

Secretary of State Office of Professional Regulation

NURSING

Application Instructions for Licensed Practical Nurse & Registered Nurse

NURSE LICENSURE COMPACT (NLC)

Vermont is now a compact state. If you hold an active multistate license in another state, no action is needed to practice in Vermont. For information on the NLC, please visit Vermont's <u>NLC webpage</u> for eligibility at: https://sos.vermont.gov/nursing/statutes-rules-resources/nurse-licensure-compact/

CURRENTLY LICENSED VT NURSES APPLYING FOR A MULTISTATE LICENSE

If you are planning to make Vermont your state of residence you will need to apply for a Vermont multistate license once residency has been established.

- 1. Be licensed as A Registered Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse in VT
- 2. Ensure Vermont residency is established.
- 3. Log in to your online account, and click "add specialty"
- 4. Print the Release Form. Complete mandatory fields, and have this form notarized.
 - a. Within the specialty application:
 - i. indicate that you are applying for a multistate license by selecting the multistate specialty.
 - ii. Upload proof of Vermont residency.
 - iii. Upload the completed Release Form where indicated **and submit the specialty application.**
- 5. Once OPR receives your application with the attached completed Release Form, you will receive a Fingerprint Authorization Form at the email address associated with your online account. Please allow 3-5 business days for processing.
- 6. After you receive the signed Fingerprint Authorization Form, you will make an appointment to have your fingerprints taken.
- 7. Print the Fingerprint Authorization Form and bring it with you to your fingerprint appointment. The Fingerprint Authorization form must be sent with your prints to VCIC. Some centers do this for you, and some will require you to send. Please visit https://sos.vermont.gov/opr/online-services/background-checks/ for more information.
- 8. Be sure to keep your receipt. You may be asked to provide it.

To have fingerprints taken in Vermont: <u>Click here</u> for a list of Vermont Identification Centers <u>or</u> contact your local law enforcement agency to inquire if they provide fingerprinting services.

To have fingerprints taken outside of Vermont: Contact a local law enforcement agency.

Once VCIC receives your information, it can take up to 12 weeks for OPR to receive results. We will make every effort to process the results quickly. Due to the high volume, we expect increased processing time.

**Multistate privileges <u>WILL NOT</u> be issued until satisfactory completion of the criminal background check (CBC). A <u>single state</u> provisional may be requested while OPR waits for the CBC results.

For more information on background checks, please visit OPR's Background Check Webpage.

LICENSE BY EXAMINATION – First-Time Applicants Only

- If you have graduated from a Vermont nursing program please complete the on-line RN or LPN Application by Examination and pay the application fee (non-refundable processing fee).
- 2. If you have graduated from a school of nursing outside of Vermont, you will need to request your school provide official transcripts to the Board.
 - A. For **Domestic** nursing education programs
 - a. Request your school send of official transcripts directly to the Vermont Board of Nursing by email (<u>sos.oprlicensing1@vermont.gov</u>), or US post mail (89 Main street, 3rd floor, Montpelier, VT 05620-3402); OR
 - b. If you completed ANY of the subject areas listed through a school/program other than your primary nursing program, you are responsible for requesting a transcript from the additional school to be sent directly to the Board.

***NOTE: Official transcripts are not required if the nursing program was completed in the State of VT.

- B. For **International** nursing education programs A CES report is required.
 - a. Contact one of our recommended vendors CGFNS or IERF
 - b. CGFNS or IERF will send the completed CES report directly to our office.
 - c. Contact the Board of Nursing staff if you have questions at sos.oprlicensing1@vermont.gov
- 3. Register with Pearson VUE and pay the exam fee to take the NCLEX.
- 4. Within the application, indicate whether you intend to be a single state (SSL) nurse or apply for compact privileges with a <u>multistate license</u> (MSL).
- 5. Complete the Criminal Background Check- Required for SSL and MSL applicants:
 - a. Print the Release Form and upload with your application. Make sure to complete mandatory fields, and have this form notarized. (You can use the above link to print the form in advance.)
 - b. Once OPR receives your completed Release Form, you will receive a Fingerprint Authorization Certificate (FAC) at the email address associated with your online account. Please allow 3-5 business days for processing.
 - c. After you receive the signed Fingerprint Authorization Certificate, you will make an appointment to have your fingerprints taken.
 - d. Print the Fingerprint Authorization Certificate and bring it with you to your fingerprint appointment. The Fingerprint Authorization form must be sent with your prints to VCIC. Some centers do this for you, and some will require you to send. Please visit https://sos.vermont.gov/opr/online-services/background-checks/ for more information.
 - e. Be sure to keep your receipt. You may be asked to provide it.

