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Secretary of State 
Office of Professional Regulation 

 
PSYCHOLOGIST MASTERS and PSYCHOLOGIST DOCTORATE 

Application Instructions  
 

EXAMINATION: 
 

1. Submit an online application and pay the non-refundable application fee. Applications are found within 
the online licensing system at: 
https://secure.professionals.vermont.gov/prweb/PRServlet/app/default/ybVBleIGIHMlPa8qpM9BaiNEZfD
PENuF*/!STANDARD  
 

2. If practicing in Vermont, ensure you are entered on the Roster of Non-License, Non-Certified 
Psychotherapists prior to engaging in post-graduate supervision. See the Application Instructions linked 
here.  

 
Persons practicing psychotherapy, including persons engaged in supervised practice toward licensure as 
a licensed psychologist, must be entered on the roster to obtain hours if you practice in Vermont. Your 
supervision hours will not be accepted if you were not on the Roster (hyperlink) during the entire time you 
were engaged in supervised practice. Information on the Roster is found within the Allied Mental Health 
profession page.  The Roster application is also found within Allied Mental Health in the Online Licensing 
System. 

 
4000 documented hours of supervised practice are required in Vermont, for both Psychologist-Master 
and Psychologist-Doctorate licenses.  Two different supervisors are required post degree, who 
supervise at least 500 hours each. 
 
A supervisee may choose to have supervision from a supervisor with a VT provisional license, but the 
supervisee assumes the risk that the supervisor may not be qualified to provide supervision.  The 
supervisor and the supervisee are subject to all Vermont laws.  If that supervisor is later deemed 
unqualified to provide supervision (e.g., has fewer than 3 years of licensed practice or is not in good 
standing), the supervised hours acquired by the supervisee will NOT be counted toward licensure.  

 
 

3. If applicable, request an official verification of license be sent to OPR for your initial state of licensure and 
most recent state of licensure. This must be sent directly from the licensing authority and can be sent by 
email to SOS.OPRLicensing2@vermont.gov or by post office mail. It is not required that the other state 
complete the Vermont verification form.   

 
4. Request official transcripts be sent to the Office directly from the institution by US mail or email to 

SOS.OPRLicensing2@vermont.gov.  If the school provides you with your transcript, it will only be 
accepted if they are in a sealed envelope from the school. 

 
If your degree is not from a program approved by the Joint Accreditation Program of the Association of 
State and Provincial Psychology Boards, or accredited by the American Psychological Association, or by a 
full member of the Council of Applied Master’s Programs in Psychology, it will be necessary to supply 
detailed information about your program.  The required information is described in the Rules, Sections 2.4 
and 2.6. 

 
5. Take the jurisprudence exam and submit your answer sheet with your application.  The exam is found 

within the online application. This is an open book and based directly on the Vermont Statutes and Rules.  
A passing score requires fewer than six (6) incorrect answers.   
 

https://secure.professionals.vermont.gov/prweb/PRServlet/app/default/ybVBleIGIHMlPa8qpM9BaiNEZfDPENuF*/!STANDARD
https://secure.professionals.vermont.gov/prweb/PRServlet/app/default/ybVBleIGIHMlPa8qpM9BaiNEZfDPENuF*/!STANDARD
https://cms.sec.state.vt.us:8443/share/s/ojbiqMRkRo2xxe1dlU18Bg
https://cms.sec.state.vt.us:8443/share/s/ojbiqMRkRo2xxe1dlU18Bg
https://sos.vermont.gov/allied-mental-health/
https://sos.vermont.gov/allied-mental-health/
mailto:SOS.OPRLicensing2@vermont.gov
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6. Upload the “Summary of Supervised Experience” form for your pre-degree and post-degree supervised 

practice. 
 

7. Have your supervisor complete the “Supervision Report” form and submit directly to the office by post office 
mail or email at sos.oprlicensing2@vermont.gov.   

 
Supervisors who are licensed out of state must also submit proof of their licensure. See #2 above or 
complete the "Verification of Supervisor Licensure” form and send it to their state of licensure to complete 
and send directly to the Office. 

 
8. Submit a “Licensure Course Requirements” form with your application.  Once you have submitted a 

completed application, fee, transcripts and supervision forms, the Board will review your file.  An applicant 
may be approved to sit for the exam after their education has been approved.  Once the Board has 
approved the application and education, you will be notified that you are eligible to sit for the Examination 
for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP).  Sixty days are allowed for taking the EPPP at a Prometric 
Examination Service Center.  A passing score of 500 is required for licensure.  The examination may be 
taken no more than four times in any twelve-month period. 
 

