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Directions and Information: 
 
1.  This is an open book examination. 
 
2.   Once you have completed the exam and answer sheet please upload only the answer 
sheet to your online application. 
 
3. Six or more answers incorrect is a failing score and you will need to redo this 
examination. 
   
 
Vermont State Jurisprudence Exam Study Material References 
 
The Vermont Dental Hygienist State Jurisprudence Exam has questions from the following 
references:   
 

• Vermont Statutes and Rules 
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1. In order to be eligible for licensure as a dental hygienist on the basis of 
endorsement the applicant must: 

 
a. be currently licensed in a state with requirements substantially 

equivalent to Vermont’s 
b. be in good standing in the state they are being endorsed from 
c. have graduated from an accredited dental hygiene institution 
d. all of the above 

 
2. In the case where a standard of unprofessional conduct as set forth in title 3 

conflicts with a standard set forth in a specific board's statute or rule, the standard 
that is most protective of the public shall govern. 

 
a. true 
b. false 

 
3. A dental hygienist who fails to renew a license is an illegal practitioner and shall 

forfeit the right to practice until reinstated by the Board. 
 

a. true 
b. false 

 
4. A dental hygienist may: 

 
a. prescribe drugs under the supervision of a dentist 
b. surgical procedures on hard and soft tissues 
c. make referrals to oral surgeons 
d. none of the above 

 
5. A dental hygienist may perform: 

 
a. duties taught in the normal educational curriculum for dental hygienists 
b. expanded dental functions, without additional training or certification 
c. local anesthesia, without additional training or certification 
d. all of the above 

 
6. A dental hygienist, with endorsement to administer local anesthesia may do so: 

 
a. under general supervision 
b. under direct supervision 
c. without supervision 
d. with another hygienist present 



 

 

7. The dental hygiene members on the Board of Dental Examiners may not: 
 

a. hold office in his/her state or local professional organization 
b. be retired from the practice of dental hygiene 
c. none of the above 
d. a & b 

 
8. To qualify for a dental hygiene license by endorsement an applicant must meet 

all of the following requirements EXCEPT one. Which one is the EXCEPTION? 
 

a. the applicant must be currently licensed in a jurisdiction of the United 
States or Canada with requirements of education and examination 
which are substantially equivalent to those currently in effect in Vermont 

b. the applicant must retake the National Dental Hygiene Board Examination 
c. the applicant must be in good standing and has not been disciplined in 

any jurisdiction where the applicant has been licensed, or has been 
fully reinstated after having been disciplined 

d. the applicant must successfully complete the Vermont dental statutes 
and rules examination 

 
9. Renewal for dental hygiene licensure occurs every: 

 
a. 1 year 
b. 2 years 
c. 3 years 
d. on the licensees birth date 

 
10. The license of a dental hygienist practicing in Vermont must: 

 
a. be carried with them at all times 
b. displayed in each room of his/her practice 
c. displayed in public view in his/her place of business 
d. both A & C 

 
11. In order for a dental hygienist to renew their license after two years of 

licensure in Vermont they must have: 
 

a. met the active practice requirement 
b. completed at least 18 hours of continuing education 
c. completed a course in emergency office procedures 
d. all of the above 



 

 

 

12. Under direct supervision, a dental hygienist with anesthesia endorsement may 
administer: 

 
a. nitrous oxide sedation 
b. local anesthesia 
c. intramuscular anesthesia 
d. none of the above 

 
13. Disciplinary action may be taken against a dental hygienist for the following 

reasons: 
 

a. fraudulent procurement of a license 
b. addiction to drugs or alcohol 
c. immoral conduct of a hygienist in the practice of dental hygiene 
d. all of the above 

 
14. The current length of the appointment term for a dental hygienist to the Board 

of Dental Examiners is: 
 

a. five years 
b. three years 
c. seven years 
d. two years 

 
15. The Board of Dental Examiners is obliged to comply with the: 

 
a. laws of professional regulation 
b. open meeting law 
c. public records act 
d. all of the above 

 
16. Any person shall have the right to a review of the Board of Dental Examiner’s 

decision if their license has been: 
 

a. denied 
b. revoked 
c. suspended 
d. all of the above 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

17. The practice of dental hygiene under general supervision in the office of a 
licensed dentist means that: 

 
a. the dentist must be available for consultation 

b. the dentist may leave the office manager in charge 
c. the dentist must be physically present in the office 
d. the dental hygienist may diagnose and treat pending return of the dentist 

 
18. A dental hygienist practicing under general supervision in a public or private 

school or public or private institution: 

 
a. must have no less than 3 years of licensed clinical practice experience 
b. needs to complete a general supervision agreement and file it with the 

Board of Dental Examiners 
c. must work with a supervising dentist who has had no less than 3 years’ 

experience 
d. all of the above. 

 
19. Dental hygienists serve on the Board of Dental Examiners to: 

 
a. protect public health, safety and welfare 
b. set standards for licensing and registration 
c. assist in professional conduct investigations 
d. all of the above 

 
20. The Board of Dental Examiners has the power and duty to: 

 
a. investigate all complaints and charges 
b. issue subpoenas and hold hearings 
c. employ legal counsel as necessary 
d. all of the above 

 
21. A dental hygienist may qualify for local anesthesia privileges if he or she has: 

 
a. satisfactorily completed a course of study in local anesthesia of at 

least 24 hours of clinical and didactic instruction 
b. have successfully completed the CDCA local anesthesia exam 
c. submit a certificate of course completion to the Board of Dental 

Examiners for its review 
d. all of the above 

 
22. The Board of Dental Examiners may audit dental hygienists for 

compliance with the continuing education requirement. 
 

a. true 
b. false 

 
 
 



 

23. For each instance of unprofessional conduct, the Board of Dental Examiners may 
impose 

 
a. civil penalty up to $1000 
b. impose conditions on a license 

such as supervision or remedial 
education 

c. suspend or revoke a license 
d. all of the above 

24. Title 26 Vermont Statutes Annotated 
(V.S.A.) Chapter 12 pertains to: 

 
a. dental hygienists 
b. dentists and dental therapists 
c. dental assistants 
d. all of the above 

 
25. Active practice for dental hygienists 

is defined as practicing under a valid 
license in this or another U.S. or 
Canadian jurisdiction for no fewer 
than 50 hours in five years. 

 
a. true 
b. false 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 


