he threw a no-hitter and in 1947 the Trojans won the pennant as he compiled an 18-3 record. Robin went on to win 286 Major League games playing for the Philadelphia Phillies, Baltimore Orioles, Houston Astros, and the Chicago Cubs. He was elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 1976.
|State House||Montpelier||State St||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Montpelier became the Capital in 1808, when the first State House was built. Ammi B. Young’s 2nd State House, built in 1838 and destroyed by fire in 1857, was similar to this 3rd structure on the site, completed in 1859.
|Senator William Upham||Montpelier||145 Main Street||Division for Historic Preservation||2015|
Senator William Upham (1792-1853)
“Slavery is a crime against humanity and a sore evil in the body politic.”
William Upham resided here during the first half of the nineteenth century. He was an ardent abolitionist, voting against the Fugitive Slave Act and slavery in new states and territories. A member of the Whig Party, Upham represented Vermont as a U.S. Senator from 1843 to 1853. He supported the Canadian rebellions of 1837 and 1838 and vehemently opposed the Mexican-American War, 1846-1848. Senator William Seward eulogized him, saying, “His national policy was the increase of industry, the cultivation of peace, and the patronage of improvement.” Upham was interred at Green Mount Cemetery in Montpelier.
|Morrisville Depot||Morrisville||10 Portland Street||Division for Historic Preservation||2015|
Built c. 1872 by the St. Johnsbury & Lamoille County Railroad, a division of the Portland & Ogdensburg Railroad, this depot served as an important stop linking Portland, Maine and the Great Lakes for nearly a century. The original portion of the depot has a low gable roof and broad projecting eaves supported by heavy chamfered brackets. In 1956, passenger service was discontinued.
|Mount Holly Railroad History||Mount Holly||VT-103 in Mount Holly||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2015|
During construction of what became the Rutland Railroad, two important events occurred in Mount Holly. In 1848, a construction crew discovered the tusk and tooth of a woolly mammoth in the nearby wetland. These are on display in the Community Historical Museum in Belmont Village. The second event occurred on December 18, 1849 near this highpoint on the rail line, later called the Summit. The tracks that connected here were being constructed simultaneously from Burlington and Boston. Locomotives pulling trains with dignitaries from both cities met to drive the last spike. Water from Lake Champlain and Boston Harbor was mingled in front of the cowcatchers, and all celebrated with rum and local hard cider.
|Village of Mechanicsville -- Founded in Early 1800's||Mount Holly||54 Tarberville Road||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2011|
Mechanicsville was a village center in the Town of Mount Holly, which was chartered in 1792. The village prospered with the growth of water-powered manufacturing, that included sawmills, gristmills, wheelwrights, furniture shops, and the A.P. Chase Toy Factory. As manufacturing declined, Mechanicsville became popular with vacationers. The citizens petitioned to have the village name changed to Belmont to better fit the image of an idyllic summer retreat. The change was enacted on September 2nd, 1911.
|Bayley-Hazen Military Road -- 1776-1779 -- Began Just North at Wells River||Newbury||4220 Main Street||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2012|
Conceived, planned, laid out and financed by Newbury founder, Gen. Jacob Bayley 1726-1815, who on November 24, 1775, presented his plan to General George Washington for a shorter military route to Canada. On Washington's orders, Bayley began road in spring of 1776. After 26 mi., it was halted until 1779 when Washington ordered Col. Moses Hazen & Col. Timothy Bedel to report to Bayley & continue his road about 26 mil. further northwest to Hazen's Notch now Westfield, VT. Thos. Johnson, Frye Bayley, Abial & Silas Chamberlain, John McLean & Native American, "Indian Joe", surveyed road for Gen.Bayley. Most are buried here at Ox Bow Cemetery near Gen. Bayley.
|Elmbank: Home of Charles Ross Taggart -- "The Old Country Fiddler"||Newbury||4724 Main Street||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2011|
Born on March 19, 1871, Charles Ross Taggart, "The Man from Vermont" grew up in Topsham, VT and in 1907 moved his family to this house which he named Elmbank. Beginning in 1895, Taggart, a humorist and musician, traveled all over the U. S. Entertaining in lyceum and Chautauqua circuits with his fiddle & stories. His most recognized character was "The Old Country Fiddler,” and his credits include over 40 recordings and a 1923 Phone-Film - one of the earliest "talkies." Taggart retired in 1938, selling his beloved Elmbank and relocating with family out of state. He died in Kent’s Hill, ME on July 4th, 1953.
|Jacob Bayley -- Founder of Newbury and Revolutionary War General||Newbury||4982 Main Street||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation ||2012|
Founder of Newbury and Revolutionary General Veteran of the Indian Wars, Bayley led a migration of settlers from Newbury Mass. to the rich land of the Coos, here at the Great Ox-Bow. A staunch patriot, he bitterly opposed the ‘Haldimand Negotiations’ carried on with Canada by Ethan & Ira Allen during the Revolution.
|North Montpelier Historic District||North Montpelier Village in East Montpelier||Route 14 - North Montpelier||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2012|
This small community - once called Rich's Hollow- was settled in the late 1700s and during the 19th century was an important cultural and industrial center area. Samuel Rich created North Montpelier Pond by damming the Kingsbury Branch to power a sawmill, gristmill, and woolen mill that operated until 1970. Businesses included a blacksmith, shoe shop, cheese factory, distillery, two general stores, the Rich Tavern and the Nye Organ factory. A wooden bridge connecting the two sides of the village as replaced in 1897 by a metal pony truss bridge. A bridge with a steel grate deck that "sang" as vehicles crossed was built in 1936. This "singing bridge" was replaced in 2011. The village is listed on the Vermont State Register of Historic Places.
|Norwich University||Northfield||Norwich University||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1994|
The Nation’s Oldest Private Military College Founded by Captain Alden Partridge in 1819 as the American Literary, Scientific and Military Academy at Norwich, Vermont, Norwich University was relocated to Northfield, Vermont in 1866. Partridge’s innovative curriculum combined military, practical, scientific and liberal instruction. Guided by his educational principles, Norwich University pioneered in offering civil engineering, physical education and experiential learning and was one of the first institutions to offer instruction in agriculture, modern languages and political-economy. The Morrill Land-Grant Act of 1862 and the 1916 legislation which created the Reserve Officer’s Training Corps are extensions of Partridge’s theories of education.
|Alden Partridge -- (1784-1854)||Norwich||On the green in front of the bandstand||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1994|
A native of Norwich, Vermont, Alden Partridge was a pioneer in American military education. Superintendent of the U.S. Military Academy at West Point from 1815 to 1817, he returned here in 1819 to found the American Literary, Scientific and Military Academy, which, in 1834, became Norwich University, now located in Northfield, VT. Partridge’s innovative curriculum, called the ‘American System of Education’, combined military, practical, scientific and liberal instruction. The educational system established here served as a model for eighteen military academies and colleges founded throughout the United States. The Morrill Land-Grant Act of 1862 and the 1916 legislation which created the Reserve Officers Training Corps are extensions of Partridge’s theories of education.
|Early Settlers & Allen R. Foley||Norwich||U.S. Route 10A East, near Ledyard Bridge||Norwich Historical Society||1979|
Site of a log hut where the Hutchinson and Messenger Families were the first to winter in Norwich in 1765. Erected by the Norwich Historical Society in memory of Professor Allen Rich Foley, Vermont Legislator and Historian 1898-1978.
|First Public Grammar School -- Located on this site||Norwich||U.S. Route 5, in the village on the lawn near the Congressional Church||Vermont Board of Historic Sites||1962|
Located on this site. On June 17, 1785, the Vermont General Assembly enacted a law which designated "the place for keeping a County Grammar School in and for Windsor County, shall be at the house commonly known by the name the Red Schoolhouse in Norwich," thus initiating the provision of Vermont’s First Constitution for schools of secondary learning.
|Theta Chi Fraternity||Norwich||U.S. Route 5 near St. Barnabas Espicopal Church||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1956|
Near this spot stood the Old South Barracks of Norwich University where, at 9:00 pm on April 10, 1856, Theta Chi Fraternity was founded by Frederick Norton Freeman and Arthur Chase.
|Town of Norwich||Norwich||Intersection of US-5 and Elm Street||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2013|
Forged by the determination and skills of early settlers, Norwich’s legacy survives in its Georgian, Federal, and Greek Revival buildings. With commercial, residential, and public buildings clustered near its green, Norwich remains an engaged, vibrant. The village is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. On July 4th, 1761 the Royal Governor Benning Wentworth of the Province of New Hampshire granted a charter for the town. The 1820s – 1904s were prosperous and the town exported agricultural and manufacturing products. Norwich University and Dartmouth College, across the river, attracted residents. In 1866 the South Barracks of Norwich University burned, and the school relocated to Northfield, VT.
Home to Norwich University founder Alden Partridge, artist Paul Sample, and many Olympians. Norwich has long attracted people of purpose and ingenuity. The 1843 Norwich Female Abolition Society and the c. 1894 Women’s Christian Temperance Union pressed for change. The first Vermont YMCA band played on the green for years. In 1963 President Kennedy established the Dresden School District, the first interstate school system in the country.
