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Report Suspected Child Abuse & Neglect
1-800-649-5285

If you suspect a child is being abused or neglected, call Vermont’s Child Protection Line
to report it — 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. If the child is in immediate danger, dial 911
or the local police first. Then, call to make a report.

All Vermonters are encouraged to report their concerns about children’s safety. Mandated
reporters are legally required to report suspected child abuse and neglect within 24 hours.

To learn more, go to hitp://dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting.

ONLINE MANDATED REPORTER TRAINING

Our two-hour training for mandated reporters will teach you about the:
< Dynamics of child abuse and neglect
2 Responsibilities of mandated reporters in Vermont

< Role we all play in keeping children safe

Visit our website at the address below to access the training. Once you've
successfully completed the final exam, you’ll get a Certificate of Completion.

https://dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting/ mandated
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MESSAGE FROM FORMER DCF
COMMISSIONER KEN SCHATZ

As Vermont’s child welfare agency, we work to protect children

and support families. The COVID pandemic has made it especially
challenging to keep children healthy and safe —while also keeping
families connected. This is vital for families who are on track to safely
reunite. Our staff has done an incredible job during these difficult
times, and I am so grateful for their commitment to the children and families we serve.

After several years of caseloads going up, we are starting to see the numbers go down.
This is due to several factors, including:

1. Vermont's sustained efforts to treat the opioid epidemic.

2. Increases in Family Services staffing over the last few years.

3. The work of our community partners.

As a community, we have improved our approach to addressing the needs of families
and it shows. As the DCF Commissioner for the last six years, I am proud of our

staff, our partners, the work we do together, and our commitment to continuous
improvement.

As | prepare for retirement, I look back with pride at the support we’ve provided the
children and families we serve. While there will be challenges ahead, I am confident

the department will continue putting forward its best efforts to support children and
families during their most vulnerable moments.

It has been an honor to serve the people of Vermont as Commissioner of the Department
for Children and Families.

Thank you.

Ken Schatz, DCF Commissioner
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MESSAGE FROM THE FSD DEPUTY
COMMISSIONER

This year has been unlike any other in my lifetime. The COVID-19
pandemic has changed much of the world around us, including the
way we do our work in the Family Services Division. Our purpose,
however, has not changed. Our mission remains the same: To work
in partnership with families, advocates, communities, educators,
foster and kinship caregivers, law enforcement, service providers,
and others to increase safety and law abidance for Vermont
children and youth.

The pandemic has taught us valuable lessons that we must now incorporate into our
practice. For example, it has clearly shown us how critical our partners are to the
work that we do. We must continue strengthening the relationships we have with our
partners across the state.

In normal times, we rely on mandated reporters — like child care providers, educators,
health care professionals, and others —to have eyes on children and youth and report
any concerns to us. The closing of schools and other child and youth-serving programs
meant that many reporters were only seeing children remotely. As a result, we are
seeing a signifant decrease in the number of child abuse and neglect reports we receive
from mandated reporters. This decrease will be reflected in next year’s report.

I would like to highlight one current initiative: implementation of Act 201 (Raise the Age).
Starting July 1, 2020, most Vermont youth accused of breaking the law at age 18 will be:

* Prosecuted in the Family Division of Superior Court instead of the Criminal Division.

* Supervised and supported by the Family Services Division instead of the Department
of Corrections.

On July 1, 2022, the law will be extended to 19 year olds, bringing the upper age of
juvenile jurisdiction in Vermont to a youth’s 20th birthday.

We stand ready to provide families and youth with the supports and services they need
to be successful. We look forward to working with our partners to support children and
families living lives full of love and hope.

Christine Johnson, FSD Deputy Commissioner
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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

This report provides child protection data for calendar year 2019 in Vermont.
Here are the highlights:

2 20,078 reports were made to the Child Protection Line in 2019, 701 fewer than in 2018.