9. Once everything above has been accepted and complete, your application will be reviewed at the next 
regular meeting of the Board of Psychological Examiners.  Once the education is approved, you will be 
made eligible to sit for the ASPPB exam. The exam service will send you information on the exam directly.  

 
10. Pass the required ASPPB examination.  

 
 
ENDORSEMENT: 

To qualify to be licensed, an applicant must be licensed or certified in good standing in another jurisdiction in which 
the standards and qualifications required for regulation in that jurisdiction are substantially equivalent to Vermont's. 

 
1. Complete the online application and pay the non-refundable application fee. Submit an online application 

and pay the non-refundable application fee. Applications are found within the online licensing system at: 
https://secure.professionals.vermont.gov/prweb/PRServlet/app/default/ybVBleIGIHMlPa8qpM9BaiNEZfD
PENuF*/!STANDARD  
 

2. Take the jurisprudence exam and submit your answer sheet with your application.  The exam is found 
within the online application. This is an open book and based directly on the Vermont Statutes and 
Rules.  A passing score requires fewer than six (6) incorrect answers.   

 
3. Request an official verification of license be sent to OPR for your initial state of licensure and most recent 

state of licensure. This must be sent directly from the licensing authority and can be sent by email to 
SOS.OPRLicensing2@vermont.gov or by post office mail. It is not required that the other state complete 
the Vermont verification form.   

 
 
Provisional Licensure  
If you are otherwise qualified for licensure and verification of licensure is the ONLY outstanding deficiency and all other 
licensing requirements are met including applicable education, exam requirements, you may be issued a 90-day 
provisional license while the Office awaits receipt of your license verification. If you wish to request a provisional license (if 
applicable), please indicate within the application.  
 
 
FAST TRACK ENDORSEMENT: (Doctorate applicants only)  
To qualify to be licensed, an applicant must be actively licensed or certified in good standing in another jurisdiction for 
three or more years preceding this application. 
 

1. Submit an online application and pay the non-refundable application fee. Applications are found within 
the online licensing system at: 
https://secure.professionals.vermont.gov/prweb/PRServlet/app/default/ybVBleIGIHMlPa8qpM9BaiNEZfD
PENuF*/!STANDARD  
 

mailto:sos.oprlicensing2@vermont.gov
https://secure.professionals.vermont.gov/prweb/PRServlet/app/default/ybVBleIGIHMlPa8qpM9BaiNEZfDPENuF*/!STANDARD
https://secure.professionals.vermont.gov/prweb/PRServlet/app/default/ybVBleIGIHMlPa8qpM9BaiNEZfDPENuF*/!STANDARD
mailto:SOS.OPRLicensing2@vermont.gov
https://secure.professionals.vermont.gov/prweb/PRServlet/app/default/ybVBleIGIHMlPa8qpM9BaiNEZfDPENuF*/!STANDARD
https://secure.professionals.vermont.gov/prweb/PRServlet/app/default/ybVBleIGIHMlPa8qpM9BaiNEZfDPENuF*/!STANDARD
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2. Request an official verification of license be sent directly to the Office. Verification must show proof of 
continuous licensure in good standing for 3 years preceding the date of this application This must be sent 
directly from the licensing authority and can be sent by email to SOS.OPRLicensing2@vermont.gov or 
by post office mail. It is not required that the other state complete the Vermont verification form. 

 
3. Take the jurisprudence exam and submit your answer sheet with your application.  The exam is found 

within the online application. This is an open book and based directly on the Vermont Statutes and 
Rules.  A passing score requires fewer than six (6)  incorrect answers.   
 

 
Provisional Licensure  
If you are otherwise qualified for licensure and verification of licensure is the ONLY outstanding deficiency and all other 
licensing requirements are met including applicable education, exam requirements, you may be issued a 90-day 
provisional license while the Office awaits receipt of your license verification. If you wish to request a provisional license (if 
applicable), please indicate within the application.  
 

 
NOTE:  Any change of address or other contract information, by an applicant or licensee, must be forwarded to this office no 

later than thirty (30) days after change occurs. 
 

mailto:SOS.OPRLicensing2@vermont.gov

