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NURSING 

Application Instructions for Licensed Practical Nurse 
 

Application information applicable to all applicants regardless of basis of licensure type being applied 
for: 
Complete the Criminal Background Check- Required for all applicants: 

 Print the Release Form and upload with your application. Make sure to complete mandatory fields. 
(You can use the above link to print the form in advance.) 

 Once OPR receives your completed Release Form, you will receive a Fingerprint Authorization 
Certificate at the email address associated with your online account. Please allow 3-5 business 
days for processing. 

 After you receive the signed Fingerprint Authorization Certificate, you will make an appointment 
to have your fingerprints taken. 

 Print the Fingerprint Authorization Certificate and bring it with you to your fingerprint appointment. The 
Fingerprint Authorization form must be sent with your prints to VCIC. Some centers do this for you, 
and some will require you to send. Please visit https://sos.vermont.gov/opr/online- 
services/background-checks/ for more information. 

 Be sure to get a receipt for your fingerprints as you will be required to upload it. 

 
To have fingerprints taken in Vermont: Click here for a list of Vermont Identification Centers or 
contact your local law enforcement agency to inquire if they provide fingerprinting services. 

To have fingerprints taken outside of Vermont: Contact a local law enforcement agency. If prints are done 
outside of Vermont they must be “ink prints” completed on the FD-258 fingerprint card. 

Once VCIC receives your information, it can take 12 weeks for OPR to receive results. We will make every effort 
to process the results quickly. Due to the high volume, we expect increased processing time. 

For more information on background checks, please visit OPR’s Background Check Webpage. 
 
Provisional Licensure - (NON-RENEWABLE)  
3 V.S.A. §130 allows for a 90-day provisional license to expedite entry into the workforce for applicants who 
have otherwise met licensure requirements and are either awaiting verification of licensure or the results of a 
criminal background check. A provisional license may be issued based on a voluntary agreement between the 
applicant and the Office. An applicant is not required to request one.   
 
In order to be issued a non-renewable provisional license, you MUST upload documentation that you have had 
your fingerprints taken and sent your FAC and fingerprints to VCIC. Your non-renewable provisional license 
application will remain pending until this documentation is received.  To upload your fingerprint receipt log into 
your online account, click “Update” and upload. 

 

 
 
 
 
 



LICENSE BY EXAMINATION – First-Time Applicants Only 

1. If you have graduated from a Vermont nursing program please complete the on-line LPN 
Application by Examination and pay the application fee (non-refundable processing fee). 

 
2. If you have graduated from a school of nursing outside of Vermont, you will need to request 

your school provide official transcripts to the Board. 

A. For Domestic nursing education programs 

a. Request your school send of official transcripts directly to the Vermont Board of 

Nursing by email (sos.oprlicensing1@vermont.gov), or US post mail (89 Main street, 

3rd floor, Montpelier, VT 05620-3402); OR 

b. If you completed ANY of the subject areas listed through a school/program other than 

your primary nursing program, you are responsible for requesting a transcript from 

the additional school to be sent directly to the Board. ***NOTE: Official transcripts are 

not required if the nursing program was completed in the State of VT.  

B. For International nursing education programs – A CES report is required. 

a. Contact one of our recommended vendors –  

• CGFNS – Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools 

• Josef Silny & Associates, Inc. 

• SpanTran 

b. The vendor will will send the completed CES report directly to our office. 

c. Any questions please contact the Board of Nursing staff at 

SOS.OPRLicensing1@vermont.gov  

C. For LPN’s who are a service member or veteran you are eligible to sit 

for the NCLEX PN examination if you meet the following requirements: 

a. Have successfully completed one of the following programs:  

• Basic Medical Technician Corpsman Program 
(BMTCP)  4N0X1 

• Aerospace Medical Service Apprentice (AMSA) 
4N031 

• Basic Medical Technician Corpsman Program 
(BMTCP) 4N051 

b. Have completed 40 theory hours in behavioral and social 

sciences.  Please have your official transcripts sent to 

SOS.OPRLicensing1@Vermont.gov 

D. Register with PearsonVue and pay the exam fee to take the NCLEX  

E. Indicate within the application whether you intend to be a single 

state (SSL) or multistate (MSL) licensed nurse. 

 



 

LICENSE BY ENDORSEMENT- Applicants Licensed in Another State 
To qualify, an applicant must be licensed or certified in good standing in another state or jurisdiction in which 
the standards and qualifications required for regulation in that jurisdiction are substantially equivalent to 
Vermont's. 
 

A. Complete online application and pay the application fee (Non-Refundable Processing Fee) 
B. Submit Verification of Licensure. Provide verification of your original nursing license as 

well as the nursing license from your most recent state of nursing employment. If those 
states are members of NURSYS, go to www.nursys.com and obtain license 
verification(s) for Vermont. (Note: The Quick Confirm Report does not suffice.) If those 
states do not participate in electronic verification through NURSYS, contact your 
Board of Nursing and request the verification be sent to 
sos.oprlicensing1@vermont.gov 

C. Within the application, indicate whether you intend to be a single state (SSL) nurse 
or apply for compact privileges with a multistate license (MSL). You must be a VT 
resident to apply for MSL. 

 

 

FAST TRACK ENDORSEMENT: 

To qualify to be licensed, an applicant must be actively licensed or certified in good standing in 
another jurisdiction for three or more years preceding this application. 
 

1. Complete the online application and pay the application Fee (Non-Refundable Processing 
fee); 

2. Submit Verification of Licensure. Provide verification from the state that you have been 
actively licensed and practicing in for a minimum of three years immediately preceding 
the date you submit your Vermont application. If that state is a member of NURSYS, go 
to www.nursys.com and obtain license verification for Vermont. (Note: The Quick Confirm 
Report does not suffice.) If that state does not participate in electronic verification through 
NURSYS, contact your Board of Nursing and request the verification be sent to 
sos.oprlicensing1@vermont.gov. 

3. Within the application, indicate whether you intend to be a single state (SSL) nurse or apply 
for compact privileges with a multistate license (MSL). You must be a Vermont resident to 
apply for MSL. 

 
NOTE: Please allow up to 5 business days for processing applications and any post application documents. 

Any change of address or other contract information, by an applicant or licensee, must be forwarded to 
this office no later than thirty (30) days after change occurs. 

 


