

Secretary of State Office of Professional Regulation

NURSING

Licensed Practical Nurse & Registered Nurse Renewal Instructions

Renewal applications open 6 weeks prior to the expiration. You will receive a courtesy email to the email address on file once they open.

Renewals

In order to renew you will need to:

- 2. Meet **one** of the following requirements:
 - a. Active practice hour requirement:
 - i. 50 days (400 hours) in the last two years for paid compensation as a licensed practical nurse or
 - ii. 120 days (960 hours) within the last five years of the current licensing period; or
 - b. Completed 20 hours of continuing education (CE) within the last two years
 - c. Hold a nationally recognized nursing certification.
 - d. Completed an original/initial nursing program or re-entry nursing program within the last five years.

Criminal Background Checks are Required for Vermont Nurses. Completion of this process is <u>NOT</u> required to renew your license but does need to be initiated as part of your licensing requirements.

If you have already completed your CBC requirement for your Vermont license, you are not required to complete it again.

Background check instructions

- 1. Complete your Vermont renewal.
- 2. After your license is active, select "add specialty" from the main dashboard.
- 3. Print the Release Form which is available within the SPECIALTY application. Make sure the form is legible, complete mandatory fields, and have this form notarized.
- 4. Upload your completed release form to your SPECIALTY application to submit.
- 5. Once OPR receives your completed Release Form, you will receive a Fingerprint Authorization Certificate (FAC) at the email address associated with your online account. Please allow 5 full business days for processing.
- 6. After you receive the signed Fingerprint Authorization Certificate, you will make an

appointment to have your fingerprints taken.

7. Print the Fingerprint Authorization Certificate and bring it with you to your fingerprint appointment.

Be sure to keep your receipt. You may be asked to provide it.

To have fingerprints taken in Vermont:

<u>Click here</u> for a list of Vermont Identification Centers <u>or</u> contact your local law enforcement agency to inquire if they provide fingerprinting services.

To have fingerprints taken outside of Vermont:

Contact a local law enforcement agency. Fingerprint cards completed by agencies outside of Vermont must be submitted in an envelope sealed directly by the criminal justice agency taking the fingerprints. You must bring a large envelope to seal the fingerprints in before leaving the Identification center. You are not allowed to leave the enforcement agency with open fingerprint cards.

Completed fingerprint cards and signed authorization forms should be mailed to: Vermont Crime Information Center 45 State Drive Waterbury, VT 05671

Once VCIC receives your information, it can take 6-12 weeks for OPR to receive results. This will not impact your ability to practice as a VT nurse. We will make every effort to process the results quickly. Due to the high volume, we expect increased processing time.

For more information on background checks, please visit OPR's **Background Check Webpage**.

Reinstatement After Two Years of Expiry

- 1. A license expired for two years requires reinstatement, including a federal criminal background check in accordance with the Administrative Rules of the Vermont Board of Nursing.
 - a. Submit an online application and pay the non-refundable application fee. Applications are found within the online licensing system at:
 - https://secure.professionals.vermont.gov/prweb/PRServlet/app/default/ybVBleIGIHMlPa8qpM 9BaiNEZfDPENuF*/!STANDARD
- 2. A license expired for more than two years requires reinstatement, including a federal criminal background check.
 - a. Two to five years. A license expired for two to five years may be reinstated upon meeting the requirements for license renewal in addition to completing a criminal background check. Requirements for renewal include meeting one of the following:
 - i. Have practiced for a minimum of 50 days (400 hours) in the two years preceding application or 120 days (960 hours) in the five years preceding application; or
 - ii. Have completed 20 hours of qualifying continuing education in the two years immediately preceding the application; or
 - iii. Hold a current nationally recognized certification.

b. More than five years. A license expired for five or more years may be reinstated upon demonstrating retention of required professional competencies. If competencies are unable to be demonstrated, applicants may be required to complete a re-entry program. See 3 V.S.A. § 135.

Important Notes for Renewal

For more information about the NLC or to determine if you are eligible for a multistate license, please visit OPR's <u>Nurse Licensure Compact Webpage</u>.

For more information on background checks, please visit OPR's **Background Check Webpage**.

For questions on your renewal, please contact our Renewal Clerk at: sos.renewalclerk@vermont.gov

If your first license was issued within 90 days of the first renewal expiration date, your license is valid until the next renewal date. Please check the expiration date printed on your license.

Three (3) courtesy renewal reminders are sent to the email on file starting approximately 6 weeks prior to the renewal expiration date. It is your responsibility to ensure your email address is up to date. You may update your email by logging in to Online Licensing and updating your profile. Please check your spam folder and add our office to your safe senders list.