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Vermont Secretary of State
Office of Professional Regulation
Private Investigative & Security Services
VT State Jurisprudence Exam

Exam # 1

Directions and Information:

1. This is an Open Book examination.

2. Once you have completed the exam and answer sheet please upload only the
answer sheet to your online application.

3. Six or more answers incorrect is a failing score and you will need to redo this
examination.

Vermont State Jurisprudence Exam Study Material References

The Vermont Private Investigative & Security Services State Jurisprudence Exam has
questions from the following references:

¢ Vermont Statutes and Rules



Pl & Security Services State Examination Answer Sheet (EXAM #1)

Candidate Name: Today’s Date:
1. A BCDE 23. A BCDE
2. A BCDE 24, A BCDE
3. A BCDE 25. A BCDE
4. A BCDE
5. A BCDE
6. A BCDE
7. A BCDE
8. A BCDE
9. A BCDE
10. A BCDE
11. A BCDE
12. A BCDE
13. A BCDE
14. A BCDE
15. A BCDE
16. A B CDE
17. A B CDE
18. A B CDE
19. A BCDE
20. A BCDE
21. A BCDE
22. A BCDE
Corrected by: Grade:

Date Pass / Fail




Every private security agency in Vermont must designate:
a) a firm emblem, which is to be filed with the Secretary of State.
b) a qualifying agent who is responsible and accountable for the employees
and operation of the agency.
c) atelephone number to receive complaints of employee misconduct.
d) a uniform approved by the Board.

Before carrying or using firearms while performing services, a licensee or
registrant:
a) is not required to take any action, because Vermont is a concealed carry
state.
b) must register with the Sheriff of the county in which services are
performed.
c) must complete a firearms training program approved by the Board and
possess a firearms registration issued by the Board.
d) must complete twenty hours of self-directed range experience.

A qualifying agent may be disciplined for:
a) committing unprofessional conduct himself or herself.
b) allowing a security agency to operate in violation of law or regulation.
c) failing to ensure all employees of an agency are appropriately licensed or
registered.
d) all of the above.

An agency and its qualifying agent must have in place a procedure to ensure
they are notified within forty-eight hours of:
a) any protective order served on an employee.
b) any arrest, charge, or conviction of an employee, agent, partner, or
corporate officer in relation to a criminal offense.
c) damage to any company vehicle.
d) any complaint against the agency made by a member of the public.

Persons regularly employed as investigators, exclusively by one employer in
connection with the affairs of that employer only, provided that the employer is
not a private investigative agency, may work without a Board license.

a) True

b) False

The primary purpose of the Board is to protect the public health, safety, and
welfare by setting standards licensing only qualified and suitable applicants and
regulating their practice.

a) True

b) False



10.

11.

12.

How often does an armed registrant or armed qualifying agent need to be re-
qualified?

a) every year

b) every 4 years

c) every 3 years

d) every 2 years

Within how many hours must the qualifying agent notify OPR when a registrant’s
employment ends?

a) 24 hours

b) 48 hours

c) 72 hours

d) there is no such obligation.

When a trainee has completed an approved basic training program, his or her
training certificate must be:

a) signed by the instructor.

b) signed by the trainee.

c) signed by the trainee and instructor

d) signed by the qualifying agent.

An employee working with a temporary registration must be supervised. This
means:
a) the qualifying agent maintains line-of-sight visual contact with the
employee.
b) the qualifying agent is readily available to monitor and advise the
employee.
c) any fully licensed agency employee is with the employee.
d) the employee’s work area is subject to video surveillance.

If a security employee works without carrying a Board registration card on his or
her person:
a) the employee may be disciplined for unprofessional conduct.
b) the employee and the qualifying agent responsible for the employee may
be disciplined for unprofessional conduct.
c) the qualifying agent should blame the regional manager.
d) thatis the employee’s right under the Second Amendment.

A security employee must produce his or her registration card:
a) only in hostage situations.
b) to persons suspected of theft or fraud, in order for them to have the
employee’s home address.
c) upon request of an OPR investigator or law enforcement officer.
d) as a means of getting out of speeding tickets.



13.

14

15

16.

17.

When determining a written request to waive part or all of its training
requirements, the Board will consider whether an applicant has:
a) completed a training course in another jurisdiction with requirements
similar to Vermont's.
b) documented, long-term experience as a private investigator or security
guard.
c) received other relevant training, such as military, law enforcement, or
emergency medical training.
d) All of the above.

A registrant who has successfully completed a Board-approved 40-hour training:

a) is required to repeat the training every time he or she comes on or off
payroll.

b) may be fully or partially excused from repeating the training program if re-
applying to the Board.

c) is required to repeat the training five years from the date of course
completion.

d) is legally excused from speeding to and from job sites.

All arrests, charges, and convictions must be reported by an applicant for Board
licensure, except:
a) those occurring outside Vermont.
b) those that were unfair.
c) those that were followed by a period of five years’ good behavior.
d) those where the applicant has received a court order unambiguously
expunging the record of investigation and conviction.

Applications for licensure or registration must be completed and signed (or
submitted electronically) by:

a) the qualifying agent responsible for hiring the applicant.

b) the company’s human resources officer.

c) the clerk of the town in which the applicant plans to work.

d) the person actually seeking licensure or registration.

A security license from the Board entitles the bearer to arrest persons upon
probable cause that laws have been violated.

a) true

b) false



18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

A police officer who retired in good standing from a US law-enforcement agency:

a) automatically qualifies for a Board license.

b) is entitled to act as a security guard or investigator in Vermont without a
license.

c) is subject to the same requirements as any applicant but may be granted
a training waiver.

d) is subject to the same requirements as any applicant and must repeat
training.

The core components of both temporary and full investigator training programs
are:
a) physical fitness, endurance training, and interrogation.
b) criminal psychology, retail security, and forensics.
c) report writing, surveillance, and biohazard precautions.
d) the role of the investigator, ethics and conduct, and legal powers and
limitations.

An armed-guard endorsement entitles the bearer:
a) to carry firearms in the course of his or her employment only.
b) to carry firearms into federal buildings and other areas where arms are
specifically prohibited by law.
c) to train supervisees in the use of firearms.
d) to stop a retail theft suspect by displaying a weapon, if necessary, to
prevent flight.

An acceptable 40-hour course should include __ hours of training in emergency
response.

a) 0

b) 4

c) 8

d) 16

A security guard registered in another state may operate in Vermont:
a) for sixty days if issued an emergency license by the Board.
b) for not more than seven days before contacting the Board.
c) while accompanied by a Vermont licensee.
d) None of the above.

Applicants for Board licenses must be atleast _ years of age:
a) 16
b) 18
c) 21
d) 26



24.  Guards who are not actively licensed by the Board may provide security services:
a) in no circumstance.
b) where the guards are contracted through a temporary employment firm.
c) if necessary, to meet a sudden client demand lasting fewer than 48 hours.
d) if the unlicensed guards are directly supervised by a qualifying agent.

25. To serve as a firearms or guard dog instructor, an agency employee must:
a) obtain a firearms or guard-dog instructor’s license from the Board.
b) have five years of law-enforcement experience.
c) be licensed in good standing as a security guard or investigator and have
a certificate of insurance on file with the Board.
d) possess military experience.



