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Links to additional data and reports

< AHS Community Profiles: https://humanservices.vermont.gov/ahs community-profiles

< DCF Outcomes Report: http://dcf.vermont.gov/sites/dcf/files/DCE/budget/DCE-
Outcomes.pdf

< DCF Performance Scorecard: http://dcf.vermont.gov/scorecard

< DCF’s Family Services Division - Vermont’s Annual Progress & Services Report (2019):
http://dcf.vermont.gov/sites/dct/files/ESD/Docs/VT2019-APSR.pdf

Report suspected child abuse & neglect

If you suspect that a child is being abused or neglected, call Vermont’s Child Protection Line to
report it: 1-800-649-5285 (24 hours a day, 7 days a week).

http://dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting

Online mandated reporter training

Take this training to learn about the dynamics of child abuse and neglect, the responsibility of

mandated reporters and the role we all play in keeping children safe.

It takes about two hours to complete. Once you successfully complete the final exam, you'll

receive a certificate of completion.

https://goto.webcasts.com/starthere.jsp?ei=1087433
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MESSAGE FROM THE DCF COMMISSIONER

The continued impact of the opioid crisis in Vermont is reflected in
the ever-increasing number of total cases requiring the ongoing
involvement of our Family Services workers.

In 2017, there were:
< 25% more children in DCF custody than in 2013.

< 44% more families getting ongoing services after an investigation
or assessment determined there was a high to very high-risk of

future maltreatment.

< 100% more children in the conditional custody of a parent, relative or other person known to
the child and family, while DCF remained involved to supervise, provide services and
ensure children’s safety.

We continue to look for opportunities to prevent and address substance abuse in Vermont and
change this upward trend. I would like to highlight a few initiatives:

< The State is increasing access to medication-assisted treatment with an emphasis on helping
parents with young children.

< With the help of a $3 million-dollar federal grant, Lund is piloting home-based services for
families with young children who are at high risk of child abuse or neglect due to substance
use. The pilot will take place in Burlington and Newport in partnership with DCF, the
Department of Health, parent child centers, substance use treatment providers and others.

< The state is working to reform CHINS cases (e.g., child abuse/neglect, truancy and children
beyond parental control cases), which are overwhelming our entire child protection system
— from DCF to law enforcement, attorneys and the courts. The goal is to reduce the need for
court intervention using strategies such as regional and mobile models, judicial masters,
mediation and other alternative dispute resolution options.

Continuing high caseloads present significant capacity challenges for our staff. I am hopeful
that our ongoing efforts and the initiatives being implemented will result in a lower caseload
and lead to increased safety and stability for vulnerable children and families in Vermont.

I am proud of and thankful for all of our dedicated Family Services employees who do a
difficult job incredibly well and under very challenging circumstances.
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Ken Schatz, DCF Commissioner
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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

This report provides child protection data for calendar year 2017 in Vermont. Here are
some highlights:

< Reports rose slightly in 2017 with a record 21,201 calls made to the Child Protection Line.

> Atleast 68% of the calls were from mandated reporters.

< Of the 21,201 reports received!, we opened 5,527 child safety interventions:?

0 3,054 child abuse investigations

0 1,351 child abuse assessments

0 1,122 family assessments

< Thirty-one (31) interventions that began as child abuse assessments were later changed to
investigations, bringing the total investigations conducted in 2017 to 3,085.

< At the conclusion of the 3,085 child abuse investigations, we substantiated 876 reports. Based
on these substantiated reports, there were:

0 1,098 unique child victims

0 916 substantiated incidents of abuse:

145 of physical abuse
341 of sexual abuse

62 of risk of sexual abuse
341 of risk of harm?

27 of emotional maltreatment/neglect

< During the last quarter of 2017, there were:

0 1,252 children in DCF custody

0 612 children in the conditional custody of a parent, relative or other person known to the

child and family

o 573 families getting ongoing services after an investigation or assessment determined

there was a high to very high-risk of future maltreatment.

! Each report may include allegations about more than one incident of abuse and more than one child.

