

Secretary of State Office of Professional Regulation

NOTARIES PUBLIC

Notary Renewal Instructions

The renewal application will open in mid-December. You will receive a courtesy email once the renewal opens.

In order to renew you will need to:

- 1. Log in to your <u>online services account</u>.
- 2. Select "renew license"
- 3. Complete the Vermont online renewal application.
- 4. Pay the non-refundable renewal fee (if applicable).
- 5. Upload continuing education certificates (if applicable).

Continuing Education (CE)

The continuing education requirement applies for the 2023 renewal of all Vermont notary public commissions **except** for

- those notaries public who are exempt from the continuing education requirement under Vermont law (a list of notaries public who are exempt from the continuing education requirement can be found <u>here</u>); and
- 2) those notaries public who obtained a notary public commission within the last two years (on or after February 1, 2021).

If you <u>do not</u> fall in one of the listed <u>exemptions</u> and your initial notary commission was issued on or before January 31, 2021, you <u>are</u> required to complete the continuing education for your January 2023 notary public commission renewal.

Continuing Education Guidance for the January 2023 Renewal

The Office of Professional Regulation is currently in the process of adopting rules regarding continuing education requirements for notaries public seeking to renew their Vermont commissions. The guidance, below, aligns with the proposed rules. For notary public commissions being renewed on or before January 31, 2023, OPR will accept coursework that complies with the following guidelines:

- One (1) hour of CE is required.
- Content must be related to the maintenance and enhancement of the skill, knowledge, and competency to perform notarial acts in accordance with Vermont's laws and requirements.
- The course can be synchronous or asynchronous, recorded or live, or in-person or remote
- The course must contain both audio and visual content.

Justice of the Peace

If you are a Justice of the Peace renewing a notary commission, you will need to select Municipal Office Under the Employment category in the online renewal. You will then see an additional drop down for Justice of the Peace which will bypass the renewal fee.

Law Enforcement

Law enforcement-related employees do not need to obtain a notary public commission to provide notary public services (referred to in the Notary Public Law as "notarial acts") within the course and scope of their official employment duties. Please visit the <u>Notary FAQs</u> for more information and a list of notary public <u>exemptions</u>.

We encourage you to visit the <u>OPR Website</u> for more information on <u>notaries public</u> and your commission.

Important Notes for Renewal

If your first commission was issued within 90 days of the first renewal expiration date, your license is valid until the next renewal date. Please check the expiration date printed on your license.

Three (3) courtesy renewal reminders are sent to the email on file starting approximately 6 weeks prior to the renewal expiration date. It is your responsibility to ensure your email address is up to date. You may update your email by logging in to <u>Online Licensing</u> and updating your profile. Please check your spam folder and add our office to your safe senders list.

For questions on your renewal, please contact the renewal clerk at sos.renewalclerk@vermont.gov