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 This presentation is provided for 
informational purposes only and includes 
management tips.

 It is not a how-to guide for evicting your 
tenants.

 Landlords have legal exposure when tenants 
make claims against them.

 Please seek legal advice before taking any 
action against your tenants to ensure that 
your rights are protected.* 

*A legal resource guide is included at the 
end of the presentation



 This presentation is provided for 
informational purposes only and includes tips 
for dealing with difficult situations.

 It is not a how-to guide for not paying your 
rent.

 Tenants have legal exposure when landlords 
make claims against them.

 Please seek legal advice before taking any 
action to withhold rent to ensure that your 
rights are protected.* 

*A legal resource guide is included at the 
end of the presentation



 The eviction process involves two steps:
◦ 1)  Landlord sends Tenant a termination notice for 

nonpayment of rent.

◦ 2)  If the tenant fails to pay or vacate within the 
time frame outlined in the notice, the notice can 
only be enforced by a court eviction process.

 A nonpayment notice can be cured (i.e. 
stopped) by the payment of rent.



 A termination notice has statutory requirements.

 The notice must:
◦ Be in writing and hand-delivered or mailed to the tenant (email, 

text messages, or Facebook messages do not comply with the 
statute)

◦ Be received by the tenant
◦ Give the tenant at least 14 days to pay the rent (not including the 

day the notice was given)
◦ Include the specific amount of back rent that is owed (no late fees, 

no unpaid utilities, no unpaid security deposit)
◦ Tell the tenant if they pay the rent the notice is cured

 A termination notice that does not comply with Vermont 
statute can be the reason a court case is dismissed.



 Landlord sends tenant a nonpayment of rent 
termination notice, the tenant has failed to pay 
or move - what is next?

 The notice can only be enforced through a court 
action at the Vermont Superior Court, Civil 
Division.

 An eviction (also called an ejectment) action is 
filed with the court in the county where the 
tenant resides.



 Plaintiff - The party who initiates the lawsuit.

 Defendant - The party who is being sued.

 Summons - The legal document that informs a 
Defendant that they are being sued and what 
actions they need to take (i.e. file an Answer).

 Complaint - The legal document that describes 
who the parties are, where the property is 
located, what the issues are between the parties, 
and what relief the plaintiff is seeking.



 Affidavit - A legal document where someone 
attests under oath that certain things are true.

 Motion - A document filed with the court 
requesting that the court take some action.

 Writ of Possession - The document issued by 
the court that gives the Sheriff the authority to 
remove the tenant from the property and put the 
landlord back into possession of the rental unit.

 Merits Hearing (Damages Hearing) - The hearing 
where both parties put on their evidence in the 
case. 



 A court eviction is started by filing legal documents 
called a Summons and Complaint with the court and 
by paying a $265 filing fee.
◦ Filing Fee is accurate as of 8/2015.  The Court increases 

filing fees occasionally.

 At the time a case is filed, the landlord can request a 
Rent Escrow Hearing by filing a motion and affidavit.
◦ If this hearing is requested , the court clerk will issue a 

notice of hearing.

 The Summons, Complaint, Rent Escrow Motion, 
Affidavit, Notice of Hearing, Written Lease Agreement 
(if there is one), and Termination notice must be 
served on the Tenant by the County Sheriff.

 The cost for having these documents served is $50 per person plus 
mileage. 



 Once the tenant is served with the court documents 
by the sheriff, the tenant has 20 days to respond (or 
Answer) the Complaint.  If a rent escrow hearing is 
set by the court , the tenant must be served at least 
10 days prior to the hearing.

 Usually the rent escrow hearing is held pretty close to 
date by which the tenant has to respond.

 The court process is designed for the landlord to end 
up with two items: 1) possession of their unit and 2) 
a Judgment Order for any money that the court 
determines is owed to them.*

*If a tenant has legitimate Habitability or 
Retaliation claims against the landlord, this 

outcome might be different



 If the tenant owes rent, the landlord can request 
that the court schedule a Rent Escrow Hearing

 At this hearing, the court will determine the 
following:
◦ How much the rent amount is
◦ Whether or not there is back rent owed (they won't 

necessarily decide how much back rent is owed)

 Once those are established, the court can issue a 
Rent Escrow Order.
◦ This Order requires that the tenants pay their rent to the 

court as long as the eviction process continues.
◦ If the tenant fails to pay rent as ordered by the court, a 

Writ of Possession may be issued.



◦ How much rent can the Court order the tenant to 
pay under the Rent Escrow Order?

 The Court can order the Tenant to pay any rent that has 
accrued since the case was filed with the court.