2 At least 78% of the reports made were from mandated reporters; at least 17% were
from non-mandated reporters.

2 Of the 20,078 reports received , we opened 4,606 child safety interventions:
= 2,640 investigations

= 1,966 assessments

2 At the conclusion of the 4,606 child safety interventions:

= 1,047 cases were opened for ongoing services

2 At the conclusion of the 2,640 investigations:

= 822 reports were substantiated

2 Based on the 822 substantiated reports, there were:
= 1,004 unique child victims
= 149 incidents of physical abuse
= 319 incidents of sexual abuse
= 80 incidents of risk of sexual abuse
= 475 incidents of risk of harm
=

34 incidents of emotional maltreatment/neglect
2 During the last quarter of 2019, there were:
= 1,169 children in DCF custody

= 751 children in the conditional custody of a parent, relative or other person known
to the child and family

= 413 families getting ongoing services after an investigation or assessment
determined there was a high to very high-risk of future maltreatment
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REPORTS OF SUSPECTED CHILD ABUSE & NEGLECT

We encourage all Vermonters to call our Child Protection Line if they are
concerned about a child’s safety and well-being— whether or not they are
mandated by law to do so. 1-800-649-5285 (24/7)

20,078 in 2019 Reports to the Child Protection Line

21,201 20,779
The number of reports 20,233 20,583 20,078

made to Vermont’s Child
Protection Line went down
for the second year in a row
— from a high 0f 21,201 in
2017 t0 20,078 in 2019.

o
By rE

2015 2016 2017 2018 2019

At least 78% of reports came from mandated reporters.
At least 17% of reports came from non-mandated reporters.

Reports Alleging Child Abuse and Neglect,
by Reporter Type (2019)

Unspecified ] 2%
Other Mandated __ 7%
Non-Mandated | 17%
Social Services __ 7%
Mental Health ] 13%
Medical __ 7%
Legal/Law Enforcement | 12%

Education 32%
Anonymous 3%

Learn more about mandated reporters at https;//dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting/mandated.
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FLOWCHART SHOWING WHAT HAPPENS TO REPORTS

May be
Intake Not |- > referred to
Report Accepted community
services
Accepted
Unsubstantiate, / \\
low or moderate dLOWtor o
risk — case q . modaderate ris
o Investigation Assessment [—>| _
closed within g Ca‘fr?‘ clzzed
60 days within
. / \/ \l \ to 60 days
Unsubstantiate, Substantiate, Substantiate, et o
high or very high low or high or very ligh or very hig
risk - case moderate high risk - risk- case opengd
opened for risk - case case opened for ongoing services
ongoing closed within for ongoing
services 60 days services

Case transferred to ongoing
Family Services worker

! N

Initial case plan due within
60 days of child(ren)
coming into custody

Substantiate
Report

Initial case plan due 60 days
from date of risk assessment
if no child(ren) in custody

l

Risk reassessment every
90 days from initial case plan

Due process,
right to appeal
substantiation

Child
Protection

Registry Low/moderate risk = case closed

High/very high risk = case remains open

To learn more about what happens to the reports we receive, visit our website at http:;//

dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting/mandated/what-happens.
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REPORTS ACCEPTED FOR INTERVENTION

4,606 Child Safety Interventions in 2019

Vermont law authorizes two types of intervention:
1. Assessments
2. Investigations

While the preferred intervention is usually assessment, an investigation is
legally required in certain situations. To learn more, read FSD Policy 52 -
Child Safety Interventions: Investigations & Assessments online at https://
dcf.vermont.gov/fsd/policies.

P

CALENDAR YEAR 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019
Calls to Vermont's Child 20,233 | 20,583 | 21,201 | 20,779 | 20,078
Protection Line
Total reports accepted for 5,630 | 5,509 | 5,527 | 5,326 | 4,606
intervention (28%) (27%) (26%) (25%) (22%)
- Investigations 2,634 2,835 3,054 3,173 2,640
- Assessments 2,996 2,674 2,473 2,153 1,966

¢ Child abuse assessments 1,618 1,421 1,351 1,130 1,117

¢ Family assessments 1,378 1,253 1,122 1,023 849
Outcomes of interventions:

- Investigations substantiated* 773 737 876 999 822
- Cases opened for services? 1,050 | 1,068 | 1,230 | 1,281 | 1,047

1 INVESTIGATIONS SUBSTANTIATED: A report is substantiated if the evidence found during the investigation
would lead a reasonable person to believe the child was abused or neglected.