The Lewis House, on whose grounds this marker sits, was built c. 1807. from 1846-1892 General William Lewis was the first of five generations of the family to live and work here, where he served as the Town Clerk and Treasurer. The house remained in the family until 2003 when the Historical Society purchased the house.
|Mt. Independence Military Road -- Route to Hubbardton, 1777||Orwell||Route 22A, south village||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2012|
This vital American military road to the south of here was built on the September 7, 1776, orders of Gen. Horatio Gates to connect Mount Independence, a new Revolutionary War fortification on Lake Champlain, to Hubbardton, Rutland, and Fort No. 4 in New Hampshire. Gates called the road “Essential to the Interest of the United States” and “the safety and protection of the inhabitants of all the Middle States of this Union.” The road was used by soldiers traveling to the Mount and suppliers sending military stores for the new fort. On the night of July 5 and 6, 1777, as the British approached, American forces withdrew from Mount Independence and Fort Ticonderoga along the road, fighting the British at the Battle of Hubbardton on July 7.
|Caledonia County Grammar School||Peacham||Bayley-Hazen Rd, at its intersection with Church St & Cemetery Rd in Peacham Corner||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2005|
Caledonia County was set out from Orange County in 1792. Peacham chose to provide a County grammar school rather than a courthouse. The Caledonia County Grammar School (Peacham Academy) was chartered in 1795, the third County grammar school in Vermont. Classes commenced in 1797. Thaddeus Stevens, abolitionist and Pennsylvania Representative to the US Congress, and George B.M. Harvey, Ambassador to Great Britain, were among the notable persons educated here. Over 3000 students from Peacham and other towns, states and countries attended Peacham Academy. The school closed in 1971. The Academy building burned in 1976.
|Hammond Covered Bridge||Pittsford||West off U.S. Route 7, road to Florence||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1991|
One of four covered bridges in the town of Pittsford, this 139’ Town lattice truss bridge was built in 1842 by Asa Nourse. During the 1927 Flood the bridge floated off its abutments and ended up intact in a field about one and a half miles downstream. After the waters subsided it was towed back upstream and raised upon its old abutments.
|The Vermont Sanatorium||Pittsford||At the entrance to 317 Academy Rd||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2007|
The Colonial revival building, designed by Scopes & Feustmann of Saranac Lake, Ny, was constructed and endowed by Redfield Proctor and his family as a private pay institution for the treatment of Tuberculosis. Completed in 1907, the center building was for Administration with an infirmary, staff quarters, and public areas. To the southwest connected by a glass enclosed loggia, was the West Cottage for men. To the southeast, also connected by a glass enclosed loggia, was the East Cottage for women. A northwest wing for additional patients was added in 1930.
-continued on back side of marker-
Early 20th century treatment for Tuberculosis was bed rest, fresh air, outdoor sleeping, a good diet, sunshine and ultra-violet lamps. Some patients had surgical procedures. The building capacity was 44 patients but often housed more. In 1921 the Board of Trustees donated the Sanatorium, its endowment and all property to the State of Vermont. Medical Directors of the Sanatorium were: Dr. H.D. Chadwick 1907-13; Dr. Edw. J. Rogers 1913-47; Dr. Louis Benson 1947-1966. The Sanatorium closed in 1966 and the building reopened in 1971 as the Vermont Police Academy.
|Kendrick Dam, Pond, Mill and Ice House||Pittsford||Plains Road, approximately 0.1 mile east of the intersection with Sugar Hollow Road.||Division for Historic Preservation||2015|
A sawmill was built in 1798 by Pittsford’s Woodruff family about 200 yards to the north on Sugar Hollow Brook, a Furnace Brook tributary. The mill was replaced and a dam built c.1870 by the Nourse family. An ice house was added, with ice cut from the impounded waters of the pond and sawdust from the mill for insulating. The name Kendrick Dam and Pond reflects later owners.
In 2014 the Town of Pittsford dismantled the dam to mitigate potential flooding and restore the natural flow of this important trout stream. The laid up stone and impounded sediment were removed.
Parts of the foundations of the dam, mill, and ice house have been preserved, a testament to the historic uses of Vermont’s rivers and streams.
|Pittsford's Iron Industry||Pittsford||North End of the Town Green on Route 7||Division for Historic Preservation||2016|
In 1791, Israel Keith built an iron blast furnace two miles east of here, adjacent to what is now Furnace Brook. Materials for the smelting process included iron ore, manganese, and charcoal from Chittenden, with limestone flux from Pittsford. In 1826, Simeon Granger & Sons purchased the furnace from Keith’s successor, Nathan Gibbs. The furnace was rebuilt after a fire and in 1829, the Grangers erected a foundry nearby. Worker housing, a company store, school, and the Granger family’s brick house surrounded the foundry to form the village of Grangerville.
(continued from other side)
At its peak, the Granger foundry produced 300 tons of cast iron stoves a year for kitchens, laundries, parlors, and bedrooms, which were shipped across the eastern seaboard. They also produced kettles, griddles, basins, flatirons, and door hardware. Later owners included C. & E.L. Granger; Granger, Hodges & Co.; Pittsford Iron Co.; Vermont Iron Co.; and Jeremiah Pritchard. Under Pritchard, sixty men were employed at the furnace, foundry, mines and charcoal kilns. As local resources were depleted, iron ore from eastern New York was shipped by rail to Pittsford. In 1882, operations ceased and Vermont’s last operating iron furnace closed. Several stoves are in the collection of the Pittsford Historical Society Museum.
|Calvin Coolidge -- 1872-1933||Plymouth||Off Route 100-A, at Plymouth Notch||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1958|
Born July 4, 1872, in a house back of store, Calvin Coolidge from 4 years of age lived in the Homestead across the road, now owned by the State of Vermont. Here on Aug. 3, 1923, he was inaugurated President and here he spent many vacations. In the Notch Cemetery he rests beside his wife and son and 4 generations of forebears.
|President Calvin Coolidge||https://www.google.com/maps/place/43.535415,-72.72167|
|Revolutionary War Campground on the Crown Point Road||Plymouth||2008 Scout Camp Rd||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2007|
This lakeside meadow was a 1777 campground for Rindge NH
troops en route to Mount Independence and Fort Ticonderoga to fight Burgoyne's invading British army. The 1776 Crown Point Road linking Fort No. 4 on the Connecticut River to Lake Champlain forts closely followed the present highway. The earlier 1759-60 Crown Point Road, ordered built by British General Amherst during the French and Indian War, passed further to the south. It followed Indian trails and later brought homesteaders to Vermont. The Black River ponds were at a portage point between the Black River and Otter Creek. Other campsites may be found nearby. The Boy Scouts of America owned this property and operated a summer camp here from 1927 – 1984 when the land was sold to the State of Vermont.
|Vermont Gold Rush||Plymouth||2008 Scout Camp Rd||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2008|
In 1826 gold nuggets were first discovered in Newfane and Somerset, Vt. In 1851, ‘49er Matthew Kennedy discovered gold in Buffalo Brook at Plymouth. By 1855, a “gold rush” was underway here and in Bridgewater, Vt. Prospectors staked their claims. The greatest activity occurred at Buffalo Brook and the Pollard farm. At Plymouth Five Corners, a gold mill and crusher were built. In the 1880s, seven companies were operating here. The Rooks Mining Company earned $13,000 in a six-month period in 1884. After Rooks went bankrupt in the late 1880s, mine manager and hermit Henry Fox searched for gold until his death in 1919. Recreational prospectors still pan for gold in Buffalo Brook and elsewhere.
|Achsa Sprague||Plymouth||Across from 122 Messer Hill Road||Division for Historic Preservation||2016|
Achsa Sprague was born and lived in Plymouth Notch, teaching in the stone school by age 12. At 20, she contracted a mysterious disease and spent seven years bedridden, waking one day miraculously cured. Attributing recovery to “angelic powers,” she became a trance medium and lectured on Spiritualism throughout the United States and Canada. Sprague was a prolific author of Spiritualist articles, prose, poems, and letters through “automatic writing,” which she claimed was controlled by worldly energies. She supported women’s suffrage, prison reform, and the abolition of slavery. Sprague died at age 34 and is buried in the Plymouth Notch Cemetery. Her tombstone is engraved with her verse, “I Still Live.”
|Horace Greeley -- George Jones -- Noted journalists served apprenticeship near here||Poultney||In East Poultney on E. Main Street (Vermont Route 140)||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Noted journalists served Apprenticeship near here At the original settlement in East Poultney, Horace Greeley, founder of The “New York Tribune”, worked on The “Northern Spectator”, 1826-1839. George Jones, co-founder of the “N.Y. Times”, also came from here.
|Jeffrey Brace -- 1742-1827 -- African, Revolutionary Veteran, Author, Abolitionist||Poultney||In East Poultney on E. Main Street (Vermont Route 140)||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2008|
Jeffrey Brace was born in West Africa with the name Boyrereau Brinch. At sixteen he was captured by European slave traders, shipped to Barbados, sold to a ship's captain, and eventually arrived in New England. Some years later, while still enslaved, Brace enlisted in the Continental Army and he won his freedom fighting in the Revolution. At the war's end in 1784 he settled in Poultney, in newly formed Vermont - the first state to prohibit slavery. He met an ex-slave, married, and they raised their family here. In 1810 he published his life story, one of the most unique and important anti-slavery memoirs written in America.
|Early Eighteenth Century Settlement||Pownal||3963 Route 346||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2011|
This site commemorates the gateway of Vermont’s earliest Dutch settlement, the Rensselaerwyck Manor settlement. The Diel Homestead, built by Bastion Diel in the early 1700s, is considered the second earliest dwelling in Pownal. The property’s large Dutch barn still stands across this historic roadway, today’s Route 346, which passes through Massachusetts, Vermont and New York. Bastion’s grandson, Mikel Diel, also lived here, was a Green Mountain Boy under Colonel Seth Warner, and fought at the Battle of Bennington August 16, 1777.
|Pownal -- Two Presidents Taught Here||Pownal||Route 346||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1958|
Here two Presidents taught school at the beginning of their careers. Chester A. Arthur, a graduate of Union College, educated Pownal youth in 1851. Later while an undergraduate at Williams College, James A. Garfield did likewise. When Garfield was assassinated in 1881, Arthur succeeded him as President.
