
STATE OF VERMONT 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

 
Workers’ Compensation and     Docket No. 31-19WCPen 
Safety Division, Petitioner 
       By: Beth A. DeBernardi 
 v.       Administrative Law Judge 
 
Aardvark Excavating LLC,     For: Michael A. Harrington 
Respondent       Interim Commissioner  

 
OPINION AND ORDER 

 
Hearing held in Montpelier, Vermont on March 4, 2020 
Record closed on March 4, 2020 
 
APPEARANCES: 
 
Annika Green, Esq., for Petitioner  
William Hayes, pro se, for Respondent 
 
ISSUES PRESENTED: 
 

1. Did Respondent violate the terms of 21 V.S.A. § 687 by failing to secure workers’ 
compensation insurance coverage for its employees for the periods from March 13, 
2018 through March 21, 2018; July 11, 2018 through September 24, 2018; and 
January 14, 2019 through June 17, 2019? 
 

2. If so, what administrative penalty should be assessed? 
 
EXHIBITS: 
 
Petitioner’s Exhibit 1: Vermont Secretary of State’s listing for Aardvark Excavating 

LLC, June 7, 2019 
Petitioner’s Exhibit 2:   NCCI Proof of Coverage Database information for Aardvark 

Excavating LLC, June 7, 2019 
Petitioner’s Exhibit 3: NCCI Policy Database information for Aardvark Excavating 

LLC, July 18, 2019 
Petitioner’s Exhibit 4: Payroll records 
  
FINDINGS OF FACT: 
 
1. I take judicial notice of the Administrative Citation and Penalty issued against 

Respondent on August 14, 2019. 
 
2. Respondent is a Vermont limited liability company formed in January 2015 to engage 

in the excavating business.  William Hayes is the company’s owner.  Before forming 
the company, Mr. Hayes operated his excavating business as a sole proprietorship. 
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3. In June 2019, attorney Cassandra Edson, investigator for the Workers’ Compensation 
and Safety Division, undertook an investigation into whether Respondent was 
operating without workers’ compensation insurance.  Mr. Hayes cooperated with her 
investigation by participating in a telephone interview and providing payroll records.  
Ms. Edson testified at the hearing on Petitioner’s behalf.   

 
4. Based on Ms. Edson’s credible testimony and the information contained in Exhibits 2 

and 3, I find that Respondent failed to maintain workers’ compensation insurance for 
the following time periods, inclusive of end dates: 
 

March 13, 2018 through March 21, 2018 (First Gap Period - 9 days) 
July 11, 2018 through September 24, 2018 (Second Gap Period - 76 days) 
January 14, 2019 through June 17, 2019 (Third Gap Period - 155 days)  

 
Respondent therefore had no coverage for a total of 240 days.   
 

5. Each gap period came about because Respondent failed to pay the premium.      
 

6. Respondent’s payroll records show that it had employees during each gap period listed 
above, as follows: 
 

First Gap Period  4 employees 
Second Gap Period  3 employees 
Third Gap Period  5 employees 

 
7. By failing to provide insurance coverage on these employees for 240 days, 

Respondent avoided paying workers’ compensation insurance premiums in the amount 
of $5,525.16.   
 

8. Respondent periodically shopped for better insurance rates for its various policies, 
including vehicle insurance.  Sometimes the comparison-shopping process resulted in 
coverage gaps, but the evidence is insufficient to determine whether comparison 
shopping played a role in the workers’ compensation coverage gaps at issue here. 
 

9. Concerning the Third Gap Period, Respondent’s office manager did not pay the 
premium on time because his personal problems interfered with his job duties.  When 
Ms. Edson advised Mr. Hayes that the policy had lapsed in June 2019, Respondent 
promptly reinstated coverage, effective June 17, 2019.  Although there is no evidence 
that the Third Gap Period was intentional, Respondent could have prevented the gap 
with more vigilant business practices.  
 

