
 

 

 
 
 
 
 

Secretary of State 
Office of Professional Regulation 

 
DENTAL EXAMINERS 

Application Instructions for Dental Therapist 
 

A. EXAMINATION: First time applicants 
 

1. Your Vermont online application and Non-refundable application fee.  

2. You must hold a current active and in good standing Dental Hygienist license. 

a. If your Dental Hygienist license is from another state or jurisdiction, Verification of your licensure 
submitted from your most recent state of licensure. 

3. Verification of Education form submitted directly to our office by the accrediting institution. Must hold a dental 
therapist certificate from a Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA/ADA) accredited school.   

4. Emergency Office Procedure course completion certificate 

5. CPR course completion certificate 

6. Proof of your CDCA or CRDTS dental therapist examination score. 

7. Vermont Dental Therapist Jurisprudence Exam  

8. Verification of Employment/Supervision form completed by the Vermont Dentist who will be your Supervising 
Dentist. 

 

B. ENDORSEMENT:  Applicants currently licensed in another state 

To qualify, an applicant must be licensed or certified Dental Therapist in good standing in another state or jurisdiction 
in which the standards and qualifications required for regulation in that jurisdiction are substantially equivalent to 
Vermont's. 
 

1. Your Vermont online application and Non-refundable application fee.  

2. A copy of the Statutes and Rules from your original state of licensure and from your most recent state of 

licensure, if different. 

3. Verification of Licensure submitted from your original state of licensure and from your most recent state of 

licensure, if different. This must come directly from each state.  

4. Emergency Office Procedure course completion certificate 

5. CPR course completion certificate 

6. Vermont Dental Therapist Jurisprudence Exam  

7. Attest to completing a minimum of 800 documented hours of active practice within the 5 years preceding 

the date of the application.  

 

C. FAST TRACK ENDORSEMENT: 

To qualify to be licensed, an applicant must be actively licensed or certified in good standing in another 
jurisdiction for three or more years preceding this application.  
 

 

1. Complete Application and pay Application Fee (Non-Refundable Processing fee); 

2. Verification of Licensure form. Provide verification of your most current state of licensure. Verification must 

show proof of continuous licensure in good standing for 3 years preceding the date of this application; and 

3. If applicable, complete and upload the specific VT State Jurisprudence exam answer sheet.  



 

 
NOTE:  Any change of address or other contract information, by an applicant or licensee, must be forwarded to this office no 

later than thirty (30) days after change occurs. 
 
 