To have fingerprints taken in Vermont: Click here for a list of Vermont Identification Centers or contact your local law enforcement agency to inquire if they provide fingerprinting services.

To have fingerprints taken outside of Vermont: Contact a local law enforcement agency.

Once VCIC receives your information, it can take 4-6 weeks for OPR to receive results. We will make every effort to process the results quickly. Due to the high volume, we expect increased processing time.

For more information on background checks, please visit OPR's Background Check Webpage.

Provisional Licensure (single state licenses only)- If your application is deficient and the criminal background check or verification of licensure (if applicable) are the ONLY outstanding deficiencies and all other licensing requirements are met including education and exams, you may be issued a 90-day provisional license while the

Office awaits receipt of your criminal background check or your license verification. If you wish to be issued a provisional license, please indicate within the application. A provisional license authorizes practice in Vermont for 90 days and cannot be renewed or extended.

You must complete the fingerprint submission process in a timely manner to ensure completion of a criminal background check. If your completed criminal background check has not been received prior to the expiration of your provisional license, your provisional license expiration date will not be extended and you will not be able to practice in Vermont until a traditional license is issued.

LICENSE BY ENDORSEMENT- Applicants Licensed in Another State

To qualify, an applicant must be licensed or certified in good standing in another state or jurisdiction in which the standards and qualifications required for regulation in that jurisdiction are substantially equivalent to Vermont's.

- 1. Complete online application and pay the application fee (Non-Refundable Processing Fee)
- 2. Submit Verification of Licensure. Provide verification of your *original* nursing license as well as the nursing license from *your most recent state of nursing employment*. If those states are members of NURSYS, go to www.nursys.com and obtain license verification(s) for Vermont. (Note: The Quick Confirm Report does not suffice.) If those states do not participate in electronic verification through NURSYS, contact your Board of Nursing and request the verification be sent to sos.oprlicensing1@vermont.gov
- 3. Within the application, indicate whether you intend to be a single state (SSL) nurse or apply for compact privileges with a <u>multistate license</u> (MSL). You must be a VT resident to apply for MSL.
- 4. Complete the Criminal Background Check- Required for SSL and MSL applicants:
 - a. Print the <u>Release Form</u> and upload with your application. Make sure to complete mandatory fields, and have this form notarized. (You can use the above link to print the form in advance.)
 - b. Once OPR receives your completed Release Form, you will receive a Fingerprint Authorization Certificate at the email address associated with your online account. Please allow 3-5 business days for processing.
 - c. After you receive the signed Fingerprint Authorization Certificate, you will make an appointment to have your fingerprints taken.
 - d. Print the Fingerprint Authorization Certificate and bring it with you to your fingerprint appointment. The Fingerprint Authorization form must be sent with your prints to VCIC. Some centers do this for you, and some will require you to send. Please visit https://sos.vermont.gov/opr/online-services/background-checks/ for more information.
 - e. Be sure to keep your receipt. You may be asked to provide it.

To have fingerprints taken in Vermont: Click here for a list of Vermont Identification Centers or contact your local law enforcement agency to inquire if they provide fingerprinting services.

To have fingerprints taken outside of Vermont: Contact a local law enforcement agency.

Once VCIC receives your information, it can take 4-6 weeks for OPR to receive results. We will make every effort to process the results quickly. Due to the high volume, we expect increased processing time.

For more information on background checks, please visit OPR's Background Check Webpage.

