

Secretary of State Office of Professional Regulation

NURSING

Renewal Instructions License Nursing Assistant

In order to renew you will need to:

- 1. Complete the Vermont online renewal application.
- 2. Pay the non-refundable renewal fee
- 3. MNA ONLY- Complete the continuing education requirement.
- 4. Meet the active practice hour requirement of 50 days (400 hours) in the last two years
- 5. The board shall credit as active practice those activities, regardless of title or obligation to hold a license, that reasonably tend to reinforce the training and skills of a licensee.
- 6. A licensee who does not meet the active practice requirement shall repeat the nursing assistant education program and competency examination.
- 7. Complete the Criminal Background Check (As of September 1, 2022)
 - a) Print the <u>Release Form</u> and upload with your application. Make sure to complete mandatory fields, and have this form notarized. (You can use the above link to print the form in advance.)
 - b) Once OPR receives your completed Release Form, you will receive a Fingerprint Authorization Certificate (FAC) at the email address associated with your online account. Please allow 3-5 business days for processing.
 - c) After you receive the signed Fingerprint Authorization Certificate, you will make an appointment to have your fingerprints taken.
 - d) Print the Fingerprint Authorization Certificate and bring it with you to your fingerprint appointment. The Fingerprint Authorization form must be sent with your prints to VCIC. Some centers do this for you, and some will require you to send. Please visit https://sos.vermont.gov/opr/online-services/background-checks/ for more information.
 - e) Be sure to keep your receipt. You may be asked to provide it.

To have fingerprints taken in Vermont: <u>Click here</u> for a list of Vermont Identification Centers <u>or</u> contact your local law enforcement agency to inquire if they provide fingerprinting services.

To have fingerprints taken outside of Vermont: Contact a local law enforcement agency. Once VCIC receives your information, it can take 4-6 weeks for OPR to receive results. We will make every effort to process the results quickly. Due to the high volume, we expect increased processing time.

For more information on background checks, please visit OPR's <u>Background Check Webpage</u>.

For questions on your renewal, please contact our Renewal Clerk at: sos.renewalclerk@vermont.gov

If your first license was issued within 90 days of the first renewal expiration date, your license is valid until the next renewal date. Please check the expiration date printed on your license.

Three (3) courtesy renewal reminders are sent to the email on file starting approximately 6 weeks prior to the renewal expiration date. It is your responsibility to ensure your email address is up to date. You may update your email by logging in to <u>Online Licensing</u> and updating your profile. Please check your spam folder and add our office to your safe senders list.