|Otter Creek||Proctor||4 Main St||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2007|
Otter Creek was a passageway for Native Americans traveling across what is now Vermont from the Connecticut River to Lake Champlain. They called the falls here “The Great Falls” which at 123’ are the highest in Vermont. John Sutherland, the first settler in Proctor, came in 1767 and built his mill at the falls and his house on the SW bank. The foundation still exists in the house now standing. There were three wooden covered bridges: 1794, 1811, & 1839. The Marble Arch Bridge replaced the last in 1915 and was given as a memorial to Fletcher D. Proctor by his mother Emily Dutton Proctor. It was restored in 2002.
|Vermont Marble Company -- The Largest Marble Company in the World||Proctor||52 Main St||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2007|
The earliest marble was quarried by the Humphrey brothers in 1836. They were followed by successive marble companies. In 1870 Redfield Proctor took over in receivership and brought the Vermont Marble Company to world prominence. Building contracts and work done in the Proctor shops include the US Supreme Court, Jefferson Memorial and the rotunda columns in the National Gallery of Art. The Company employee program established the first Industrial Nurses in 1895. Between 1890-1915 workers came from 23 countries and lived in many boarding houses and later in houses rented from the Company. Nationalities had social groups and aid societies. There were two Lutheran Churches, one Roman Catholic, one Greek Catholic and the Union Protestant Church.
|Family Home of John Humphrey Noyes||Putney||Kimball Hill||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2002|
Eldest son of a Putney family, John Noyes (1811-1886) became deeply religious after a revival meeting in 1831. Convinced that Christ's Second Coming had occurred in 70 A.D. and that all people could now be free of sin, he became a "Perfectionist." Under Noyes' leadership, a small group of followers came together as the Putney Perfectionists. They lived communally, practiced "Bible Communism", ran a press and published a paper called "The Witness". When they extended the sharing of their financial resources and labor to the sharing of themselves in "Complex Marriage", villagers pressured them to leave. Fearing legal action, they left Putney for Oneida, New York, in 1848. There in the Oneida Community they practiced their beliefs for the next 32 years.
|Dr. Laura Plantz||Putney||27 Old Depot Road||Division for Historic Preservation||2016|
Vermont’s First Female Medical Practitioner
This c. 1900 house was built for Dr. Laura Plantz (1829-1923), the first female medical practitioner in Vermont, Minnesota, and Michigan. Dr. Plantz graduated from Pennsylvania Medical University of Philadelphia. She specialized in women’s diseases and was superintendent of the Home of the Friendless in New York. In 1950, Norman Mailer briefly lived here while completing his second novel, Barbary Shore. Windham College renovated the house to serve as Currier Hall, a dormitory, classrooms, and infirmary, while the barn was a dining hall and bookstore. In 2014, Windham & Windsor Housing Trust purchased the building and rehabilitated it to create housing opportunities for area citizens.
|Theron Boyd House||Quechee||Hillside Road||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1997|
This Federal style house, built in 1786, has undergone little alteration and is one the finest houses from this period in Vermont. It was built by William Burtch, whose father came to Hartford, VT, from Stonington, CT about 1766. Burtch eventually owned some 500 acres. The brick ell, constructed circa 1830 for James Udall, was originally 2-stories; a lightning strike in 1936 burned most of the second story. Theron Boyd, who acquired title to the house and 30 acres from his grandmother, preserved the property and become a ‘Vermont folk hero’ by resisting the mounting pressures of real estate development in Vermont.
Original architectural features of the 1786 main block include 12 light over 12 light sash; a Connecticut River Valley style double leaf frontispiece and multiple panel secondary doors; split pine clapboards, with feathered end joints, retain traces of original ochre paint and are affixed by wrought butterfly head nails; a double denticulated cornice with traces of original white paint; and a massive centrally located brick chimney for fireplaces. The 1830 period brick ell is laid in a common bond pattern with a row of header bricks in the tenth course. The tall brick chimney is for the summer kitchen and the three arched bays for carriages.
|Theron Boyd History||https://www.google.com/maps/place/43.652053,-72.445948|
|Randolph -- Home of Justin Morgan||Randolph||Randolph Center on the green||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1958|
In 1791, Schoolmaster Justin Morgan brought into Vermont the colt that was to bear his name and to make them both famous. This Morgan horse which Justin Morgan took as payment of a debt, became the ancestor of one of the greatest breeds of horses ever established in America.
|Randolph State Normal School -- 1867-1911||Randolph||Randolph Center||Board of Historic Sites||1965|
Near this site stood the first Public School in Vermont for special training of teachers. It burned in 1893; rebuilt at a cost of $12,000 in 1894. Many of the 1623 graduates had long and distinguished careers in the educational professions. Four Principals served: Edward W. Conant, ‘Father of Vermont Normal Schools’, Abel E. Leavenworth, Andrew W. Edson, and Charles H. Morrill. Presented by the R.S.N.S. Alumni Assoc. Erected by the Board of Historic Sites. Dedicated in August. A.D. 1965.
|Jonathan Peckham Miller||Randolph Center||East Bethel Road at Vermont Technical College||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2015|
Jonathan Peckham Miller was born in Randolph and educated at Orange County Grammar School close to this spot. When he fought in the Greek Revolution for freedom from the Turks in the 1820s, he was known internationally as “the American Daredevil.” Jonathan returned to fight for the freedom of slaves in his own country as a member of the Vermont legislature and a champion of the abolitionist movement. An orphan himself, he adopted a Greek orphan, Lucas, who later became a U.S. Representative from Wisconsin.
|Indian Stones||Reading||Route 106||Reading Bicentennial Committee||1974|
Commemorate events in early history of Vermont. Captured by Abnakis for ransom at Fort No. 4, Johnson Family, Miriam Willard, Peter Labaree, and Ebenezer Farnsworth camped here 30 August 1754 enroute to Montreal. The next day a daughter was born to Mrs. Johnson in a shelter made by the Indians about one-half mile up Knapp Brook. Enduring many hardships the party went on with their captors to Montreal where the captives were turned over to the French for ransom or sold. After six years the Johnson Family was, by various means, reunited in Charlestown. The other captives had been freed as well.
Designated an Historic Site on the National Register - 1974.
|Edmunds' Birthplace -- Site of Homestead of Lawyer and Statesman||Richmond||U.S. Route 2, East of the village||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Site of Homestead of Lawyer and Statesman George F. Edmunds, one of this nation’s foremost legislators, was born on this farm, Feb. 1, 1828. After serving at Montpelier as Speaker, he represented Vermont in Washington as Senator for 25 years and presided over the Senate when Arthur was President.
|Huntington Gorge / Deaths at the Huntington Gorge||Richmond||Huntington Gorge||State of Vermont||1995|
Site of Richmond’s first grist mill, electric generating plant By 1802, John Preston had built a grist mill here at Richmond’s best water-power site. It was operated continuously for a century, last of all by the Robinson family. The Richmond Light and Power Co. converted the mill in 1903 to generate the village’s first electricity. Other 19th-Century mills here included cider, wool carding and cloth dressing, woodturning, and underclothing. Deaths at the Huntington Gorge: Eighteen people drowned here between 1950 and 1994. Most were swimmers caught by treacherous and deceptive currents that pulled them over the falls or sucked them down to the bottom of pools. Among those who drowned: Marjorie, age 21, 1950; Michael, age 21, 1976; William, 16, 1961; Carol, 21, 1976; Brian, 20, 1969; Charles, 24, 1976; Robert, 19, 1969; Carathray, 24, 1976; Daniel, 19, 1969; Scott, 18, 1985; Robert, 21, 1971; Kevin, 21, 1992; Robert, 25, 1972; Gary, 35, 1992; Dennis, 19, 1973; Cathy, 36, 1994; Rosemary, 22, 1975; Peter, 32, 1994;
|The Round Church||Richmond||Bridge St||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2003|
This 16-sided church, Richmond's first meeting house, was built by a group led by William Rhodes in 1812-13 on land donated by Issac Gleason & Thomas Whitcomb.
The first Proprietors were members of five denominations: Baptist, Christian, Congregational, Methodist, & Universalist.
Richmond Town Meetings were held here for 160 years, until 1973, when it was closed due to structural problems and for restoration.
Maintained by the Richmond Historical Society, and staffed by volunteers, this National Historic Landmark is used for tours, meetings, ecumenical services, weddings, and concerts.
-continued on back side of marker-
Richmond sits along a natural east-west corridor, the Winooski River. The Abenaki used this corridor for 10,000 to 12,000 years. Archaeologists have established a fall hunting site used around 1500 AD at the mouth of the Huntington River.
Richmond was created by an Act of the Vermont Legislature on October 27, 1794 from parts of the towns of New Huntington, Williston & Jericho. A small section of Bolton was annexed on October 25, 1804. The first businesses in town were located near this church. Richmond was also a stopping point for early travelers on the Winooski Turnpike (US Route 2) between Burlington and Montpelier. After the railroad was completed in 1849, the town center shifted to the north.
|Robert Frost -- 1874-1963||Ripton||Route 125, three miles east of Ripton Village||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2012|
A distinguished American Poet by recognition and a Vermonter by preference, Robert Frost was Poet Laureate of Vermont and for many years ‘First Citizen’ of the Town of Ripton. He was long associated with the Middlebury College School of English and its Writers’ Conference.
‘Breathes there are a bard who isn’t moved
When he finds his verse is understood
And not entirely disapproved
By his Country and his Neighborhood?’
