

# Secretary of State Office of Professional Regulation

# NURSING Application Instructions for Licensed Nursing Assistant

If you already hold a Vermont license in this profession and are applying to <u>add</u> the Medication Nursing Assistant specialty, use the "Add A Specialty" link within your online account.

### **EXAMINATION:** First time applicants

- 1. Complete online application and pay non-refundable application fee
- 2. If you have graduated or are close to graduating from an education program that is not located in Vermont, a Nursing Assistant Verification of Education form must be submitted directly by your Nursing Assistant School.
- 3. If you are a nursing student in an LPN or RN nursing education program, a Nursing Student Applicant for LNA Education form must be submitted directly by your Nursing School. The office has access to Vermont based education programs.
- 4. Once your application is received, reviewed and your education has been approved, you will be issued a formal authorization to take the national Nurse Aide Assessment Program (NNAAP) exam.
- 5. Complete the Criminal Background Check
  - a) Print the Release Form and upload with your application. Make sure to complete mandatory fields, and have this form notarized. (You can use the above link to print the form in advance.)
  - b) Once OPR receives your completed Release Form, you will receive a Fingerprint Authorization Certificate (FAC) at the email address associated with your online account. Please allow 3-5 business days for processing.
  - c) After you receive the signed Fingerprint Authorization Certificate, you will make an appointment to have your fingerprints taken.
  - d) Print the Fingerprint Authorization Certificate, complete it and bring it with you to your fingerprint appointment. The Fingerprint Authorization form must be sent with your prints to VCIC. Some centers do this for you, and some will require you to send. Please visit <a href="https://sos.vermont.gov/opr/online-services/background-checks/">https://sos.vermont.gov/opr/online-services/background-checks/</a> for more information.
  - e) Be sure to keep your receipt. You may be asked to provide it.

**To have fingerprints taken in Vermont:** <u>Click here</u> for a list of Vermont Identification Centers <u>or</u> contact your local law enforcement agency to inquire if they provide fingerprinting services.

**To have fingerprints taken outside of Vermont:** Contact a local law enforcement agency. Once VCIC receives your information, it can take 4-6 weeks for OPR to receive results. We will make every effort to process the results quickly. Due to the high volume, we expect increased processing time.

For more information on background checks, please visit OPR's Background Check Webpage.

**Provisional Licensure** - If your application is deficient and the criminal background check or verification of licensure (if applicable) are the ONLY outstanding deficiencies and all other licensing requirements are met including education and exams, you may be issued a 90-day provisional license while the Office awaits receipt

of your criminal background check or your license verification. If you wish to be issued a provisional license, please indicate within the application. A provisional license authorizes practice in Vermont for 90 days and cannot be renewed or extended.

You must complete the fingerprint submission process in a timely manner to ensure completion of a criminal background check. If your completed criminal background check has not been received prior to the expiration of your provisional license, your provisional license expiration date will not be extended, and you will not be able to practice in Vermont until a traditional license is issued.

### **ENDORSEMENT**: Applicants currently licensed in another state

To qualify, an applicant must be licensed or certified in good standing in another state or jurisdiction in which the standards and qualifications required for LNA licensure in that jurisdiction are substantially equivalent to Vermont's.

- 6. Complete online application and pay non-refundable application fee
- 7. Verification of your licensure submitted from your original state of licensure and from your most recent state of licensure, if different.
- 8. If applying with work experience, enter your nursing assistant employment information under the supervision of licensed nurse. You must have worked a minimum of 50 days (400 hours) in the last two years.

9.

- 10. Complete the Criminal Background Check
  - a) Print the <u>Release Form</u> and upload with your application. Make sure to complete mandatory fields, and have this form notarized. (You can use the above link to print the form in advance.)
  - b) Once OPR receives your completed Release Form, you will receive a Fingerprint Authorization Certificate (FAC) at the email address associated with your online account. Please allow 3-5 business days for processing.
  - c) After you receive the signed Fingerprint Authorization Certificate, you will make an appointment to have your fingerprints taken.
  - d) Print the Fingerprint Authorization Certificate, complete it and bring it with you to your fingerprint appointment. The Fingerprint Authorization form must be sent with your prints to VCIC. Some centers do this for you, and some will require you to send. Please visit <a href="https://sos.vermont.gov/opr/online-services/background-checks/">https://sos.vermont.gov/opr/online-services/background-checks/</a> for more information.
  - e) Be sure to keep your receipt. You may be asked to provide it.

