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VHIP How To 

The Vermont Housing Improvement Program (VHIP) provides rental property owners up to 
$50,000 per unit to cover the costs of bringing vacant and blighted rental units up to Vermont 
Rental Housing Health Code guidelines or to create new Accessory Dwelling Units (ADU). This 
program is designed to address two critical issues in the state, the declining quality of rental 
units and the homeless assistance programs that often struggle to find suitable housing for their 
clients. 

This resource guide provides information on every step of enrolling in the VHIP program, from 
deciding if VHIP is the right fit for your project, submitting an application, completing the project, 
to maintaining compliance with the program requirements once your unit is complete. 

Decide if VHIP is a Good Fit for Your Project 
Based on the type of project, property owners are eligible to receive up to: 

• $30,000 per unit for 0-2 bedroom units; 
• $50,000 per unit for 3+ bedroom units; 
• $50,000 per new unit creation; or 
• $50,000 for the creation of new Accessory Dwelling Units (ADUs). 

VHIP-related expenses will be reimbursed at four different points in the project, so it is important 
to know you will be responsible for paying the costs upfront. This means you will need to have 
some capital upfront, or get a loan, to cover some of the costs until you receive reimbursement 
for the expenses. To learn more about this process, review the section on grant disbursement.  

To receive VHIP funding, applicants must agree to: 

• Provide a 20% match of the grant funds, with the option for an in-kind match for unbilled 
services or owned materials; 

• Complete the project within 18 months of signing the grant agreement; 
• Rent VHIP units at or below HUD Fair Market Rent for the area for at least 5 years; and 
• Work with Coordinated Entry Lead Organizations to find suitable renters exiting 

homelessness for at least 5 years (ADU development is exempt from this requirement). 

Approved applicants will be required to sign a Rent Stabilization Covenant outlining the 
requirement to maintain a rental rate at or below HUD Fair Market Rent. Now that you know the 
program requirements, you can decide if VHIP is a good fit for your project.  
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Using VHIP for Accessory Dwelling Units (ADU) 
An Accessory Dwelling Unit (ADU) is a smaller, independent dwelling unit that is located on the 
same lot as an existing single-family home. Vermont’s law on equal treatment of housing and 
town bylaws requires municipalities to allow homeowners to add one ADU to their house as a 
permitted use as long as certain conditions are met. To qualify as an ADU, the existing single-
family unit must be owner-occupied and their primary residence. 

ADUs can take several forms, as depicted in the image below. For example, an ADU may be 
located on a separate floor, in a garage, a basement, an addition, or in a detached unit, like a 
converted carriage barn. 

 

Adapted from: Wake County North Carolina. (2023). Ready to Apply for an ADU. https://www.wake.gov/departments-
government/planning-development-inspections/inspections-permits/accessory-dwelling-units/ready-apply-adu 

ADU must be a standalone unit, including their own lockable entrance, kitchen and bathroom. 
For further guidance on ADUs, check the following resource ADU Information. 

If you are looking for additional financing for an ADU check out these local lenders who are 
aware of the VHIP program and want to work with clients on financing. 

• National Bank of Middlebury 
• Peoples Trust Company 
• The Bank of Bennington 

 

An important difference when applying for VHIP funds to create an ADU is that these 
projects are exempt from the requirement to work with a Coordinated Entry organization 
to find a tenant.  

  

https://outside.vermont.gov/agency/ACCD/ACCD_Web_Docs/Housing/Funding%26Incentives/VHIP/ADU-Information.pdf
https://nbmvt.com/
https://www.ptcvt.com/
https://thebankofbennington.com/
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Connect with the local Homeownership Center 
The first step in enrolling in VHIP is connecting with your area's Homeownership Center (HOC). 
Select the appropriate HOC based on where the property you hope to rehab or create is 
located. The HOCs will have copies of the VHIP application on their website and can provide 
you with application assistance.  