10. Ms. Edson’s investigation found no record of any workplace injuries for this 
employer.  Mr. Hayes attributed the lack of reported injuries to his efforts in creating a 
safe workplace environment, and I find his testimony credible.  Nevertheless, even 
with an excellent safety program, an employee may still suffer a serious workplace 
injury.   
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11. Respondent did not have workers’ compensation insurance coverage in place shortly 
before the hearing.1  However, Mr. Hayes credibly testified that Respondent’s 
operations are seasonal and that it had no employees other than himself over the 
winter.2  Further, Petitioner did not offer into evidence any payroll records 
documenting that Respondent had employees in February or March 2020.  
Accordingly, I find that the lack of coverage shortly before hearing is not relevant to 
my determination.   
 

12. Petitioner issued an Administrative Citation and Penalty to Respondent on August 14, 
2019.  The citation proposed a penalty of $12,000.00 for Respondent’s failure to 
maintain workers’ compensation insurance for 240 days.     
 

13. Respondent filed a timely appeal.  Mr. Hayes acknowledges that Respondent failed to 
carry the required workers’ compensation insurance for 240 days, but he seeks a 
reduction of the penalty amount. 

 
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 
 
1. According to Vermont’s workers’ compensation statute, unless an employer is 

approved to self-insure, it must maintain workers’ compensation insurance coverage 
for its employees.  21 V.S.A. § 687; In re Chatham Woods Holdings, LLC, 2008 VT 
70, ¶ 3.   
 

2. Respondent failed to maintain the required coverage for the three gap periods 
identified above, a total of 240 days.  See Finding of Fact No. 4 supra.  Therefore, it 
violated the terms of 21 V.S.A. § 687. 
 

3. Failure to comply with § 687 carries a statutory penalty of up to $100.00 per day for 
the first seven days of violation and up to $150.00 per day thereafter.  The maximum 
statutory penalty for failing to have workers’ compensation insurance coverage for 
240 days is $35,650.00.3  See 21 V.S.A. § 692(a).  
 

4. The Commissioner has adopted Workers’ Compensation Rule 45 to implement the 
penalties provided for by statute.  Effective February 13, 2017, Rule 45 was revised to 
provide a formula for calculating penalties based on the annual North American 
Industrial Classification System (NAICS) code for the employer’s Industry Sector and 
the number of the employer’s prior offenses within the last three years. See Workers’ 
Compensation Rules 45.5510 – 45.5513.    
 

 
1 Ms. Edson checked the NCCI database on either February 28, 2020 or March 2, 2020 and discovered that 
Respondent had no workers’ compensation insurance on that date.  
 
2 Mr. Hayes, as a member of the LLC, was excluded from protection under the workers’ compensation statute.  
See Respondent’s Application to Exclude LLC Member from Workers’ Compensation Coverage (Form 29), 
approved April 6, 2015. 
 
3 (7 days x $100 per day) + (233 days x $150 per day) = $35,650.00. 
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5. Because Respondent engages in excavating, its NAICS Industry Sector Code is 23 
(Construction). See Workers’ Compensation Rule 45, Appendix. For employers in that 
Industry Sector, the Workers’ Compensation Rules provide penalties of $50.00 per 
day for each day without insurance for an initial violation. See Workers’ 
Compensation Rule 45.5513. The penalties for subsequent violations within a three-
year period are higher.4 
 

6. This is Respondent’s first violation.  A strict application of the formula set forth in 
Rule 45 would yield a maximum penalty of $12,000.00.5  See Rule 45.5513. Petitioner 
proposes the maximum penalty here.  
 

7. Pursuant to Workers’ Compensation Rules 45.5520 – 45.5550, however, the 
Commissioner has discretion to reduce the amount of any penalty assessed if the 
employer demonstrates any of the following: 

 
 That the failure to secure or maintain Workers’ Compensation insurance was 

inadvertent or the result of excusable neglect and was promptly corrected; 
 

 That the penalty amount significantly exceeds the amount of any premium 
expenditures that would have been paid if an insurance policy had been 
properly secured or maintained; or 

 
 That the small size of the employer and the non-hazardous nature of the 

employment presented minimal risk to employees. 
 