2 If we get five calls about the same child/incident, it counts as five reports but only one intervention.

3 What is called neglect in other states is captured largely in our risk-of-harm categories.



REPORTS TO VERMONT'’S CHILD PROTECTION LINE

Vermonters called the state’s Child Protection Line a record 21,201 times in 2017 to report
their concerns about children’s safety and well-being.

All Vermonters are encouraged to call the Child Protection Line if they have concerns about
children’s safety — whether they are mandated by law to do so or not.

We count all the calls we get, including;:
< Allegations that meet the legal definition of child abuse and neglect.

< Allegations that don't meet the legal definition of child abuse or neglect but raise concerns
about youth engaging in risky behaviors and children not receiving proper parental care.

< Multiple calls about the same child/incident made by different reporters.

Reports to the Child Protection Line
22,000 from 2013 to 2017
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MANDATED REPORTERS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT

At least 68% of the calls to the Child Protection Line were from mandated reporters; 17% from
hon-mandated reporters, 12% from unspecified callers and 3% from anonymous callers.

Reports Alleging Child Abuse and Neglect

by reporter type (2017)
Unspecified Anonymous
Other Mandated 12% 3% Education
3% 30%

Non-Mandated
17%

S

Social Services
6% Legal/Law
Enforcement
10%
Mental Health
12% Medical

7%

Mandated Reporters in Vermont

Mandated reporters are legally required (Title 33, Chapter 49) to report their suspicions to
Family Services within 24 hours. A mandated reporter is any:

= Health care provider, including any chiropractor, dentist, emergency medical personnel,
hospital administrator, hospital intern, licensed practical nurse, medical examiner, mental
health professional, osteopath, pharmacist, physician, physician assistant, psychologist,
registered nurse, resident physician, and surgeon

* |ndividual who is a) employed by a school district or an approved or recognized
independent school or b) contracted and paid by a school district or an approved or
recognized independent school to provide student services, including any school
superintendent, school principal, headmaster of an approved or recognized independent
school, school teacher, student teacher, school librarian, and school guidance counselor

= Agency of Human Services employee, contractor, or grantee who has contact with clients

= Camp administrator, counselor, and owner, including any residential and nonresidential
camp and recreational program

= Childcare worker, clergy member, police officer, probation officer and social worker



FLOWCHART
(what happens to reports)
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To learn more about what happens to the reports we receive, visit our website at
http://dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting/mandated/what-happens.




RESPONSE TO REPORTS

In 2017, we opened 5,527 child safety interventions: 3,054 child abuse investigations,
1,351 child abuse assessments and 1,122 family assessments.

CALENDAR YEAR 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017

Total calls to Vermont’s

Child Protection Line 17,458 19,288 20,233 20,583 21,201
Reports Accepted For:

- Child Abuse Investigation 2,657 2,877 2,634 2,835 3,054

- Child Abuse Assessment 1,409 1,688 1,618 1,421 1,351

- Family Assessment! 1,069 1,281 1,378 1,253 1,122
Total reports accepted 5,135 5,846 5,630 5,509 5,527
for intervention (30%) (30%) (28%) (27%) (26%)

Percent of Total Accepted Reports,
by type of intervention

Child Abuse Investigations Child Abuse Assessments Family Assessments
21% 22% 24% 23% 20.3%
27% 29% 20% 26% 24.4%
52% 49% 47% 51% 55.3%
2013 2014 2015 2016 2017

! Family assessments (authorized by Chapter 51 of Vermont law) may be used for allegations that don't meet the
legal definition of child abuse or neglect but do raise concerns about whether children are getting proper parental
care necessary for their well-being. This could include allegations that a parent is neglecting a child’s education, a
pregnant woman has a substantial history with DCF, a newborn has a positive toxicology screen for illegal
substances and a mother’s substance use during pregnancy.