2 CASES OPENED FOR SERVICES: A case is opened for ongoing services if, during any type of intervention,
the assessed risk of future maltreatment is determined to be high or very high.
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VICTIMS OF CHILD ABUSE & NEGLECT

The data in the table below is based on substantiated reports? of child abuse
and neglect. The number of unique child victims listed is an unduplicated
count. This means that each child victim is counted only once, regardless of the
number of times they were found to be victimized during the reporting year.

Unique Child Victims, 2006-2019
1,182
1,098
992 984 1,004
945
866 868
782
757
737

699 /24 713
3 S 8 3 = g 3 9 3 b 9 5 o] 9
;5 < 5 Q 5 5 5 5 Q 5 Q 5 Q 5

! When DCF investigates a report of child abuse or neglect, we must decide whether a reasonable
person would believe that it happened. If the answer is YES, the report is substantiated and the
person’s name is added to the Child Protection Registry - a database of all substantiated reports of
child abuse and neglect dating back to January 1, 1992.
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ONGOING FAMILY SERVICES CASELOAD

Our ongoing caseload includes the following types of cases:

2 Kids in DCF custody:

When a family court judge places a child in the temporary
custody of the Department for Children and Families because
of concerns about a child’s safety and well-being.

Kids in conditional custody:

When a family court judge places a child in the conditional
custody of a parent, relative or other person known to the
family and orders DCF to stay involved — to supervise,
provide services and ensure the child’s safety.

Families getting ongoing support:

When an investigation or assessment determines there’s a
high to very high risk of future maltreatment and a case is
opened for ongoing services.

Family Services Ongoing Caseload

point-in-time, Q4 annually
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VERMONT JUVENILE COURT DATA

Vermont court cases include two main categories of juvenile cases:

1. CHildren In Need of care and Supervision (CHINS), which includes children
who may have been abandoned, abused or neglected; beyond their parent’s
control; and truant.

2.Youth who committed a delinquent act.

The data in the table below comes from the Vermont Judiciary’s Annual Statistical
Report. To see the full reports, go to http://www.vermontjudiciary.org/about-
vermont-judiciary/court-statistics-and-reports.

STATE FISCAL YEAR FY2014 FY2015 FY2016 FY2017 FY2018 FY2019 FY2020
CHINS—abused or neglected 809 |1,065 1,066 | 921 | 1,100 | 897 710
CHINS—truant 123 112 137 165 183 130 92

CHINS—beyond parent’s control 93 84 85 65 75 68 55

Delinquency 668 704 738 705 884 708 626
Youthful offender 54 44 43 33 33 504* | 390
TOTAL 1,747 | 2,009 | 2,069 | 1,889 | 2,275 | 2,307 1,873

1. In 2016, the Vermont legislature changed the law to make youth 21 years of age or younger eligible for
youthful offender status when charged with a crime in Vermont.

This was done to:

< Bring the law more in line with science that shows youth in that age group don’t have fully developed
brains and are more amenable to treatment and rehabilitation.

< Avoid treating juveniles as adults, with the exception of the most serious offenses.

< Mitigate major consequences for youth charged in adult court (e.g., a public record, exclusion from the
military and ineligibility for student loans).

This change expanded the population eligible for youthful offender status, resulting in a significant increase
in the number of youthful offender cases starting July 1, 2018.
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ADDITIONAL CHILD PROTECTION DATA

Visit the DCF website for additional child protection data, including:
2 Annual child protection reports dating back to 2006
2 Profiles of interventions & outcomes by district, for 2014 to 2019
2 2019 data on:

= Reports substantiated by abuser-child relationship

= Reports substantiated by age of abuser

= Reports substantiated by gender of abuser

= Reports substantiated by gender of victim & type of abuse

= Reports substantiated by type of abuse

= Reports substantiated by victim’s age and type of abuse

https://dcf.vermont.gov/child-protection-data
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HELP PREVENT CHILD
ABUSE IN VERMONT

If you suspect that a child is
being abused or neglected,
call Vermont’s Child Protection Line
— 24 hours a day, 7 days a week —
to make a report.

1-800-649-5285

dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting
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