- Robert Frost
|Bellows Falls Canal -- Here first Canal in United States was built in 1802||Rockingham||Bridge St||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Here first Canal in United States was built in 1802. The British-owned Company, which was chartered to render the Connecticut River navigable here in 1791, was 10 years building the 9 locks and dam around the Great Falls, 52 ft. high. After the railroad came in 1849, river traffic declined and the canal was used for water power only.
|Rockingham Meeting House||Rockingham||Route 103 in village||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2013|
The Rockingham Meeting House is one of the finest remaining examples of New England Colonial architecture. It is the oldest intact public building in Vermont. Built between 1787 and 1801, it served Rockingham as a house of religious worship and town meetings for nearly a century. The arrival of industrialization shifted settlement to the nearby village of Bellows Falls and Saxtons River. The Congregational church survived here until 1839 and annual Town Meetings continued here until 1869. A sensitive restoration in 1907 was one of the earliest historic preservation projects in Vermont. In 2000, the Meeting House was designated a National Historic Landmark by the National Park Service. The Meeting House now host community events and is open seasonally.
|Roxbury Fish Culture Station||Roxbury||3550 Main Street||Division for Historic Preservation||2016|
Commonly called “the fish hatchery,” this culture station was established in 1891, making it the oldest state hatchery in Vermont. Built in response to the dwindling fish population, the hatchery was funded by an initial state appropriation of $2,400 and built on land donated by Hon. E.N. Spaulding. This site was chosen for its abundant spring water and proximity to the Central Vermont Railroad line. The hatchery building was built in 1891, with an ice house added in 1894 and carriage barn in 1897. The first fry plants in 1892 consisted of brook, lake and rainbow trout. The fish culture station operated with earthen ponds until 2011, when it was heavily damaged by Tropical Storm Irene. A modern facility has since replaced it.
|Jessie LaFountain Bigwood -- First Woman Admitted to the Vermont Bar||Royalton||Vermont Law School campus||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1997|
Born in 1874, Jessie LaFountain attended Burlington Business College and worked as a government reporter at Fort Ethan Allen in Colchester/Essex, Vermont. In 1898 she married Frederick H. Bigwood and shortly thereafter entered the office of V. A. Bullard, a Burlington attorney. In 1900 she took a special law course at Boston University and, after completing the Vermont Bar examination, was successfully admitted in October 1902. It would be 10 more years before another woman was admitted to the VT Bar and 18 years before the passage of the 19th Amendment giving women the right to vote. Mrs. Bigwood died in 1953.
|Joseph Smith Monument -- Mormon Prophet's Birthplace||Royalton||Route 14, east of village||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1997|
Mormon Prophet’s Birthplace Joseph Smith, founder of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, was born near here on December 23, 1805. A visitor's center and a 38 1/2 foot tall monument, considered the world's largest polished granite shaft, commemorate his life and is located at the birthplace 2 1/2 miles up Dairy Hill Road. The site is open year round.
|The Royalton Raid -- October 16, 1780||Royalton||Route 14 in village||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1958|
October 16, 1780 To terrorize the valley from Tunbridge to Royalton, nearly 300 Indians led by a British officer fell on these defenseless frontier settlements, killing 4, taking 26 prisoners and reducing Royalton to ashes. The captives hauled back to Canada were sold for $8.00 a head. This was the most calamitous of Vermont’s many Indian raids.
|Harmon's Mint||Rupert||Route 30, west of village||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1957|
On the site at Hagar Brook stood the small clapboarded mint-house in which Reuben Harmon, Jr. coined copper for the Republic of Vermont, 1785-1788. When the Federal government was instituted in 1789, Vermont abandoned minting. These rare coins of the Republic of Vermont (known as the Harmon Cent) may be seen in museums today.
|Lt. Col. Robert Cochran -- Revolutionary Hero Settled Here, 1769||Rupert||West of village||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1958|
Revolutionary hero settle here, condemned to death by the N.Y. Assembly, Col. Cochran fought the Yorkers for Vermont Land Grants. Joining the Green Mountain Boys, he was with Ethan Allen at Ticonderoga and Seth Warner at Crown Point. Later he commanded Continental forces in the Mohawk Valley Campaigns and undertook dangerous espionage duties in Canada for the American cause.
|Center Rutland Depot -- Constructed Circa 1912||Rutland||Corner of Route 4 and Depot Lane 7||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2012|
The Center Rutland Depot is a classic example of an early 1900's rail station. Built at the junction of the Delaware and Hudson and Rutland Railroads, the depot served the area's passenger and freight customers until the late 1950's.
|George Schmitt -- 1892-1913||Rutland||Rutland Fairgrounds - 175 South Main Street||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2012|
George Schmitt of Rutland, along with his brother, Charles, built and flew the state's first glider near here in 1909. Schmitt learned to fly in the company of Curtis, Wright and Baldwin. He was the second person to fly in Vermont. Schmitt set national aviation and distance records. At 19 he and his manger formed the Schmitt Aviation Company for exhibition flying. He was the first person to fly from the Atlantic to the Pacific. He flew the first Vermont Airmail at the Rutland Fair. At 21 his career and life came to an end in the state's first fatal accident. He was taking a friend up when the friend panicked and broke control wires. Schmitt is buried in Rutland.
|Italian American Club of Rutland, Vermont||Rutland||73 Grove Street||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2015|
On March 1, 1914, the Italian American Club of Rutland was founded as a mutual aid society by approximately forty southern Italian immigrants. Their mission included teaching local Italian immigrants English and assisting them to become American citizens. The Club’s first president was Domenico Paolucci and the first vice-president was Gerardo Ricci. On July 11, 1915, the Club received a charter to become the Christopher Columbus Lodge #414 of the Sons of Italy. The building at 73 Grove Street was acquired in 1933 for meetings and social gatherings and has been the site of weekly dinners, bocce games and other events that promote Italian heritage and culture in the community.
|John Deere -- Birthplace||Rutland||Main Street Park||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2012|
John Deere was born February, 7th, 1804 the third son of William Rinold Deere and Sarah Yates Deere. It is presumed that Sarah gave birth to John at home; over William Deere’s Rutland tailor shop located on the east side of Main St. across from the park.
In 1805, the family moved to Middlebury, Vermont where at the age of 17, he learned the blacksmith trade as an apprentice. When hard times hit the region in the 1830s, Deere decided to leave his wife and family temporarily and venture west. In 1836 Deere moved to Grand Detour, Illinois where, in 1837 he built the world’s first steel moldboard plow - "The Plow that Tamed The West".
|Julia C. R. Dorr -- 1825-1913||Rutland||Grace Congregational United Church of Christ, Court St||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1999|
1825-1913 Julia Dorr, who lived in Rutland during childhood and from 1857 until her death, was one of Vermont's most famous and best loved poets. She published hundreds of popular poems, sonnets, and prose works, which reflect a keen sense of observation and love of nature and history. Guests at her Dorr Drive home included Ralph Waldo Emerson and others of the famed "Concord Group". She was a member of the influential Ripley family and wife of Judge Seneca M. Dorr. Active in community affairs, Mrs. Dorr led the Fortnightly, woman's cultural group of the congregational Church, for 33 years. She was a founder and president of the Rutland Free Library.
|Martin Henry Freeman -- 1826-1889||Rutland||46 North Main St||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1998|
Martin Freeman, born in Rutland, became the first black college president in the United States and was a member of the second East Parish Congregational Church which stood on this site. He was prepared by Pastor William Mitchell for Middlebury College, graduating in 1849 as salutatorian. In 1850 Freeman was appointed professor at Allegheny Institute (later Avery College) near Pittsburgh, PA. Here he gained renown in the fields of science and mathematics. In 1856 Freeman advanced to the office of college president, the first black in the country to achieve this position. Freeman became active in the American emigration movement and moved his family to Africa in 1864. For many years he was professor at Liberia College and became its president shortly before his death in 1889.
|Mead's Falls||Rutland||Route 4 Center Rutland||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1999|
James Mead, Rutland’s first settler, arrived at these falls on the Otter Creek in 1769. The next year he and his family were given shelter by members of the Caughnawaga tribe while they finished their log cabin. Mead built saw and grist mills on the falls and ran a ferry on the Otter Creek. He was an ardent defender of the New Hampshire Grants and served as a colonel in the militia. Mead’s Falls was an important military site: the 1759 Crown Point Military Road ran by here, General Arthur St. Clair wrote his report after the Battle of Hubbardton in 1777 at Mead’s home on the West Proctor Road, and Fort Ranger was built in 1778 on the bluff northeast of the falls.
|James Whitehill Stone House -- 1808||Ryegate||78 Stone House Rd||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2007|
In the style of a Scottish stone croft (farmhouse), this house was erected by James Whitehill, a prosperous farmer and one of a large number of immigrants from Inchinnan Parish, Scotland, who settled Ryegate under the sponsorship of the Scotch American Company of Farmers. He purchased 600 acres, known as the Witherspoon Tract, from James Witherspoon, a signer of the Declaration of Independence who owned the entire township. Whitehill was a founder of the Ryegate Reformed Presbyterian Church. This is one of the oldest surviving houses in Ryegate and was the first library in town. The house and surrounding acreage is still owned by the Whitehill family.
|Governor Jonas Galusha Homestead||Shaftsbury||3871 Route 7A||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation ||2006|
Jonas Galusha, born in Norwich, CT in 1753, moved his family to Shaftsbury in 1775. During the Revolutionary War he served with Seth Warner’s Green Mountain Boys and was at the Battle of Hubbardton and a Captain during the Battle of Bennington. A blacksmith, innkeeper, carpenter and politician, he became the 5th Governor of Vermont and was re-elected for 9 terms from 1809-1819. His wife, Mary, was daughter of Gov. Thomas Chittenden. Gov Jonas Galusha died in 1834 and is buried nearby in the Center Shaftsbury Cemetery. The rear ell of the present house was built in 1783 and the front, designed by master-builder Lavius Fillmore of Bennington, was constructed in 1805.