 The Court has the discretion to order a lesser payment by 
the tenant, or to allow the amount to be paid in 
installments.

 The Court also has the ability to order only future 
payments of rent (i.e. for the next month). 

 The Court can reduce the amount of monthly rent the 
tenant has to pay if they make credible habitability claims.

 If the tenant fails to appear, the landlord can request that 
the first payment be "X" number of days after service of 
the order.



 What happens if the tenant does not show up 
for this hearing?
◦ The court will issue the rent escrow order
◦ You must have the sheriff serve the order on the 

tenant for it to be enforceable

 What happens if your tenant pays pursuant to 
the order (i.e. when does the landlord receive 
the money)?
◦ Unless the parties agree otherwise, the court holds 

onto the money paid into court until there is a final 
hearing in the case.



◦ What happens if the tenant does not pay?
 The landlord needs to file a motion and affidavit 

with the court requesting that the court issue the 
Writ of Possession for the tenant's failure to pay.

 The court issues the Writ of Possession

 The landlord has the sheriff serve the Writ of 
Possession on the Tenant

 The sheriff puts the landlord back in possession 
no sooner than five (5) business days after service 
of the Writ. 



 The Defendant owes money, how do I obtain a 
Judgment Order?
◦ If a Defendant fails to Answer the Complaint, the Plaintiff 

can file for a Default Judgment.  This request is done 
through a Motion and affidavit of amounts owed.

◦ If the Defendant Answered the Complaint, the Court will 
need to set a final damages hearing to issue a judgment 
order and release any money paid into the court's 
escrow account.

 A final damages hearing is where you testify about what 
amounts are owed to you and submit any invoices for items 
you are claiming the other party owes you.



 The Sheriff has served the Writ of Possession, 
now what?
◦ When the Sheriff serves the Writ of Possession on 

the Defendant, the Sheriff will give the Defendant a 
lock-out date.

 The lock-out date will be no sooner than 5 business 
days (for a failure to pay rent into court) or no sooner 
than 10 business days (final judgment).

◦ If the Defendant does not vacate, the Sheriff will 
return to the property and keep the peace while the 
landlord changes the locks on the unit.



 The Lock-out has happened, but the tenant 
left personal property behind.

◦ Pursuant to Vermont Statute (12 V.S.A. Section 
4854a), a Landlord may dispose of any items left 
behind when the following two criteria are met:

 15 days has past from the service of the Writ of 
Possession AND

 The landlord has been restored possession of the unit. 
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 For landlords, being able to count on the prompt 
payment of rent by tenants is one of the most 
important priorities and also one of the most 
difficult.

 Adequately screen potential applications, require 
at least 2 landlord references and actually call 
those references

 Use a written lease agreement - go over the lease 
terms with your prospective tenant.  Simply 
having a conversation up front allows you to 
prevent issues down the road.



 Take your time when you are renting a unit.  
It is cheaper for a unit to stay vacant, than it 
is to deal with a tenant who stops paying the 
rent.

 Take tenant complaints about the condition 
seriously.  Communication is a two-way 
street, if you are not responsive to issues that 
tenants raise with you, you may experience 
the same attitude regarding rent payments.



 The eviction process involves two steps:
◦ 1)  The tenant must receive a termination notice.

◦ 2)  If the tenant fails to pay or vacate within the 
timeframe outlined in the notice, the notice can 
only be enforced by a court eviction process.

 Do not delay sending your tenant a 
nonpayment of rent notice.  This type of 
notice can be cured by the payment of rent.



 Please seek legal advice prior to sending any 
termination notice if any of the following 
scenarios apply:

◦ Your tenants have made or are making complaints about 
the condition of the rental unit.

◦ Your tenant is making complaints about violations of 
their rights.

◦ Your unit has recently been inspected by code 
enforcement, fire safety, town health officer or other 
inspector.

◦ Your tenant has made a reasonable accommodation 
request.

◦ Your tenant is involved in organizing, or has joined a 
tenant association.



◦ Found an attorney, but can't afford to pay 
the legal fees?

