Minutes of the Cross-Sector Mitigation Subcommittee Vermont Climate Council 12-13-23

Attendees

Rich Cowart, Co-Chair, Subcommittee TJ Poor, Co-Chair, Subcommittee Adam Sherman, Subcommittee Member Bram Kleppner, Subcomittee Member Christine Donovan, Subcommittee Member Dave Farnsworth, Subcommittee Member Gina Campoli, Subcommittee Member Johanna Miller, Subcomittee Member Liz Miller, Subcommittee Member Megan O'Toole, Subcommittee Member Andrea Wright, Subcommittee Member Brian Woods, Agency of Natural Resources Jane Lazorchak, Agency of Natural Resources William (Billy) Coster, Agency of Natural Resources Collin Smythe, Agency of Natural Resources Marion Wolz, Agency of Natural Resources

- 1. Potential Transportation Recommendations Developed by the Subcommittee's Transportation Task Force
 - a. Johanna Miller summarized the most recent document containing "Potential Transportation Recommendations" developed by the Subcomittee's Transportation Task Force for review, discussion, and vote by the Subcommittee. A previous draft of the document was discussed at the Subcommittee's meeting on November 30, 2023. The revised document discussed at this meeting incorporates changes and enhancements agreed to by the Transportation Task Force in collaboration with a variety of state staff (informed by discussion at the prior Subcommittee meeting).
 - b. The document and its recommendations were approved by the Subcommittee by consensus.
 - c. The document will be provided to the Climate Council for review and discussion at their next meeting, with the anticipation that the Council will likely vote on the document (or a revision of the document) at their January 2024 meeting.
- 2. Public Comment There was no public comment.
- 3. Next Subcommittee Meeting Thursday, December 21 from noon to 2 pm ET.
 - a. TJ Poor offered to provide at the meeting an overview of key thermal and electric sector analyses and related work completed by the Public Service Department (in collaboration with others) during 2023, to help inform future Subcommittee areas of focus and activities.

4. Adjournment - The meeting adjourned at 12:23 pm.