|Shaftsbury: The Birthplace, 1805, of Jacob Merritt Howard||Shaftsbury||U.S. Route 7, north of the village||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1954|
Moving west, Howard became Senator from Michigan and wrote resolutions adopted by Convention at Jackson, July 6, 1854, on which The Republican Party was founded. He was also the sole author of the 13th Amendment to the Constitution. His birthplace stands about 2 miles to the east.
|Colonel Elisha Sheldon -- 1741-1805||Sheldon||Main Street||The People of Sheldon||1996|
In 1776, at the request of General Washington, Elisha Sheldon was commissioned by Congress to raise a regiment of cavalry. Named the 2nd Continental Light Dragoons, the unit served with distinction throughout the Revolutionary War. In 1791 Colonel Sheldon, his sons Major Samuel, Elisha, Jr., and George, and their families came, with other families, from Connecticut as first settlers of this town. The town was originally chartered as Hungerford but the name was changed to Sheldon in 1792. The first meeting to organize the town was held in Georgia, Vermont. The large hipped roof house Colonel Sheldon built in 1795 still stands on a nearby hill.
|Fenian Raids -- Attempted Canadian Invasion North of Here -- 1866 and 1870||Sheldon||Routes 105 & 78, Sheldon Junction||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1991|
Attempted Canadian Invasion North of Here, 1866 and 1870 After Civil War, two attempts of Irish patriots to invade Canada and set up a free Irish republic were repulsed between Franklin and Cook's Corners. Fenians gathered in St. Albans, marched via Sheldon to the border but were stopped by Canadian arms and U.S. authorities.
|Sheldon, Vermont -- Site of Civil War Action -- October 19, 1864||Sheldon||Two miles south of Sheldon Jct., off Route 105||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1991|
On their retreat back to Canada from the attack on St. Albans, the 22 man Confederate detachment rode into Sheldon near dark. Crossing a covered bridge which stood on this Site, they set it on fire, but alert village citizens saved the bridge. In great haste to escape an aroused countryside, the invaders gave up a planned foray on the local Bank.
|Shoreham Covered Railroad Bridge||Shoreham||Near Richville pond fishing access||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1990|
This Howe truss Railroad Bridge is one of only two covered railroad bridges left in Vermont. It was built in 1897 on the 15.6 mile Addison Branch connecting the Rutland Railroad at Leicester Junction with the Delaware and Hudson at Ticonderoga, New York, crossing Lake Champlain on a floating bridge at Larrabee's Point. This bridge was last used for rail traffic in 1951.
|Levi P. Morton - Statesman and Banker Lived Early Years in Vermont||Shoreham||School Road green, just south of Main Street||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Levi Parsons Morton, son of a minister, was born on this site, May 16, 1824, and for 8 years lived in Shoreham. He became a New York City banker, Member of Congress, Minister to France, Vice-President under President Harrison, and Governor of New York.
|Brown Bridge||Shrewsbury||Upper Cold River Road on the west side of the bridge||Division for Historic Preservation||2016|
Built in 1880 and named after a Shrewsbury family, Brown Bridge is an exceptional illustration of 19th-century covered bridge construction and an outstanding example of a Town lattice truss, one of the most significant American timber truss types. Patented in 1820 by architect Ithiel Town, the truss system consists of a rectangular timber frame connected by sawn planks arranged in the form of a lattice and fastened together with wooden pegs. Brown Bridge is the best surviving example of the work of Nichols M. Powers, a prolific covered bridge builder from Clarendon. The bridge spans Cold River, using indigenous materials as its northwest abutment. Brown Bridge was designated a National Historic Landmark by the National Park Service in 2014.
|Ebenezer Allen -- Site of pioneer's tavern||South Hero||U.S. Route 2, at Allen Point Rd||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Site of Pioneer's Tavern Here Ethan Allen's cousins, Ebenezer, made the first settlement on South Hero. From his tavern, Ethan, one of the "heroes" for whom the islands were named, started homeward across the ice to Burlington, Feb. 11, 1789. Stricken enroute, the Green Mountain Boy died the next day. Site: 3.5 miles south.
|Historic Lake Islands -- Samuel De Champlain ||South Hero||Sandbar Causeway||Vermont Board of Historic Sites||1965|
These Islands were first seen by a European in 1609, when Samuel de Champlain explored the Lake which bears his name and claimed them for the King of France. Ceded in 1763 to Britain, they became part of the Royal Colony of New York. After 1776, several American Revolutionary heroes received Land Grants here, and two Islands were so named. In 1783, this area joined the Free and Independent Republic of Vermont. Here is history and legend of the famous Allen family, the Green Mountain Boys, Rogers' Rangers, and many others.
|Wagon Wheels Farm -- Tourists Accommodated, 1937-1942||South Royalton||Route 110, 1 Mile North of Route 14||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2013|
The farmhouse on this site, dating from the late-18th century, was purchased by Irene and Robert Slater in 1934, along with a barn and 145 acres of land. During the Great Depression, like many Vermont farmers, the Slaters took in tourists to supplement their income from dairy farming and maple sugaring. In 1937 and '38 the famous New York artist Edward Hopper and his wife, Josephine, spent month-long sojourns at Wagon Wheels while Hopper painted watercolors of the farm property and the landscape along the White River. In 1941 First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt stayed overnight in the farmhouse, traveling from the White House to inspect Camp William James, an offshoot of the Civilian Conservation Corps in nearby Tunbridge.
|Eureka Schoolhouse and Baltimore Covered Bridge||Springfield||Exit 7 off interstate 91, Route 11 west||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2001|
The Eureka Schoolhouse, constructed between 1785 and 1790, is Vermont's oldest one-room school and one of the few surviving 18th century public buildings in the state. It was originally located in "Eureka Four Corners," northeast of Springfield Village, and was in continuous use until 1900. The schoolhouse was brought to this site and restored by a committee of Springfield citizens and the Vermont Board of Historic Sites in 1968. The pine board exterior, simulating stone block, was once painted golden yellow and the hipped roof was cobalt blue.
The 37 foot long Baltimore Covered Bridge, a "Town Lattice Truss" type bridge, was built in 1870 by Granville LeLand and Dennis Allen to cross the Great Brook in North Springfield. It was moved to this location in 1970.
|Helen Hartness Flanders -- Ballad Collector, Poet, Scholar, Musician||Springfield||Lawn of the Hartness House, 30 Orchard St||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2002|
Born in Springfield, Vermont in 1890, daughter of Governor James Hartness and wife of U.S. Senator Ralph E. Flanders, Helen Hartness Flanders became an internationally recognized ballad collector and authority on folk music. Among her many endeavors, she wrote nine books (the first, Vermont Folk Songs and Ballads), lectured with local singers and developed the Flanders Ballad Collection. This treasure containing thousands of folk songs preserved in the oral tradition, as well as books and manuscripts, was donated to Middlebury College in 1941. The College awarded Mrs. Flanders an honorary Master of Arts degree for her work in the field of folk music. She died in Springfield in 1972.
|James Hartness & Precision Valley Inventors||Springfield||Lawn of the Hartness House, 30 Orchard St||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation ||2002|
Newly arrived in Springfield in 1889 to work at the Jones and Lamson Machine Company, James Hartness soon rose to President. A natural leader, he played a vital role in the creation of “Precision Valley.” Internationally respected in the machine tool industry, Hartness was President of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, wrote extensively on company management issues, served as Governor of Vermont (1920-1922) and founded the Hartness State Airport. Hartness held over 120 patents (including the Flat Turret Lathe) and was an amateur astronomer.
Other Early Springfield Inventors Include:
William L. Bryant
Joel A.H. Ellis
A. J. Fullam
David M. Smith
|Camp Holbrook||St. Albans||55 Old Orchard Road||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2010|
This site, the former Henry Seymour farm, became a Civil War camp named in honor of Vermont’s second Civil War Governor, Frederick Holbrook. Over 1000 men of the 5th Vermont Volunteer Infantry Regiment camped on this land and were mustered in to Federal service for three years on Sept. 16, 1861. A week later they marched 1½ miles to the St. Albans train station and departed for Washington, D.C. In the late winter and early spring of 1865, Camp Holbrook was again the site of military activity. Two companies of the frontier cavalry recruited immediately after the St. Albans Raid on Oct. 19, 1864 occupied the nearby fields. These soldiers patrolled the borderlands providing security for the citizens of Vermont until midsummer of 1865.
|St. Albans Raid||St. Albans||U.S. Route 7, Taylor Park||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1990|
The Civil War entered Vermont, Oct. 19, 1864, when 22 Confederates spread terror from the north, robbed 3 banks and shot up the town. Stealing horses, they fled back into Canada. There, after trial, they were freed and the banks partially reimbursed.
|First Platform Scale||St. Johnsbury||U.S. Route 2, west of village at location of original factory.||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
After experimenting with new types of farm equipment, plows and stoves, Thaddeus Fairbanks invented the platform scale here in 1830. With his brothers Erastus and Joseph, he founded the company which still bears their name. Many St. Johnsbury public institutions were gifts of this talented family.
|St. Johnsbury Trade School||St. Johnsbury||St. Johnsbury Middle School, Route 5||St. Johnsbury Trade School Alumni Association||1996|
Vermont's first, and for many years only, four year vocational school opened on Western Avenue on September 3, 1918. Needing skilled workers during World War I, Fairbanks, Morse & Co. started an all-day co-operative school where young men could learn a skilled trade, earn money and obtain a high-school education. The original building, known as the Casino, was partially remodeled in 1919 and completely remodeled in 1927. The first out-of-town students arrived for vocational training in 1927. The "new" Trade School Building, built in 1942 on the site of Sir Thaddeus Fairbanks' estate, is currently the St. Johnsbury Middle School. Principals of the Vocational/Trade School: Stanley J. Steward 1918-1923; J. Maynard Trafton 1923-1941; Everett Winslow 1941-1942; G. Maynard Trafton 1942-1946; Lewis J. Streeter 1946-1970
|First Platform Scale ||St. Johnsbury||U.S. Route 2 & Mt. Vernon Street Intersection. ||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
After experimenting with new types of farm equipment, plows and stoves, Thaddeus Fairbanks invented the platform scale here in 1830. With his brothers Erastus and Joseph, he founded the company which still bears their name. Many St. Johnsbury public institutions were gifts of this talented family.
