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Vermont Secretary of State
Office of Professional Regulation
Social Work
VT State Jurisprudence Exam

Exam # 1

Directions and Information:

1. This is an open book examination.

2. Once you have completed the exam and answer sheet please upload only the answer sheet to
your online application.

3. Six or more answers incorrect is a failing score and you will need to redo this examination.

Vermont State Jurisprudence Exam Study Material References

The Vermont Social Work State Jurisprudence Exam has questions from the following references:

¢ Vermont Social Work Statutes, 26 V.S.A. Chapter 61
¢ Vermont Statutes, 3 V.S.A. Chapter 5, Subchapter 3
e Administrative Rules for Social Workers



Social Work State Examination Answer Sheet (EXAM #1)

Candidate Name: Today’s Date:
1. A BCD 21. A BCD
2. A BCD 22. A BCD
3. A BCD 23. A BCD
4. A BCD 24, A BCD
5. A BCD 25. A BCD
6. A BCD
7. A BCD
8. A BCD
9. A BCD
10. A BCD
11. A BCD
12. A BCD
13. A BCD
14. A BCD
15. A BCD
16. A BCD
17. A B CD
18. A BCD
19. A BCD
20. A BCD
Corrected by: Grade:

Date Pass / Fail




1. Title 26 Vermont Statutes Annotated (V.S.A.) Chapter 61 pertains to: 1) licensed
masters social work; 2) psychotherapists 3) licensed independent clinical social work;
or 4) clinical mental health counselors:

a.1and 3
b.1,2,and 3

c. All of the above

d. None of the above

2. To renew a LMSW, the social worker shall show evidence during each renewal
period of having completed:

10 hours of continuing education
20 hours of continuing education
30 hours of continuing education
None of the above

ac op

3. Torenew a LICSW, the social worker shall show evidence during each renewal
period of having completed:

a. 10 hours of continuing education
b. 20 hours of continuing education
c. 30 hours of continuing education
d. None of the above

4. According to Vermont Statutes, how many individuals are appointed to serve as
advisors in matters relating to licensed social workers?

a. One

b. Two

c. Three

d. None of the above

5. What degree level is required to be eligible for a licensed master’s social work license?

a. A master’s degree from an accredited clinical mental health, social work, or
psychology program

b. A master’s degree from an accredited social work program

c. A bachelor’s degree in social work

d. None of the above



6. How many ethic hours must a LICSW or LMSW complete during a two-year
licensing period?
a. 3.5 hours
b 2.5 hours

c. 1.5 hours
d. None of the above

7. Appointed advisors should have no less than ___ years of experience.
a. three years
b. five years
c. seven years
d.  None of the above

8. Which of the following is not a path to licensure?

Examination

Endorsement

The 7-year active practice rule
All of the above

ao o

9. Alicensee is responsible for notifying the office within___days if he or she
changes name, mailing address, business address or email.

a. 15
b. 30
c. 45
d. None of the above

10. The Director of the Office of Professional Regulation may exercise the following
powers with regard to the social work profession::

a. Develop administrative rules

b. Issue subpoenas and administer oaths
c. Receive and investigate complaints

d. All of the above

11. The Director of the office is obligated to comply with the:

Social Workers professional statutes (26 V.S.A. Chapter 61)
b. Open meeting laws

c. Public records law

d. All of the above

&



12. It is considered unprofessional conduct to:

Practice outside or beyond a licensee's education, training,
experience, or competence

Delegate professional responsibilities to a person whom the licensed
professional knows is not qualified to perform the responsibility

Fail to comply with provisions of federal or State statutes or rules
governing the practice of the profession

All of the above

13. Post degree supervised practice is required for:

ac o

The Roster of nonlicensed and noncertified psychotherapists
A LMSW license

A LICSW license

All of the above

14. Supervised practice must occur under a supervisor who has acquired:

e o

15. A

5,500 hours of licensed practice
4,000 hours of licensed practice
4,500 hours of licensed practice
All of the above

shall hear disciplinary matters regarding social work licensees

and applicants.

/o o

A board

An administrative law officer
State prosecutor

None of the above

16. Continuing education ethics courses may include which of the following topics in social
work practice:

ac o

Boundaries
Confidentiality
Dual relationships
All of the above



17.

18.

19.

Licensees shall provide clients with a disclosure no later than the office visit.

2nd
3rd
4th
5th

e o o

LICSW and LMSW shall disclose to each client:

Professional qualifications

Information on filing a complaint

A copy of the statutory definitions of unprofessional conduct
All of the above

aoc o

Licensees shall maintain evidence of completed continuing education for___years.

Two
Seven
Four

a
b.
C.
d. None of the above

20. A supervisor providing supervised practice is not responsible for verifying that the

21.

supervisee is properly registered on the roster of nonlicensed and noncertified
psychotherapists.

a. True
b. False

Unlicensed, unregistered or un-rostered supervised practice is unauthorized practice
and may subject the applicant and the supervisor to disciplinary action.

a. True
b. False

22. An applicant may only count supervised practice hours acquired while the applicant is

23.

registered on the roster of nonlicensed and noncertified psychotherapists.

a. True
b. False

To be eligible for an LMSW or LICSW license, an applicant must have a master’s or
doctoral degree from a social work education program that is accredited by the Council
on Social Work Education.

a. True

b. False



24. An LMSW may provide psychotherapy services.
a. True
b. False

25. of the 3000 hours of supervised practice hours toward licensure must be
comprised of the provision of psychotherapy.
a. None
b. 1000 hours
c. 1500 hours
d. 2000 hours