REPORTS ACCEPTED BY INTERVENTION

Child Abuse Child Abuse Family ACRUIE
— Accepted for
District: Investigations Assessments Assessments Intervention
2016 ‘ 2017 2016 ‘ 2017 2016 ‘ 2017
Barre 339 374 153 147 140 95 632 616
Bennington 199 220 117 101 72 88 388 409
Brattleboro 160 167 84 77 144 125 388 369
Burlington 484 547 280 236 187 192 951 975
Hartford 167 193 80 91 76 76 323 360
Middlebury 118 128 52 44 65 46 235 218
Morrisville 110 136 51 50 51 42 212 228
Newport 183 213 90 81 64 66 337 360
Rutland 292 324 160 146 130 103 582 573
Springfield 171 196 103 101 90 61 364 358
St. Albans 381 347 160 177 160 162 701 686
St. Johnsbury 148 158 78 92 71 56 297 306
Out of State 83 51 13 8 3 10 99 69
Statewide 2,835 3,054 1421 | 1,351 | 1,253 1,122 5,509 5,527

! District refers to the Agency of Human Services district where the child’s caregiver lives.
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OUTCOMES OF INTERVENTIONS

=> Investigations: At the end of the 3,085 investigations conducted (3,054 that began as

investigations + 31 that began as assessments but were later changed to investigations), 876
of the reports were substantiated’.

=> Investigations & Assessments: At the end of the 5,527 total interventions, 1,230 cases were

opened for ongoing services based on a high or very high risk of future maltreatment.

Investigations Cases Opened for

District Substantiated Ongoing Services
2016 2017 2016 2017

Barre 64 109 122 115
Bennington 67 67 108 148
Brattleboro 59 30 79 68
Burlington 96 145 218 241
Hartford 46 56 42 45
Middlebury 56 55 94 80
Morrisville 32 50 32 48
Newport 37 50 27 38
Rutland 56 65 83 103
Springfield 50 58 83 104
St. Albans 112 120 141 188
St. Johnsbury 42 47 37 47
Out of State 20 24 2 5
Statewide 737 876 1,068 1,230

1 Substantiated means the evidence would lead a reasonable person to believe the child was abused or neglected.
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DATA FROM SUBSTANTIATED REPORTS

The data in the tables that follow are based on the 876 reports that were substantiated.
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Reports Substantiated by Type of Abuse, 2017

Since a report can be substantiated for more than one type of abuse,

1,098
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2000 I 2

2016 I
2017 [N

2015 I

2011
2012
2013
2014

the numbers below reflect a total greater than the 876 reports substantiated in 2017.

District Physical Sexual Risk of Risk of Emotional/
Abuse Abuse Sexual Abuse Harm Neglect
Barre 11 28 3 41 5
Bennington 14 20 12 31 3
Brattleboro 8 16 3 12 4
Burlington 28 56 6 53 4
Hartford 3 9 3 5 1
Middlebury 10 29 5 18 0
Morrisville 12 13 0 14 1
Newport 3 23 1 12 2
Rutland 16 15 4 22 1
Springfield 6 15 2 18 1
St. Albans 10 37 14 41 1
St. Johnsbury 5 16 3 14 0
Out of State 19 64 6 60 4
Total Statewide 145 (15.8%) 341 (37.2%) 62 (6.8%) 341 (37.2%) 27 (3.0%)
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REPORTS SUBSTANTIATED BY AGE & GENDER OF VICTIM, 2017

The data below represents the age and gender of the victims of substantiated abuse or neglect.
Note: a child is represented more than once if he or she suffered more than one type of abuse or was
involved in more than one substantiated report during the year.

Age Percent  Physical Sexual SexlziaslkA(:)fuse Risk of Harm EI\:r?f':?ocr':g I

<1 5.6% 9 2 3 48 2

1 6.5% 10 7 7 48 2

2 5.2% 7 1 9 38 4

3 5.5% 4 3 4 50 1

4 5.9% 10 8 4 41 4

5 5.3% 12 6 7 33 2

6 5.1% 7 14 3 31 3

7 5.6% 13 7 5 37 2

8 5.3% 10 8 5 35 2

9 5.7% 9 15 7 33 1

10 4.3% 9 14 3 21 2

11 2.7% 5 7 3 15 1

12 5.0% 11 18 5 22 1

13 6.3% 13 34 3 20 1

14 8.2% 9 61 5 17 1

15 8.8% 12 67 4 13 4

16 5.6% 7 47 4 5 1

17 3.3% 2 29 2 4 1

TOTAL 100% 159 348 83 511 35
Gender

Male 42.4% 89 62 47 267 17

Female 57.6% 70 286 36 244 18

TOTAL 100% 159 348 83 511 35
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REPORTS SUBSTANTIATED BY AGE & GENDER OF ABUSER, 2017

The data below represents the age and gender of substantiated abusers. An abuser may be
represented more than once if more than one type of abuse was substantiated.