|Smugglers Notch||Stowe||Route 100 and Moscow Rd||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation ||2005|
The southern gateway to Mount Mansfield and Smugglers Notch is via Route 100, once a plank road, the bed for Mt. Mansfield Electric Rail Road, and one of the earliest concrete roads. From the village of Stowe, Route 108 meanders past the base of Mt. Mansfield, Vermont’s highest peak at 4393 feet, and climbs through Smugglers Notch, the reputed route for cattle smugglers and hiding place for Lake Champlain pirates. The BIG SPRING has been popular since the 19th century when its waters were claimed to have curative powers. The caves, which retain ice until July, the ski resort and the many trails attract hikers and travelers in all seasons.
|Elizabeth Mine||Strafford||192 Mine Rd||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2012|
In the 1790s a body of ore was discovered here, leading to the production of copperas from 1809 - 1880s and the intermittent production of copper from 1832 - 1958. The mine site covered 850 acres, and over three million tons of ore were extracted from open cuts and below ground. By 1834 the site included one of the nation's earliest successful large-scale copper smelting plants. Employing as many as 220 workers, the mine had a major impact on the economic and cultural development of Strafford and surrounding towns. By the 1980s the site was identified as a source of pollution in nearby streams. It was designated a National Priorities List (Superfund) clean-up site in 2001 by the Environmental Protection Agency, and a massive remediation effort followed.
|Furnace Flat||Strafford||Route 132 near Furnace Flat Road ||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2013|
In this area, what may have been the first use of hot blast to smelt copper adjacent to a mine in the United States took place. During the winter of 1833-1834, Isaac Tyson, Jr., invented a hot-blast system for smelting copper. Assisted by smelting foreman Daniel Long and others, Tyson produced copper on the south side of the Ompompanoosuc River through the 1830s using ore from nearby Copperas Hill and anthracite coal from Pennsylvania. Several more smelters were located at Furnace Flat on the north side of the river into the 1860s. An important aspect of all operations was the experimental manufacture of byproducts such as sulfur, paint, and sulfuric acid from waste materials. Isaac Tyson, Jr. was elected to the National Mining Hall of Fame in 1996.
|Justin Smith Morrill/Morrill Homestead||Strafford||Justin Morrill Memorial Hwy||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2013|
Justin Smith Morrill 1810-1898
Born in Strafford Village, Justin S. Morrill was the son of a blacksmith. He entered politics in 1854 serving in the United States Congress for a total of nearly 44 years. As a member of the House of Representatives and later the Senate. Justin Morrill was the chief sponsor of the 1862 and 1890 Land-Grant Acts, the most important pieces of legislation for American higher education in the 19th century. The Acts resulted in more than 100 Land Grant colleges and universities in the United States with many millions of graduates worldwide.
Justin Smith Morrill is buried in the Morrill Mausoleum, located in the town cemetery beyond the 1799 Town House. Also buried there are his wife Ruth, their two sons, Justin and James, and his sister-in-law Louise Swan. Morrill Homestead
Vermont’s First National Historic Landmark
This site includes the Justin Smith Morrill Homestead and seven agricultural buildings all set in a designed Picturesque landscape. Morrill planned the 17-room house, a prime example of Gothic Revival architecture. The Homestead was completed in the spring of 1851. The four original outbuildings were the ice house, carriage barn, horse barn, and a summer gazebo. Many of the original plantings made by Morrill in 1952-1953 survive, including species from Europe and Asia. In 1859 Morrill had the house painted the present shade of pink as an attempt to imitate the the appearance of cut sandstone. The Morrill Homestead is a Vermont Historic Site administered by the Vermont Division for Historic Preservation.
|Strafford Village||Strafford||On the Town Common in Strafford Village||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2013|
The Town of Strafford received its charter on August 12, 1761. By the 1790s the area surrounding the Common, known as Strafford Village, became the town center with a mill dam and mill, several homes, an inn, and a store. The Strafford Village Historic District consists of nearly thirty residences and other structures built in the vicinity of the Common prior to the 1850s. The 1799 meeting house is the locus of the village and forms the principal community landmark. Also significant are the many houses constructed between 1780 and 1830, as well as the United Church built in 1832, the Brick Store in 1834, and the Morrill Homestead in 1851. Justin Smith Morrill, who served in Congress for nearly forty-four years, was born in Strafford Village in 1810.
|Sunderland -- Allen families lived here||Sunderland||U.S. Route 7, near sunderland rd||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1958|
Allen families lived here Ira Allen lived on this site by the Batten Kill and as Treasurer and Surveyor-General his "Office" helped shape the destiny of the Republic of Vermont. Here Ethan's family lived; here he dictated his freethinking "Oracles of Reason" in 1782. To his bride, his second wife, he presented the first copy.
|Chiselville||Sunderland||Sunderland Hill Road, on the East Side of the Covered Bridge||Division for Historic Preservation||2015|
Named for the fine quality chisels and edge tools manufactured on site, the small village of Chiselville lies southwest of this 1870 Town lattice truss covered bridge. In 1853, a group of entrepreneurs led by Norman R. Douglass of Shaftsbury purchased the defunct tannery works at the base of the gorge beneath this covered bridge and started construction of a large overshot waterwheel, dam, and steelworks. Under the direction of the Douglass Manufacturing Company, houses were constructed for the managers and foremen, establishing the village. In 1878, Paul Shuffleton purchased the company and renamed it the Arlington Edge Tool Company. In 1886, a work-related drowning accident took the life of Shuffleton and the company later ceased production.
|Missisquoi Village and Mission -- Swanton/Highgate||Swanton||Route 78, N.W. of village||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1993|
The ancient Missisquoi/Mazipskoik Abenaki village was the region’s focal point into the 1760’s. In 1744, Jesuits built a cabin which served into the 1790’s as the first long-term Christian mission in Vermont. Speculators took much of the Abenaki land by 1798, but the Abenaki Nation of Missisquoi survived. In the 1860’s, Swanton historian John Perry lamented the hasty destruction of the old village noting its antiquity and great importance to all. Nearby, the Abenakis live quietly to this day.
|Clarina Howard Nichols||Townshend||West Townshend, at the Post Office on Route 30||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2001|
Born in West Townshend 1810, Clarina Howard became an early advocate of women’s rights. After a divorce in 1843 she married George Nichols. As editor of the Windham County Democrat she strongly advocated women’s property rights, child custody, temperance, and suffrage. In 1852 she became the first woman to address the Vermont Legislature, and lectured throughout New England and the Midwest. Nichols was a staunch abolitionist who seized the opportunity to move with her family to Kansas where her views on slavery and women’s rights were widely accepted. During the Civil War, she was director of a home for orphaned black children in Washington, D.C. She died at her son’s home in Pomo, California, in 1885.
|Scott Bridge -- Longest Wooden Span in Vermont||Townshend||Route 30, west of village||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1990|
Longest Single Span Covered Bridge in State This 277 Foot Bridge, built in 1870 by Harrison Chamberlin, consists of two king post trusses and a 166 foot Town lattice truss. The latter was the longest wooden span in Vermont; in 1981 a concrete pier was constructed to provide support. An earlier attempt to strengthen the bridge with the addition of a laminated bow arch was not successful.
|Taft Homestead Site||Townshend||West Townshend, at the Post Office on Route 30||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2001|
In 1799, Aaron Taft settled on a 100-acre farm on Taft Hill. His grandson Alphonso, born here in 1810, served as Secretary of War and Attorney General under President Grant, and as Minister to Austria-Hungary and Russia. Alphonso’s son, William Howard Taft (1857-1930) became 27th President of the United States and later Chief Justice of the Supreme Court. William’s son, Robert A. Taft (1889-1953) was U.S. Senator from Ohio. Many other descendants became prominent in government service.
|Site of 1780 Raid||Tunbridge||Route 110 on Royalton/Tunbridge town line||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2003|
On the Tunbridge hilltop, across the meadow, three hundred Indians, led by the British in the waning years of the Revolutionary War, laid in wait the night of Oct. 15, 1780. As dawn approached on the 16th, they began their pillaging, reducing homes to ashes, capturing and killing unsuspecting settlers. Near this site in the Royalton meadow by the river, young Thomas Pember lost his life. On the hill, northeast of here, Peter Button met the same fate. When the raiders had finished marauding the White River valley, they had captured 32 and killed 4. The captives were marched to Canada either to be sold or imprisoned. In the years that followed, many of the captives returned to their families via escape or ransom.
|Tunbridge World's Fair||Tunbridge||Tunbridge Village, Route 110||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1997|
This fair, founded in 1867 and held by the Union Agricultural Society on this site since 1875, was named "The World's Fair' by Lt. Governor Burnham Martin. The annual celebration reflects accomplishments of farmers and families by reinforcing their shared traditions and educating others about rural life. Several buildings date from the nineteenth century. The fair has an important display of antiques and old agricultural equipment collected from Central Vermont.
|Macdonough Shipyard||Vergennes||West U.S. Route 7, on Macdonough Rd||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Below the Otter Creek Falls was the site of Thomas Macdonough's shipyard, where the U.S.S. Saratoga was built in 40 days and other ships launched that defeated the British at the Battle of Plattsburgh, 1814.