**To have fingerprints taken in Vermont:** <u>Click here</u> for a list of Vermont Identification Centers <u>or</u> contact your local law enforcement agency to inquire if they provide fingerprinting services.

**To have fingerprints taken outside of Vermont:** Contact a local law enforcement agency. Once VCIC receives your information, it can take 4-6 weeks for OPR to receive results. We will make every effort to process the results quickly. Due to the high volume, we expect increased processing time.

For more information on background checks, please visit OPR's <u>Background Check Webpage</u>.

**Provisional Licensure** - If your application is deficient and the criminal background check or verification of licensure (if applicable) are the ONLY outstanding deficiencies and all other licensing requirements are met including education and exams, you may be issued a 90-day provisional license while the Office awaits receipt of your criminal background check or your license verification. If you wish to be issued a provisional license, please indicate within the application. **A provisional license authorizes practice in Vermont for 90 days and cannot be renewed or extended.** 

You must complete the fingerprint submission process in a timely manner to ensure completion of a criminal background check. If your completed criminal background check has not been received prior to the expiration of your provisional license, your provisional license expiration date will not be extended, and you will not be able to practice in Vermont until a traditional license is issued.

#### **FAST TRACK ENDORSEMENT:**

To qualify to be licensed, an applicant must be actively licensed or certified in good standing in another jurisdiction for <u>three or more years</u> preceding this application.

- 11. Complete the online application and pay the application Fee (Non-Refundable Processing fee);
- 12. Verification of Licensure form. Provide verification of your most current state of licensure.

  Verification must show proof of continuous licensure in good standing for 3 years preceding the date of this application; and
- 13. If applicable, complete and upload the specific VT State Jurisprudence exam answer sheet.
- 14. Complete the Criminal Background Check
  - a) Print the <u>Release Form</u> and upload with your application. Make sure to complete mandatory fields, and have this form notarized. (You can use the above link to print the form in advance.)
  - b) Once OPR receives your completed Release Form, you will receive a Fingerprint Authorization Certificate (FAC) at the email address associated with your online account. Please allow 3-5 business days for processing.
  - c) After you receive the signed Fingerprint Authorization Certificate, you will make an appointment to have your fingerprints taken.
  - d) Print the Fingerprint Authorization Certificate and bring it with you to your fingerprint appointment. The Fingerprint Authorization form must be sent with your prints to VCIC. Some centers do this for you, and some will require you to send. Please visit <a href="https://sos.vermont.gov/opr/online-services/background-checks/">https://sos.vermont.gov/opr/online-services/background-checks/</a> for more information.
  - e) Be sure to keep your receipt. You may be asked to provide it.

**To have fingerprints taken in Vermont:** <u>Click here</u> for a list of Vermont Identification Centers <u>or</u> contact your local law enforcement agency to inquire if they provide fingerprinting services.

**To have fingerprints taken outside of Vermont:** Contact a local law enforcement agency. Once VCIC receives your information, it can take 4-6 weeks for OPR to receive results. We will make every effort to process the results guickly. Due to the high volume, we expect increased processing time.

For more information on background checks, please visit OPR's Background Check Webpage.

**Provisional Licensure** - If your application is deficient and the criminal background check or verification of licensure (if applicable) are the ONLY outstanding deficiencies and all other licensing requirements are met including education and exams, you may be issued a 90-day provisional license while the Office awaits receipt of your criminal background check or your license verification. If you wish to be issued a provisional license, please indicate within the application. **A provisional license authorizes practice in Vermont for 90 days and cannot be renewed or extended.** 

You must complete the fingerprint submission process in a timely manner to ensure completion of a criminal background check. If your completed criminal background check has not been received prior to the expiration of your provisional license, your provisional license expiration date will not be extended, and you will not be able to practice in Vermont until a traditional license is issued.