Age Physical  Sexual  ( NoNO  RiskofHarm I8t
<20 4 123 3 9 1
20-29 43 71 18 116 6
30 -39 65 38 19 164 17
40 - 49 27 31 8 48 7
50 - 59 10 25 8 14 1
60+ 2 18 1 6 0
Unknown 2 24 0 2 0
Gender
Female 65 10 10 159 22
Male 86 313 47 200 10
Unspecified 2 7 0 0 0
REPORTS SUBSTANTIATED BY ABUSER-CHILD RELATIONSHIP, 2017
RELATIONSHIP  Physical  Sexual SexTaslkAfuse RI_::":n‘if E'\::ﬂf:r:g :
Parent 131 23 49 492 41
?’taerzrr)l:rse;;/rtner 26 21 15 93 1
Foster Parent 1 0 1 4 2
Sibling 1 26 3 4 0
Other Relative 6 35 18 15 2
Neighbor/Friend 0 137 17 5 0
Other Known 3 48 2 6 0
Stranger 0 50 1 0 0
Unspecified 13 291 0 12 1

! Includes people found to have possession of online child pornography
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ONGOING FAMILY SERVICES CASELOAD

Our ongoing caseload includes the following types of cases:

< Kids in DCF custody: when a Family Court judge places a child in the temporary custody of
the Department for Children and Families because of concerns about the child’s safety and
well-being.

< Kids in conditional custody: when a Family Court judge places a child in the conditional
custody of a parent, relative or other person known to the child and family and orders DCF to
remain involved — to supervise, provide services and ensure the child’s safety. To keep
children with their families, judges are increasingly ordering conditional custody instead of
DCEF custody.

< Families getting ongoing support: when an investigation or assessment determines there’s a
high to very high-risk of future maltreatment, a case is opened for ongoing services and the
case is transferred to an ongoing worker.

Family Services Ongoing Caseload
point-in-time, Q4 annually

B Kids in DCF Custody
m Kids in Conditional Custody
= Families Getting Ongoing Support

(q)]
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Child abuse and neglect definitions

Vermont law (33.V.S.A. 49, § 4912) defines an “abused or neglected child” as:

one whose physical health, psychological growth and development or welfare is
harmed, or is at substantial risk of harm, by the acts or omissions of his or her parent
or other person responsible for the child's welfare. It also means a child who is
sexually abused or at substantial risk of sexual abuse by any person and a child who
has died as a result of abuse or neglect.

Harm: can occur by abandonment, emotional maltreatment, neglect, physical injury
or sexual abuse.

Risk of harm: means a significant danger that a child will suffer serious harm other
than by accidental means, which would be likely to cause physical injury or sexual
abuse.

Emotional maltreatment: a pattern of malicious behavior, which results in impaired
psychological growth and development.

Neglect: failure to supply a child with adequate food, clothing, shelter or health care.

Physical Injury: death, permanent or temporary disfigurement, or impairment of any
bodily organ or function other than by accidental means.

Sexual abuse: any act or acts by any person involving sexual molestation or
exploitation of a child including incest, prostitution, rape, sodomy, lewd and lascivious
conduct involving a child, human trafficking, sexual assault, voyeurism, luring a child
or obscenity. It also includes the aiding, abetting, counseling, hiring, or procuring of a
child to perform or participate in any photograph, motion picture, exhibition, show,
representation, or other presentation which, in whole or in part, depicts a sexual
conduct, sexual excitement or sadomasochistic abuse involving a child as well as the
viewing, possessing, or transmitting child pornography, with the exclusion of the
exchange of images between mutually consenting minors, including the minor whose
image is exchanged.

For detailed definitions, read Policy 50: Child Abuse and Neglect Definitions
online at http://dcf.vermont.gov/sites/dcf/files/FSD/Policies/50.pdf.
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