|Old Stone Shop||Wallingford||U.S. Route 7, in village||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Built in 1848, by Batcheller & Sons, MAKERS OF PITCHFORKS For many years after 1808, farm implements were manufactured here. Lyman Batcheller & his sons bought the forge in 1835, and their forks became famous throughout the U.S. and Europe. In 1902 they merged with the firm making True Temper products, which re-built the Inn.
|Paul P. Harris 1868-1947: Founder of Rotary International||Wallingford||Route 7 in village||Board of Historic Sites||1966|
In this brick building, constructed by his great-grandfather in 1818, Paul P. Harris attended school as a youth and received his elementary education. Many years later, Mr. Harris expressed the conviction that it was during his boyhood in Wallingford that he learned the basic ideals which became the cornerstones of Rotary International; destined to become a World-Wide service organization. This former schoolhouse is now maintained as a Memorial to Paul P. Harris by Wallingford Rotary.
|Population Center||Warren||Fuller Rd||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2002|
Nearby is an official survey mark, set July 2002, to identify the symbolic center of population for the State of Vermont as determined by the 2000 U.S. Census. The actual center of population (44° 04' 52.05" north latitude, 72° 48' 51.51" west longitude) is located on Prickly Mountain, approximately 0.64 miles southwest of this location, and would be the point where the State of Vermont would balance perfectly, if it were flat and weightless, and all of its 608,827 residents (based on census 2000) were of identical weight. For survey information on this survey mark, go to the National Geodetic Survey web site at www.ngs.noaa.gov
|Dr. Henry Janes||Waterbury||U.S. Route 2 at the northerly end of the village, lawn of the Waterbury Public Library||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2004|
Henry Janes, physician, soldier, farmer, and humanitarian, was born here January 24, 1832. As head of services at the Union Army hospital immediately after the Battle of Gettysburg, Dr. Janes faced the challenge of caring for 20,000 wounded Union and Confederate men. Without prejudice, he cared for the suffering and healed the wounded by practicing advanced medical procedures to hasten recovery of his patients. A small town physician and scholar, he treated townspeople with equal care and compassion and was a generous benefactor to the Town of Waterbury. Upon his death in 1915, he bequeathed this house for use as the Waterbury Public Library.
|Vermont State Hospital||Waterbury||Route 2, on State Office Complex||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2014|
The first patients arrived at the new Vermont State Asylum for the Insane in 1891. For the next 120 years, the Hospital served thousands of Vermonters challenged by mental and other illness, and employed hundreds of area residents. Designed by Rand and Taylor of Boston, the Hospital was linear in form with a central administrative building, connected pavilions and a pair of unusual circular wards at either end. Over the years, the Vermont State Hospital complex expanded until the 1960's when advances in the treatment of mental illness caused the patient population to decline. By 1978, state government offices began to occupy vacated space in the complex and in the wake of floods in 2011, the hospital left Waterbury. Today, the original 1890's structure continues to provide office space for Vermont state government.
|Northeastern Speedway||Waterford||2229 VT Rte 18||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2011|
Opened on July 18, 1959 as Vermont's first organized auto racing track under the guidance of the Northeastern Racing Association, the State's first motor sports sanctioning body. By instituting formal point and purse structures and focusing on driver and spectator safety, these pioneers laid the groundwork for a sport that continues to thrive today.
|Bomber Crash on Hawks Mountain||Weathersfield||Town green in the village of perkinsville, Route 106||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2008|
At 12:17 a.m. on June 15, 1947, a U.S. Army Air Force Boeing B-29 Superfortress bombers strayed off course and crashed on nearby Hawks Mountain during a severe storm. All twelve crewmembers perished. Assigned to the 43rd Bomb Group, the crew was on a Strategic Air Command training mission from Tucson, Arizona to Bedford, Massachusetts.
Crew of B-29A #44-62228
Crashed Perkinsville, Vermont
15 June 1947
1st Lt Robert G Fessler
2nd Lt Wilfred E Gassett
2nd Lt Cesare P Fontana
West Springfield, MA
S/Sgt Oliver W Hartwell Jr.
S/Sgt Sylvester S Michalac Summithill, PA
T/Sgt Clayton K Knight
T/Sgt Paul H Fetterhoff
Central Fire Controller
Cpl Robert H Clark
Jamaica Plain, MA
S/Sgt John J O’Toole
Queens Village, NY
M/Sgt D D Jack
The Dalles, OR
Cpl Harry Humphrey
Pfc Robert M Stewart Wisconsin Rapids, WI
|William Jarvis -- Consul to Lisbon was first to import Merino sheep to U.S.||Weathersfield||U.S. Route 5||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Consul to Lisbon. First to Import Merino Sheep to U.S. In 1811, Consul Jarvis brought from Spain to his farm in Weathersfield Bow the prized Merino sheep, whose longer fiber revolutionized the woolen industry and stimulated sheep raising throughout the East. In the 1830's Merinos were the state's principal livestock.
|Historic Lake Islands -- Samuel De Champlain||West Alburgh||70 North Main Street||Vermont Board of Historic Sites||1965|
These Islands were first seen by a European in 1609, when Samuel de Champlain explored the Lake which bears his name and claimed them for the King of France. Ceded in 1763 to Britain, they became part of the Royal Colony of New York. After 1776, several American Revolutionary heroes received Land Grants here, and two Islands were so named. In 1783, this area joined the Free and Independent Republic of Vermont. Here is history and legend of the famous Allen family, the Green Mountain Boys, Rogers' Rangers, and many others.
|Norman Rockwell||West Arlington||3587 River Road||Division for Historic Preservation||2016|
This renowned American painter and illustrator lived in Arlington from 1939 to 1953. Moving to this house in 1943, Rockwell employed neighbors as models to create memorable images for calendars, advertisements, and magazines. Iconic pictures like Rosie the Riveter (1943) and The Gossips (1948) were painted at his art studio and published by the Saturday Evening Post. Rockwell’s art was printed on 323 covers of the Saturday Evening Post. He also painted the Four Freedoms (1943) while living here. The famous series was viewed by millions of people for a war bond campaign. President Roosevelt said of the Four Freedoms, “The roots of democracy run deep in Vermont and, in drawing upon the life about you, you have tapped these roots.”
|Bradley Law Office||Westminster||U.S. Route 5, Westminster Village||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2003|
Prominent nineteenth century political leader and lawyer, William Czar Bradley (1782-1867) practiced in this building from 1802 until 1858 when he retired. He was a member of the VT Legislature, the Governor’s Council, & U.S. Representative to Congress (1813-15 & 1823-27). As agent for the U.S. under the Treaty of Ghent, he established the boundary between Maine and Canada. William C. Bradley’s law office building, and its untouched collection of furnishings, manuscripts, and books were willed in 1908 to the State of Vermont by his granddaughter, Sarah Bradley Willard. For the following 65 years her grandson, William Bradley Willard, who maintained a life interest in the property, cared for the office until it was opened to the public.
|Village Court House||Westminster||U.S. Route 5 just north of Welcome Drive||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Westminster "Massacre" Northward stood the Cumberland County Courthouse, seat of New York's colonial administration. Opposition to holding a court session let to the "Massacre" of March 13, 1775. Here the New Hampshire Grants on Jan. 16, 1777, declared their independence as "New Connecticut", later Vermont.
|Civilian Conservation Corps -- West River Forest Camp -- 1933-1940||Weston||Route 155||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2013|
This site marks the entrance to the West River C.C.C. Camp. The CCC was part of President Franklin Roosevelt's New Deal and targeted unemployed men 18-25 whose families were on relief. Nationally, over 2.5 million men were hired and paid $30 a month of which $25 went directly to their families. Men from this and other CCC camps built roads, trails and campgrounds, fought fires, planted trees and established much of the infrastructure of the early National Forest and other public lands. The remnants of this camp are down this road and within the Green Mountain National Forest.
|Weston Village Historic District||Weston||Route 100 at the Farrar Mansur House||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2006|
The village of Weston is on the National Register of Historic Places. Settled in 1761, originally as the West Town of Andover, Weston was incorporated in 1799. The Farrar Mansur House, built c. 1795, served as a home, tavern and community center. It is now a museum of Weston’s early history. The Mill, built on the site of a 1780 sawmill, was revived as a water powered gristmill in 1936. It contains an important collection of early trade tools. Weston’s first firehouse, located by the millpond, now houses a Concord Coach purchased in 1880 by the Weston Coronet Band and outfitted as a bandwagon.
- continued on other side -
The Village Green, once a frog pond and later a dump for the local tanneries, was established in 1886 as a private park by the Vermont General Assembly. It is owned by the Farrar Park Association which consists of nine local women. The first summer theater in Vermont opened its doors in Weston in 1936. A remodeled church served as the original playhouse. This burned in 1962. The present Playhouse was rebuilt on the site of the church.
|Silas Wright -- 1795-1847||Weybridge||Two miles west of Middlebury||Vermont Board of Historic Sites||1965|
Silas Wright 1795-1847 Born at Amherst, Mass. Silas Wright came to Weybridge as an infant and grew up here. Graduated from Middlebury College in 1815, he studied Law at Sandy Hill, NY; began Law Practice at Canton, NY, in 1819, and entered politics there. A Grigadier General by 1824, he was State Senator, 1825-1827; U.S. Congressman, 1827-1829; Comptroller, 1829-1833; U.S. Senator, 1833-1844; and Governor of New York, 1845-1847. In 1844, General Wright had declined the Democratic Party nomination for U.S. Vice-President. The large marble monument was erected in 1848 by citizens of Weybridge and vicinity, which General Wright had always regarded as his natal place.
|The U.S. Government Morgan Horse Farm||Weybridge||74 Battell Dr||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2007|
The U.S. Government established a Morgan horse breeding program in 1905 at the University of Vermont to study and refine the Morgan horse as a superior cavalry mount. That program moved here in 1907 when Joseph Battell donated this farm to the U.S. Government and the U.S. Government Morgan Horse Farm was created. In 1951 the University of Vermont assumed ownership.
