Secretary of State
Office of Professional Regulation

NURSING

Application Instructions for Advanced Practicing Registered Nurse

You MUST have an active Vermont RN License OR a valid multistate RN license from another Compact
State to apply for an APRN license. If you do not have a valid multistate license, you will be required to
complete a criminal background check to obtain your Vermont single state RN license.

CERTIFICATION INITIAL LICENSE for PRIMARY SPECIALTY:
1. Complete your Vermont online application and submit the non-refundable application fee.

2. Complete the Criminal Background Check:

a)

b)

e)

Print the Release Form and upload with your application. Make sure to complete
mandatory fields, and have this form notarized. (You can use the above link to print
the form in advance.)

Once OPR receives your completed Release Form, you will receive a Fingerprint
Authorization Certificate (FAC) at the email address associated with your online
account. Please allow 3-5 business days for processing.

After you receive the signed Fingerprint Authorization Certificate, you will

make an appointment to have your fingerprints taken.

Print the Fingerprint Authorization Certificate and bring it with you to your fingerprint
appointment. The Fingerprint Authorization form must be sent with your prints to VCIC.
Some centers do this for you, and some will require you to send. Please visit
https://sos.vermont.gov/opr/online- services/background-checks/ for more information.
Be sure to keep your receipt. You may be asked to provide it.

To have fingerprints taken in Vermont: Click here for a list of Vermont
Identification Centers or contact your local law enforcement agency to inquire if they
provide fingerprinting services.

To have fingerprints taken outside of Vermont: Contact a local law enforcement
agency. Once VCIC receives your information, it can take 4-6 weeks for OPR to receive
results. We will make every effort to process the results quickly. Due to the high volume,
we expect increased processing time.

For more information on background checks, please visit OPR’s Background Check
Webpage.

3. Official transcripts verifying your APRN education must be submitted directly by your graduate

program.

e The transcript must indicate successful completion of the following courses:
Advanced Pathophysiology, Advanced Assessment, and
Pharmacotherapeutics.

o Please have your transcripts emailed to us at: sos.oprlicensing1@vermont.gov

4. Upload a scanned copy of your current national advanced nursing practice specialty certification.

5. Transition to Practice:
o If completed, enter your start and end dates of practice period.
o If you are in your Transition to Practice period, upload a scanned copy of your
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Collaborative Agreement, signed by you and your collaborator before you start
employment as an APRN in Vermont.

6. If applicable, enter your DEA number
7. If applicable, when you are licensed as an APRN in other jurisdiction(s):
o Enter all states where you have been or are currently licensed.

o Verification of your licensure submitted directly from your original state of licensure and
from your most current state of licensure, if different is required.

You must complete the fingerprint submission process in a timely manner to ensure completion of a
criminal background check. If you do not hold an active Vermont RN license you must complete th FBI
background check process for your Vermont APRN license.

Please contact the Office for information regarding APRN Pro Bono Endorsement

NOTE: Any change of address or other contract information, by an applicant or licensee, must be forwarded
to this office no later than thirty (30) days after change occurs.
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