

## Secretary of State Office of Professional Regulation

# SOCIAL WORKER Application Instructions for Clinical Social Worker

## **EXAMINATION:**

- Submit an online application and pay the non-refundable application fee. Applications are found within the online licensing system at: <a href="https://secure.professionals.vermont.gov/prweb/PRServlet/app/default/ybVBleIGIHMIPa8qpM9BaiNEZfDPE">https://secure.professionals.vermont.gov/prweb/PRServlet/app/default/ybVBleIGIHMIPa8qpM9BaiNEZfDPE</a> NuF\*/!STANDARD
- 2. Have the school from which you obtained your master's or doctoral degree accredited by the Council on Social Worker Education submit official transcripts. Transcripts must be sent to the Office <u>directly from the institution</u> by US mail or email to SOS.OPRLicensing2@vermont.gov. If the school provides you with your transcript, it will only be accepted if they are in a sealed envelope from the school.
- 3. If practicing in Vermont, ensure you are entered on the Roster of Non-License, Non-Certified Psychotherapists <u>prior</u> to engaging in post-graduate supervision. See the <u>Application Instructions linked here</u>.

Persons holding a Licensed Master's Social Worker license only are not permitted to practice psychotherapy in Vermont. Persons practicing psychotherapy, including persons engaged in supervised practice toward licensure as a Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW), must be entered on the roster of non-licensed and non-certified psychotherapists.

Supervisory hours acquired by a person not on the Roster cannot be used toward licensure as a LICSW. Information on the Roster is found under the <u>Allied Mental Health profession</u> webpage. The application to apply to be on the Roster is found under Allied Mental Health profession.

A supervisee may choose to have supervision from a supervisor with a VT provisional license but the supervisee assumes the risk that the supervisor may not be qualified to provide supervision. The supervisor and the supervisee are subject to all Vermont laws. If that supervisor is later deemed unqualified to provide supervision (e.g., has fewer than 3 years of licensed practice or is not in good standing), the supervised hours acquired by the supervisee will NOT be counted toward licensure.

4. Have your supervisor(s) complete the "Supervision Report" form. Supervisors may submit by email at sos.oprlicensing2@vermont.gov or my post office mail.

One must have at least 3000 hours of post practice of which 2000 of the 3000 hours must be direct with one hour of supervision for every 30 hours of practice of which  $\frac{1}{2}$  can be in a group setting.

Supervision no fewer than half of the supervised practice hours must occur within five years of completing all requirements for licensure.

If supervision is completed outside of Vermont, supervisors must submit proof of their licensure by requesting an official verification of license be sent to OPR directly from their state of licensure. This must be sent <u>directly</u> from the licensing authority and can be sent by email to <u>SOS.OPRLicensing2@vermont.gov</u> or by post office mail. It is not required that the other state complete the Vermont Verification of Supervisor Licensure form.

- 5. If applicable, request an official verification of license be sent to OPR for your initial state of licensure and most recent state of licensure. This must be sent <u>directly</u> from the licensing authority and can be sent by email to <u>SOS.OPRLicensing2@vermont.gov</u> or by post office mail. It is not required that the other state complete the Vermont verification form.
- 6. Pass the ASWB Clinical Examination. must be completed within 5 years of completing all requirements for licensure.

To sit for the ASWB Clinical Examination, you must have your supervisor submit documentation verifying that you have completed at least 18 months of post-supervised practice which must consist of at least 2250 practice hours and 75 hours of supervision. At least 1250 of the 2250 must be direct hours.

- 7. Have the ASWB submit your Clinical level examination score directly to this Office.
- 8. Complete and Pass the Vermont Jurisprudence Examination and submit to the office. The exam is found within the online application. Study material can be found in the statutes and rules on our OPR Website.

## **ENDORSEMENT:**

To qualify to be licensed, an applicant must be licensed or certified in good standing in another jurisdiction in which the standards and qualifications required for regulation in that jurisdiction are substantially equivalent to Vermont's.