Provisional Licensure (single state only)- If your application is deficient and the criminal background check or verification of licensure (if applicable) are the ONLY outstanding deficiencies and all other licensing requirements are met including education and exams, you may be issued a 90-day provisional license while the Office awaits receipt of your criminal background check or your license verification. If you wish to be issued a provisional license, please indicate within the application. **A provisional license authorizes practice in Vermont for 90 days and cannot be renewed or extended.**

You must complete the fingerprint submission process in a timely manner to ensure completion of a criminal background check. If your completed criminal background check has not been received prior to the expiration of your provisional license, your provisional license expiration date will not be extended and you will not be able to practice in Vermont until a traditional license is issued.

FAST TRACK ENDORSEMENT:

To qualify to be licensed, an applicant must be actively licensed or certified in good standing in another jurisdiction for <u>three or more years</u> preceding this application.

- 1. Complete the online application and pay the application Fee (Non-Refundable Processing fee);
- 2. Submit Verification of Licensure. Provide verification from the state that you have been actively licensed and practicing in for a minimum of three years immediate preceding the date you submit your Vermont application. If that state is a member of NURSYS, go to www.nursys.com and obtain license verification for Vermont. (Note: The Quick Confirm Report does not suffice.) If that state does not participate in electronic verification through NURSYS, contact your Board of Nursing and request the verification be sent to sos.oprlicensing1@vermont.gov.
- 3. If applicable, complete and upload the specific VT State Jurisprudence exam answer sheet.
- Within the application, indicate whether you intend to be a single state (SSL) nurse or apply for compact privileges with a <u>multistate license</u> (MSL). You must be a Vermont resident to apply for MSL.
- 5. Complete the Criminal Background Check- Required for SSL and MSL applicants:
 - a) Print the <u>Release Form</u> and upload with your application. Make sure to complete mandatory fields, and have this form notarized. (You can use the above link to print the form in advance.)
 - b) Once OPR receives your completed Release Form, you will receive a Fingerprint Authorization Certificate at the email address associated with your online account. Please allow 3-5 business days for processing.
 - c) After you receive the signed Fingerprint Authorization Certificate, you will make an appointment to have your fingerprints taken.
 - d) Print the Fingerprint Authorization Certificate and bring it with you to your fingerprint appointment. The Fingerprint Authorization form must be sent with your prints to VCIC. Some centers do this for you, and some will require you to send. Please visit https://sos.vermont.gov/opr/online-services/background-checks/ for more information.
 - e) Be sure to keep your receipt. You may be asked to provide it.

To have fingerprints taken in Vermont: Click here for a list of Vermont Identification Centers or contact your local law enforcement agency to inquire if they provide fingerprinting services.

To have fingerprints taken outside of Vermont: Contact a local law enforcement agency.

Once VCIC receives your information, it can take 4-6 weeks for OPR to receive results. We will make every effort to process the results quickly. Due to the high volume, we expect increased processing time.

For more information on background checks, please visit OPR's Background Check Webpage.

Provisional Licensure (single state only)- If your application is deficient and the criminal background check or verification of licensure (if applicable) are the ONLY outstanding deficiencies and all other licensing requirements are met including education and exams, you may be issued a 90-day provisional license while the Office awaits receipt of your criminal background check or your license verification. If you wish to be issued a provisional license, please indicate within the application. **A provisional license authorizes practice in Vermont for 90**

days and cannot be renewed or extended.

You must complete the fingerprint submission process in a timely manner to ensure completion of a criminal background check. If your completed criminal background check has not been received prior to the expiration of your provisional license, your provisional license expiration date will not be extended and you will not be able to practice in Vermont until a traditional license is issued.

RN or LPN RE-ENTRY:

To qualify for re-entry, you must hold an active license in another state or have previously held a VT RN or LPN license.

- 1. Complete the online application and pay the application Fee (Non-Refundable Processing fee);
- 2. Complete and upload Re-Entry Supervision form; and
- 3. Upon completion of the Re-Entry program complete and submit the Re-Entry Evaluation form.

NOTE: Please allow 3-5 business days for processing applications and any post application documents. Any change of address or other contract information, by an applicant or licensee, <u>must</u> be forwarded to this office no later than thirty (30) days after change occurs.