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Vermont Secretary of State
Office of Professional Regulation
Dentist
VT State Jurisprudence Exam

Exam # 1

Directions and Information:

1. This is an open book examination.

2. Once you have completed the exam and answer sheet please upload only the answer
sheet to your online application.

3. Six or more answers incorrect is a failing score and you will need to redo this examination.

Vermont State Jurisprudence Exam Study Material References

The Vermont Dentist State Jurisprudence Exam has questions from the following references:

e Vermont Statutes and Rules



Dentist State Examination Answer Sheet (EXAM #1)

Candidate Name: Today’s Date:
I. A B CDE 23. A B CDE
2. A B C D E 24, A B C D E
3. A B CDE 25. A B CDE
4, A B C D E 26. A B C D E
5. A B CDE 27. A B CDE
6. A B CDE 28. A B CDE
7. A B CDE 29. A B CDE
8. A B CDE 30. A B CDE
9. A B C D E
10. A B C D E
11. A B CDE
12. A B CDE
13. A B CDE
14. A B CDE
15. A B C D E
16. A B C D E
17. A B C D E
18. A B C D E
19. A B CDE
20. A B CDE
21. A B CDE
22. A B C D E
Corrected by: Grade:

Date Pass / Fail




Title 26 Vermont Statutes Annotated (V.S.A.) Chapter 12 pertains to:

dental hygienists and dental therapists
dentists

dental assistants

all of the above

/o o

To renew a dental license, the dentist shall show evidence during each renewal
period of having completed:

a a course in emergency office procedures or CPR

b 30 hours of continuing education

c. 800 hours of active practice during the previous five years
d all of the above

Failure to furnish a copy of a patient’s dental record to succeeding dentist or the
patientupon proper request is:

a criminal offense

grounds for discipline of your license
a civil matter

all of the above

o op

According to the rules established by the Board of Dental Examiners, which types
of dental assistants are registered?

traditional & certified

expanded function & certified
non-traditional

traditional, certified & expanded function

g op

The license of a dentist practicing in Vermont must be:

carried with them at all times

displayed in each room of his/her practice
displayed in public view in his/her place of business
bothB & C

aoc oe

According to Vermont Statutes, the Board of Dental Examiners is comprised of:

2 dentists, 2 hygienists, 1 assistant, and 2 public members
4 dentists, 4 hygienists, 2 assistants, and 1 public member
6 dentists, 2 hygienists, 1 assistant, and 2 public members
8 dentists, 4 hygienists, 2 assistants, and 1 public member

o op



7. For each instance of unprofessional conduct, the Board of Dental Examiners may
impose a civil penalty of up to:

a. $250.00
b. $500.00
c $750.00
d $1000.00

8. A dentist, a dental therapist, a dental hygienist, or a dental assistant, who fails to
renew a license or registration is an unlicensed practitioner and is subject to
discipline until reinstated by the Board of Dental Examiners.

a. true
b. false

9. A traditional dental assistant (TDA) must be employed for six consecutive
months before performing the following:

placing composite resins
coronal polishing
applying dental sealants
bothB & C

o op

10. Members of the Board of Dental Examiners may not:

a. hold office in his/her state or local professional organizations

b. be on the faculty of any dental, dental therapist, dental hygiene or dental
assisting school

c. be retired from the practice of dentistry

d. both A& C

11. The current length of the appointment term for a dentist to the Board of Dental
Examinersis:

a. two years

b. three years
c. five years

d. seven years



12. A dental hygienist, with endorsement to administer local anesthesia, may do so:

under general supervision
under direct supervision
without supervision

with another hygienist present

o o

13. Dental assistants may prescribe for the following procedures:

a. mouth guards
b. dentures

c. bridges

d.

none of the above

14. A dental hygienist may qualify for local anesthesia privileges if he or she has:

15.

16.

a. satisfactorily completed a course in local anesthesia of at least 24
hours of clinical and didactic instruction from a CODA accredited
program

b. successfully completed the CDCA/NERB local anesthesia exam

c. submitted a certificate of course completion to the Board of Dental
Examiners for its review

d. all of the above

The Board of Dental Examiners has the power and the duty to:

investigate all complaints and charges
issue subpoenas and hold hearings
employ legal counsel as necessary

all of the above

foe op

Members of the Board of Dental Examiners serve to:

protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the State of Vermont
set standards for licensing and registration

protect the profession of dentistry

both A & B

e op



17. Advertising by a dentist:

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

e o o

is limited to telephone directories

is restricted to 2" X 2" newspaper ads
must be factual, and not misleading
must be approved by the Board

A dental hygienist may perform:

/o o

duties taught in the normal educational curriculum for dental hygienists

expanded dental functions, without additional training or certification
local anesthesia, without additional training or certification
any and all duties assigned by the dentist

A dental assistant must register with the Secretary of State’s Office within:

o op

7 days from the first day of employment
30 days from the first day of employment
6 months from the first day of employment
1 year from the first day of employment

A dentist who employs a dental assistant, is responsible for:

the professional acts of the dental assistant

confirming the dental assistant is registered with the Board of Dental
Examiners

conduct of the dental assistant, while not working

both A & B

A dental assistant may provide dental oral prophylaxis:

o o

if they have completed an accredited course in expanded functions
if the dentist trains them in dental prophylaxis

if they have been in practice for at least three years

never, it is not within their scope of practice

Dentists may become licensed by the Board on the basis of:

a
b
C.
d

examination

credentials

licensed practice experience
all of the above



23.

24.

25.

26.

27.

28.

Direct supervision of a dental assistant means that the dentist must be:

available by phone

within 15 minutes of travel to the assistant’s location
readily available at the dental facility

within two blocks of the dental facility

e o oe

The Board of Dental Examiners will issue a radiographic endorsement to a
traditional dental assistant who:

a. is at least 18 years of age

b. who has successfully completed a radiology course from a CODA
accredited program

C. has documented 6 months lawful employment as a dental assistant

d. all of the above

Abandonment of a patient is:

acceptable if the patient has not paid for services
grounds for professional discipline

acceptable upon proper written notice

both A& C

ao oe

The Board of Dental Examiners is obliged to comply with the:

laws of professional regulation
right to know law

access to public records law
all of the above

e o o

For a dentist to be eligible for license renewal; how many continuing education
credits must be completed during the two-year licensing period preceding renewal?

10
20
30
40

Qo oo

The performance of any intraoral tasks by a dental assistant shall be under:

the direct supervision of a dentist

the indirect supervision of a dentist

under the general supervision of a dentist
none of the above

ao oe



29.  Any person shall have the right to a review of the Board of Dental Examiner’s
decisionif their license has been denied.

a. true
b. false

30. A dental hygienist practicing under general supervision in a public or private
schoolor public or private institution:

a. must have no less than 3 years of licensed clinical practice experience

b. needs to complete a general supervision agreement and file it with the
Board of Dental Examiners

c. may only provide services as outlined in Rule 10.6

d. all of the above