- Submit an online application and pay the non-refundable application fee. Applications are found within the online licensing system at: <a href="https://secure.professionals.vermont.gov/prweb/PRServlet/app/default/ybVBleIGIHMIPa8qpM9BaiNEZfDPE">https://secure.professionals.vermont.gov/prweb/PRServlet/app/default/ybVBleIGIHMIPa8qpM9BaiNEZfDPE</a> NuF\*/!STANDARD
- Request an official verification of license be sent to OPR for your initial state of licensure and most recent state of licensure. This must be sent <u>directly</u> from the licensing authority and can be sent by email to <u>SOS.OPRLicensing2@vermont.gov</u> or by post office mail. It is not required that the other state complete the Vermont verification form.
- 3. Successfully complete and pass the Vermont Jurisprudence Examination. The exam is found within the online application. Study material can be found in the statutes and rules on our OPR Website.

## **Provisional Licensure**

If you are otherwise qualified for licensure <u>and</u> verification of licensure is the ONLY outstanding deficiency and all other licensing requirements are met including applicable education and exam requirements you may be issued a 90-day provisional license while the Office awaits receipt of your license verification. If you wish to request a provisional license (if applicable), please indicate within the application.

#### **FIVE YEAR RULE:**

- Submit an online application and pay the non-refundable application fee. Applications are found within the online licensing system at: <a href="https://secure.professionals.vermont.gov/prweb/PRServlet/app/default/ybVBleIGIHMIPa8qpM9BaiNEZfDPE">https://secure.professionals.vermont.gov/prweb/PRServlet/app/default/ybVBleIGIHMIPa8qpM9BaiNEZfDPE</a> NuF\*/!STANDARD
- 2. Request an official verification of license be sent to OPR for your initial state of licensure and most recent state of licensure. This must be sent <u>directly</u> from the licensing authority and can be sent by email to <a href="SOS.OPRLicensing2@vermont.gov">SOS.OPRLicensing2@vermont.gov</a> or by post office mail. It is not required that the other state complete the Vermont verification form.
  - a. Must hold an active unencumbered license and have no disciplinary history in any jurisdiction currently or previously.
  - b. Must have practiced 1,200 hours per year or more for a minimum of five years
- 3. Successfully complete and pass the Vermont Jurisprudence Examination. The exam is found within the online application. Study material can be found in the statutes and rules on our OPR Website.

## **FAST TRACK ENDORSEMENT:**

To qualify to be licensed, an applicant must be actively licensed or certified in good standing in another jurisdiction for three or more years preceding this application.

- Submit an online application and pay the non-refundable application fee. Applications are found within the online licensing system at:

   <u>https://secure.professionals.vermont.gov/prweb/PRServlet/app/default/ybVBleIGIHMIPa8qpM9BaiNEZfDPENuF\*/!STANDARD</u>
- 2. Request an official verification of license be sent directly to the Office. Verification must show proof of continuous licensure in good standing for 3 years preceding the date of this application This must
  - be sent <u>directly</u> from the licensing authority and can be sent by email to <u>SOS.OPRLicensing2@vermont.gov</u> or by post office mail. It is not required that the other state complete the Vermont verification form.
- If applicable, complete and upload the specific VT State Jurisprudence exam answer sheet. The
  exam is found within the online application. Study material can be found in the statutes and rules on
  our OPR Website.

#### **Provisional Licensure**

If you are otherwise qualified for licensure **and** verification of licensure is the ONLY outstanding deficiency and all other licensing requirements are met including applicable education and exam requirements, you may be issued a 90-day provisional license while the Office awaits receipt of your license verification. If you wish to request a provisional license (if applicable), please indicate within the application.

NOTE: Any change of address or other contract information, by an applicant or licensee, <u>must</u> be forwarded to this office no later than thirty (30) days after change occurs.