 Ask the attorney if they: 

 Will do a payment plan

 Take credit cards

 Will agree to cap the amount of legal fees 
charged (if on an hourly basis)

 Will handle the matter for a flat rate



 Vermont Apartment Owners Association, LLC
◦ Has form termination notices for members

◦ Annual membership fee is $185.00 as of 3/31/15

◦ www.vtlandlord.com

◦ 802-985-2764

 Lawyer Referral Service
◦ Attorneys provide 30 minutes of consultation for 

$25

◦ 1-800-639-7036

http://www.vtlandlord.com


 Lawyer Referral Service
◦ Attorneys provide 30 minutes of consultation for $25
◦ 1-800-639-7036

 Legal Clinics - Open to anyone
◦ Caledonia County Legal Clinic - 802-748-6600
◦ Community Restorative Justice Center (Caledonia) -

802-748-2977
◦ Lamoille County Legal Clinic - 802-253-7165
◦ Rutland Pilot Project - 802-223-2020
◦ Washington County Legal Clinic - 802-479-4205
◦ South Royalton Legal Clinic - 802-831-1500



 Legal Clinics - Low Income
◦ Bennington County Legal Assistance Project  

 802-447-8500

◦ Vermont Volunteer Lawyers Project (statewide)
 800-639-8857 x118

◦ Windsor/Orange Legal Assistance Project
 802-223-2020

◦ Windham County Legal Assistance Project
 802-223-2020
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 If you have been given a termination notice or 
been served a Summons by a Sheriff, it is a 
serious business.

 If you don’t do your part in the process, you 
will lose in court by “default”.

 Not picking up certified mail or hiding from 
the Sheriff only drags out the process, the law 
allows options for the landlord to continue 
without your cooperation.

 Take it seriously, get help from legal counsel.



 Vermont Tenants is a tenants rights 
organization, OF COURSE we believe in your 
right to a day in court!

 We also believe that you need to make an 
INFORMED decision on whether or not to go 
to court.

 Here are things to consider:



 If you receive a notice to vacate for non-payment 
of rent, you have the right to “cure” your tenancy 
by paying the amount of rent past due within 14 
days of the notice.  The notice MUST inform you of 
this right.

 If you do not pay within the time frame, the 
landlord can proceed to court.

 In an eviction for any reason, if you lose in court, 
you can be held liable for legal fees and the 
eviction is on your record.

 If you have been “withholding rent” due to 
problems in your unit, you must still have the 
money!



 The problem that led to you withholding must 
present an imminent risk to your health or safety.

 The problem must be a physical fault in the unit, 
not an issue with neighbors or a bad relationship 
with the landlord.

 You must have given your landlord written notice 
of the problem and allowed them a reasonable 
period of time to fix it.

 You MUST put the money aside!



• At the time a case is filed, the landlord can 
request a Rent Escrow Hearing by filing a 
motion and affidavit.

• At this hearing, the landlord will ask that judge 
order you to pay back rent from the time the 
case is filed, and as new rent comes due, into a 
court account.

• If this hearing is requested , the court clerk will 
issue a notice of hearing.

• DO NOT skip this hearing!
• The judge will almost always grant the request.
• If you do not pay into court as ordered, the 

landlord can get a Writ of Possession.

RENT ESCROW HEARINGS



AVOIDING THE SHERIFF WON’T HELP

• The landlord can go back to court and get 
either:

A Waiver of Service, allowing them to mail 
it to you.

Or, a “Tack Order”, allowing the Sheriff to 
tack it on your door.



ONCE YOU HAVE BEEN SERVED

• You must file an “Answer” with the Court.

This is your side of the story.

Vermont Legal Aid will help you with this 
if you are eligible.

• You must attend all hearings.

You can lose by “Default” if you do not.



YOU MAY HAVE THE OPTION TO FILE A COUNTERSUIT

• If you have been withholding rent due to 
conditions in your rental, you can file a counter 
suit – you have to have documentation and have 
taken the correct steps prior to withholding.

• The law also allows for countersuit in instances 
of Fair Housing Law violations and Illegal 
Retaliation.



IF YOU ARE ANYWHERE IN THE LEGAL EVICITION PROCESS, YOU 
NEED LEGAL ADVICE AND HELP.

DO NOT WAIT TO CALL.

Vermont Legal Aid – 1-800-889-2047
The Lawyer Referral Service – 1-800-639-7036

Legal Clinics - Open to anyone
Caledonia County Legal Clinic - 802-748-6600
Community Restorative Justice Center (Caledonia) - 802-748-2977
Lamoille County Legal Clinic - 802-253-7165
Rutland Pilot Project - 802-223-2020
Washington County Legal Clinic - 802-479-4205
South Royalton Legal Clinic - 802-831-1500

Legal Clinics - Low Income
Bennington County Legal Assistance Project  802-447-8500
Vermont Volunteer Lawyers Project (statewide) 800-639-8857 x118
Windsor/Orange Legal Assistance Project  802-223-2020
Windham County Legal Assistance Project  802-223-2020