8. As to the first mitigation factor, Respondent did not demonstrate that its failure to 
secure coverage was inadvertent or the result of excusable neglect.  To the extent that 
it might have allowed a coverage gap while rate shopping, such a gap would be neither 
inadvertent nor excusable.  Although the office manager’s personal problems likely 
contributed to the Third Gap Period, those problems do not explain the prior gaps, nor 
do they excuse 240 days of non-coverage.  See Workers’ Compensation and Safety 
Div. v. Beezco, Inc. d/b/a The Hideaway at Cornerstone Commons, Docket No. 22-
10WCPen (July 22, 2011) (employer’s failure to pay premiums, while understandable, 
did not mitigate the penalty). 
 

9. As to the second mitigation factor, the $12,000.00 proposed penalty is more than two 
times the premium avoidance of $5,525.16.  I conclude that the proposed penalty 
significantly exceeds the amount of premium avoidance and, therefore, mitigation is 
available.  See Workers’ Compensation and Safety Div. v. Peter Leo Goldsmith, LLC, 
Docket No. 25-11WCPen (June 21, 2012) (proposed penalty of more than two times 
premium avoidance weighs in the employer’s favor for mitigation). 
 

 
4 If a second violation occurs within three years of the initial violation, the per day penalty shall be doubled. If a 
third violation occurs within three years of the initial violation, the penalty shall be assessed at the full statutory 
rate. Id.  
 
5 240 days × $50 per day = $12,000. 
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10. I do not find that any additional mitigation is warranted under the third mitigation 
factor. While Respondent is not a large employer, the construction industry is 
inherently dangerous; indeed, Respondent’s Industry Sector is in the highest risk 
category under Rule 45.5513. Despite Respondent’s safety record, there is no 
convincing evidence that would justify a conclusion that its business “presented 
minimal risk to employees.” Cf. Workers’ Compensation Rule 45.5550. 
 

11. Given the severe consequences that the employees of an uninsured employer may face 
in the event of injury, the penalty assessed for violation of 21 V.S.A. § 687 properly 
should act as both a punishment and a deterrent.  Peter Leo Goldsmith, LLC, supra; 
Workers’ Compensation and Safety Div. v. Essex Electric, LLC, Docket No. 08-12WC 
(November 28, 2012).  However, a penalty need not be the maximum penalty to 
ensure these goals.   
 

12. In Essex Electric, LLC, supra, the employer failed to maintain workers’ compensation 
insurance coverage for three years on certain employees.  The premium avoidance for 
those employees was $6,176.00, and the proposed penalty was $35,000.00.  Applying 
the second mitigating factor, the Commissioner imposed a penalty of $10,000.00.    
 

13. Respondent here avoided premiums of $5,525.16.  Applying the second mitigating 
factor and following the guidance of Essex Electric, LLC, I conclude that a penalty of 
$7,500.00 comports with the Department’s goals and represents a reasonable 
application of the discretion afforded by the statute and rules. 

 
ORDER: 
 
Based on the foregoing findings of fact and conclusions of law, for the violation alleged in 
Petitioner’s August 14, 2019 Administrative Penalty and Citation, Respondent is hereby 
assessed a penalty of $7,500.00. 
 
DATED at Montpelier, Vermont this 23rd day of March 2020. 
 
 
 
      _________________________________ 
      Michael A. Harrington 
      Interim Commissioner 
 
Appeal:  
 
Within 30 days after copies of this opinion have been mailed, Respondent may appeal to the 
Vermont Supreme Court.  3 V.S.A. § 815; V.R.C.P. 74.  If an appeal is taken, Respondent 
may request of the Vermont Department of Labor that this Order be stayed pending the 
outcome of the appeal.  No stay is in effect unless granted.   
 


