Frequently Asked Questions Childcare Pandemic EBT (P-EBT)

2022-2023 School Year (July 31, 2023)

Q1: What is Childcare P-EBT?

A: It is a temporary food benefit approved by the federal government to help households with children under 6 years old during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Q2: Who is eligible for Childcare P-EBT benefits?

A: Vermont households receiving 3SquaresVT benefits with children under the age of six. Childcare P-EBT benefits will be issued for each month beginning September 2022 through May 11, 2023 to eligible households. Childcare P-EBT benefits end on May 11 due to the expiration of the federal public health emergency.

Q3: How much is the Childcare P-EBT benefit?

A: The childcare P-EBT benefit is:

- \$34.79 per child per month for September 2022 January 2023,
- \$30.63 per child per month for February 2023 April 2023, and
- \$15.75 per child for May.

Q4: Is there a Summer Childcare P-EBT benefit?

A: Because the federal public health emergency ended on May 11, there will not be a summer childcare P-EBT benefit. Federal law does not allow Vermont to issue a summer childcare P-EBT benefit when the public health emergency has expired.

Q5: When will Childcare P-EBT benefits be issued?

A: The first round of benefits (for September 2022 – January 2023) will be issued in late April 2023. Children eligible for the P-EBT Childcare benefit will receive one payment for the benefit months of September through January for every month the household received 3SquaresVT benefits.

Benefits for February – May 11 are planned to be issued in late August.

Q6. How do I find out if my household is eligible?

A: Economic Services Division (ESD) will determine if your child is eligible, based on the criteria above. If you are eligible, you'll get a letter from ESD that explains how and when you'll get the benefit.

Q7: If we are eligible, how will we receive these benefits?

A: Childcare P-EBT benefits are issued on the EBT card that was issued to your household for your 3SquaresVT benefit.

Q8: Custody for my child is split between two households. Who gets the benefit?

A: The benefit will be sent to the adult who is listed as the 3SquaresVT head of household by ESD.

Q9: What can I buy with this benefit?

A: See the <u>list of eligible food items</u> on the USDA website.

Q10: Where can I use my EBT card?

A: You can use it to buy food at any location that accepts 3SquaresVT. This includes grocery stores, supermarkets, convenience stores, and many farmers markets in Vermont. Learn more on DCF's <u>EBT web page</u>.

Q11: I don't have children in childcare. Do I get this benefit?

A: Yes. All children under the age of six and who are receiving 3SquaresVT are eligible.

Q12: I have other children older than six. Are they eligible for the childcare P-EBT benefit?

A: No. The benefit is only available to children who are receiving 3SquaresVT and are under the age of six. Please see the School P-EBT FAQs for more information about benefits available for school-age children.

Q13: What if I don't want this benefit?

A: Participation is voluntary. If you choose not to participate, don't use the extra benefits issued on your 3SquaresVT EBT card.

Q14: Will P-EBT benefits expire if they aren't spent?

A: Yes. P-EBT benefits will expire if the card is not used within 274 days.

Q15: I have more questions. Where can I learn more?

A: Go to https://dcf.vermont.gov/esd/P-EBT or call 1-800-479-6151 option 7 for more information.