Joseph Battell, a devoted Morgan horse breeder, researched the history of the breed and published Vol. 1 of the first American Morgan Horse Register in 1894. Some of Battell’s Morgans were used as breeding stock by the U.S. Government Morgan Horse Farm. The Battell and U.S. Government Morgan horse bloodline is perpetuated by the UVM Morgan Horse Farm’s breeding program.
|Wheelock -- The Dartmouth College Land Grant||Wheelock||Route 122, on the village green||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1957|
The Dartmouth College Land Grant When Eleazer Wheelock founded Dartmouth in 1769, he sought land grants to support the new college. In 1785 the Vermont legislature chartered and named a town of 23,000 acres for Wheelock. In the early 1800's, half of Dartmouth's endowment came from this one grant, a gift of Vermont. Today Dartmouth awards scholarships to boys from Wheelock.
|Brigham Young Birthplace||Whitingham||Route 100 in the village||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2000|
The leader of the Mormon pioneers, Brigham Young, was born up the steep hill to the south on June 1, 1804. He eventually led his people from Illinois to Utah where he founded Salt Lake City in 1847 and 500 communities’ throughout the west. Young became the first territorial governor of Utah and the second president of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
|Davenport Birthplace||Williamstown||Route 14 in village||Vermont Historic Sites Commission||1949|
Thomas Davenport was born on the West Hill in 1802 and worked in a blacksmith shop by the Village stream. Later, in Brandon, invented the first commutator, and, in 1837, patented the first electric motor.
|Williamstown Historic District||Williamstown||2470 VT Route 14||Division for Historic Preservation||2016|
Williamstown was established in 1780 by Elijah Paine and was formally chartered one year later on August 9, 1781. The first settlers lived on West Hill, along present-day Stone Road. By the mid-1800s, development had shifted from the two hills into the valley, an area better suited for civic, religious, and commercial activities. During the late 19th and early 20th centuries, craftsmen from Canada, Spain, Sweden, and Italy were drawn to the town by the promise of jobs at the granite quarries. The traditional building materials and forms reflect the town’s evolution from an agrarian society to an industrialized community. The Williamstown Village Historic District was listed in the State Register of Historic Places in 1989.
|Constitution House||Windsor||U.S. Route 5, north entrance of village||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1990|
Windsor, settled in 1764, became the political center for the Upper Connecticut Valley River. Here the Constitution of the "Free and Independent State of Vermont" was adopted at the tavern of Elijah West on July 8, 1777. This constitution was the first to prohibit slavery and establish universal manhood suffrage. Vermont was an independent republic until 1791, when it was admitted to the union as the 14th state.
|Old Constitution House||https://www.google.com/maps/place/43.484446,-72.385308|
|Scott Nearing & Helen Knothe Nearing||Winhall||Corner of Taylor Hill Rd and Stone Cabin Rd||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2002|
Scott Nearing: August 6, 1883 - August 24, 1983
Helen Knothe Nearing: February 23, 1904 - September 17, 1995
Prominent economist, socialist, teacher, writer and scholar, Scott and his wife Helen Knothe, lived in Winhall from 1932 to 1952. During the Great Depression they moved from New York City to begin a new life in Vermont. Here in their homestead, named "Forest Farm", they chose to live "the Good Life," a title of one of their many books. They built their handcrafted stone houses, created fertile organic gardens, made maple sugar, and were sustained by the land. Pearl Buck was a frequent visitor and eventual neighbor building her own stone houses in the area. They inspired many followers who shared their philosophy, which was recognized as a centerpiece of America's "Back to the Land" and "Simple Living" movement. Scott was an outspoken radical, an anti-war crusader, an advocate of social and economic justice, and a strict vegetarian. Scott and Helen led the life of pioneers in Vermont and later in Maine, whence they moved in 1952.
|Fisher Bridge -- Wolcott, Vermont||Wolcott||St. Johnsbury & Lamoille County R.R||Vermont Board of Historic Sites||1968|
This bridge, spanning the Lamoille River on the St. Johnsbury & Lamoille County R.R., is the last railroad covered bridge still in regular use in Vermont and one of a very few left in the U.S. Built in 1908, it is the only one remaining with full-length cupola, which provided a smoke escape. In 1968 the bridge was scheduled for destruction to make way for a new steel span. It was saved by placing heavy steel beams underneath. This preservation was achieved with State funds and with generous private donations raised by the Lamoille County Development Council.
|Reverend George S. Brown -- (1801-1886)||Wolcott||United Methodist Church, 4023 Route 15||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2011|
Reverend Brown was the first African American Methodist minister in Vermont. He was born in Newport, RI and became a Methodist minister in Kingsbury, NY in 1833. He made a living by building stone walls; many of which are still standing today. Brown served as a missionary to Liberia from 1837-1843. In 1855 he organized Methodist classes in Wolcott and supervised the building of the church in 1856. As far as can be determined this is the only church he served in the United States as the preacher in charge. He died in Glens Falls, NY.
|Hiram Powers||Woodstock||Church Hill Rd||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||1999|
Hiram Powers, one of the most famous nineteenth century sculptors, was born in 1805 in a farmhouse that stood on this hillside. Although he went west with his family at a young age, and took up residence in Florence, Italy, in 1837, Powers always referred to Woodstock as his home town. He said of his most famous work, "The Greek Slave" (the first nude female sculpture ever displayed in the U.S.), that he had dreamt of her rising from the mists of the Ottauquechee River. He died in Italy in 1837, leaving a body of work that included statues of such American heroes as: Andrew Jackson, Daniel Webster, John Quincy Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and Benjamin Franklin. Today, his works are in private collections and at such museums as the Louvre, the Metropolitan, and the Smithsonian.
|Justin Morgan||Woodstock||Route 4, approximately opposite Lincoln St||New England Morgan Horse Association, Inc.||1971|
On this site the progenitor of the famous Morgan breed of horses was owned by Sheriff William Rice about 1800. Justin Morgan took his name from that of the singing schoolmaster who originally brought him to Vermont, but who lost possession of the later famous horse to Sheriff Rice in payment of a debt. New England Morgan Horse Association, Inc.
|Marianne Gaillard Faulkner||Woodstock||Across from 28 Mountain Avenue||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2011|
Born on September 19, 1859, in Mobile, Alabama, Marianne Gaillard married Edward Daniels Faulkner in 1885. Edward owned Johnson & Faulkner, a very successful and prosperous upholstery firm in New York City. The couple bought the former Woodward mansion on Mountain Avenue prior to WWI and spent many summers here. After Edward’s death in 1926, Marianne Faulkner spent increasingly more time in Woodstock.
Mrs. Faulkner was a generous benefactor to the town. Among her gifts are the Woodstock Recreation Center, The Homestead, Faulkner Park and Trails, and contributions to many local churches and charities. Her Faulkner Trust is still used to help Woodstock individuals in need.
- continued on other side -
She also funded the Faulkner House at Mary Hitchcock Memorial Hospital in Hanover, NH, and gifted an endowment that continues to benefit the Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center. Because of her generosity, she is the only person to receive a Life Membership at the Woodstock Country Club.
Mrs. Faulkner was described as a woman with a powerful spirit and unshakeable will, an extraordinarily interesting human being with compassion for others.
She passed away on January 6, 1958, at her home in Woodstock, yet her legacy endures.
|Taftsville Covered Bridge||Woodstock||Route 4 in the village of Taftsville||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2013|
The Taftsville Covered Bridge is a rare example of early vernacular wooden truss covered bridges in the United States. All evidence indicates the builder, a longtime Taftsville resident named Solomon Emmons III, used no existing patented bridge truss designs, and that the design and construction techniques are unique. Constructed entirely of local wood and stone in 1836, at a cost of $1800, it is the oldest covered bridge in Windsor County, and the third oldest in the state. At approximately 189 feet in length at the floor, and 200 feet at the roof, it is the second longest covered bridge in Vermont. On August 28, 2011, Tropical Storm Irene devastated the south abutment, closing the bridge for two years while extensive repairs and restoration efforts were made.
|Woodstock||Woodstock||Village Green||Vermont Division for Historic Preservation||2010|
Was chartered by New Hampshire Royal Governor Benning Wentworth in 1761. It was named the Shire Town of Windsor County in 1786 and quickly became a prosperous manufacturing and commercial center. The town has been home to George Perkins Marsh, environmentalist; Frederick Billings, railroad empire-builder; Senator Jacob Collamer, advisor to President Lincoln; and Laurence Rockefeller, conservationist and philanthropist. It was the birthplace of Hiram Powers, noted sculptor of “Greek Slave.” From1826 to 1856, it hosted one of only six medical colleges in New England, the Vermont Medical College.
- Continued on other side -
Woodstock was the terminus of the Woodstock Railway, 1877-1933, which connected the town to the Central Vermont Railroad in White River Junction. Travelers coming to Woodstock via the railway established the town’s reputation as a tourist destination, still prevalent today. Called “the prettiest small town in America” by a national publication, Woodstock is famous for the architecture of its houses and churches. It is the site of the first ski-tow in the United States, in 1934, home to the Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Historical Park and remains the only town in America with 5 church bells cast by Paul Revere & Co.
|Woodstock, Vermont -- Site of the First Ski Tow in the United States||Woodstock||Route 12, two miles west of Woodstock Village||Vermont Board of Historic Sites||1964|
In January, 1934, on this pasture hill of Clinton Gilbert's farm, an endless-rope tow, powered by a Model "T" Ford engine, hauled skiers uphill for the first time. This ingenious contraption launched a new era in winter sports.