 

Counties Served by the HOCs: 
• RuralEdge - Caledonia, Essex, and Orleans 
• Champlain Housing Trust– Chittenden, Franklin, and Grand Isle  
• Neighborworks of Western Vermont– Addison, Bennington, and Rutland 
• Downstreet Housing and Community Development–Lamoille, Orange, and Washington 
• Windham & Windsor Housing Trust – Windham, and Windsor 

RuralEdge 
48 Elm Street, PO Box 259 

Lyndonville, VT 05851 
(802) 535-3555 | Website 

Champlain Housing Trust 
88 King Street, Burlington, VT 05401 

(802) 862-6244 | Website 

Downstreet Housing & Community 
Development 

22 Keith Ave, Barre, VT 05641 
(802) 476-4493 | Website 

NeighborWorks of Western Vermont 
10 Marble Street, West Rutland, VT 05777 

(802) 438-2303 | Website 

Windham & Windsor Housing Trust 
68 Birge Street, Brattleboro, VT 05301 

(802) 254-4604 | Website 

https://www.getahome.org/
https://www.nwwvt.org/
https://downstreet.org/
https://www.homemattershere.org/rehousing-recovery-program-addressing-vermonts-housing-shortage-during-covid-and-beyond/
https://ruraledge.org/vhip
https://www.getahome.org/vermont-housing-improvement-program/
https://downstreet.org/vhip
https://www.nwwvt.org/vhip-rental-repair/
https://www.homemattershere.org/rental-rehab/
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Submit the VHIP Application 
Before beginning your VHIP application, make sure you are using the correct form. Since ADUs 
funded through VHIP have slightly different requirements than other projects, they have a 
separate ADU-specific application. All other projects will complete the general VHIP application 
(rehabilitation of existing units or creation of new units). 

Complete applications will include: 

1) Completed VHIP Eligibility Application Form, signed by the Applicants/Property Owners 
2) Copy of Property Insurance 
3) Copy of the Tax Bill and Deed (for each property if applying of multiple unit) 
4) Standard Lease Agreement 
5) Completed W-9 form 
6) Scopes of work and budget for each project 
7) Copy of Contractor contracts, if available 
8) Copy of any applicable permits, if available 

Developing a Scope of Work 

The scope of work requirements may differ between Homeownership Centers (HOC). However, 
in general, you must include: 

• A detailed description of the work that needs to be done to bring the code up to Vermont 
Rental Safety guidelines; 

• Cost of each renovation including estimates from contractors for both the cost of labor 
even if you plan to complete the work yourself and necessary materials (check out the 
resource section for a budget template);  

• Your plan to meet the match requirement, especially if you plan to complete some of the 
work yourself for sweat equity, this should include a description of the work you plan to 
complete and an estimate of the expected costs (for labor and materials); and 

• A timeline for the necessary repairs. Note: All repairs must be complete within 18 
months of signing a VHIP contract.  

 

Before approving your scope of work, some HOCs may want to conduct a site visit to review the 
scope of work and sequence of the project. Additionally, they may conduct an inspection to 
ensure the outlined repairs will bring the unit up to Vermont Rental Safety guidelines.    
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Grant Agreement and Rental Covenant  
Once a VHIP application is approved, the HOC will share a grant agreement with the recipient. 
The agreement outlines the responsibilities of the property owner, the payment schedule, and 
the project deadline (within 18 months of signing the grant agreement). Once this agreement is 
signed and shared with the HOC, project work can begin.  

VHIP recipients must also sign a rental covenant. The rental covenant is a legally binding 
document that is an encumbrance on the property and will be recorded in the towns land 
records. This covenant will be effective for 5 years and states that for this period, the unit must 
remain a long-term rental with a monthly rental rate at or below HUD Fair Market Rent and that 
the Department of Housing and Community Development must approve the sale of the property. 
Review the section on Selling a VHIP Property to learn more about this process. 

Attention: Charging more than the HUD Fair Market Rent for your area violates the Covenant 
placed on your property. Violations may incur penalties including, but not limited to, repayment 
of rent charged over the fair market rate. Please double-check your calculations to ensure you 
are charging a monthly rent within the allowable range. If you have questions, please check out 
the HUD Fair Market Rent Calculator on our website or reach out to accd.VHIP@vermont.gov.  

Match Requirement 
Approved VHIP applicants must provide a 20% match of grant funds before requesting any 
grant funds. For example, if you are approved for a $50,000 grant, you will be required to a 
$10,000 match before any grant funds are disbursed.  

 

You can match the grant funds in several different ways. You can pay for the expense out-of-
pocket, apply for a loan to cover the match requirement, through sweat equity (working on the 
project), or use another grant to cover the expense (as long as the other funding source 
permits). 

Sweat Equity 

In the case of VHIP, sweat equity refers to when a property owner performs work on the 
property they received grant funding for. Property owners may be reimbursed for the work they 
perform on the property, given they included these details were included in the scope of work 
approved by the HOC (the scope of work should include an estimate of the time needed to 
complete the repairs and your hourly rate). 

https://accd.vermont.gov/vhip
mailto:accd.VHIP@vermont.gov
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To receive reimbursement for your work, you must also provide an invoice documenting dates, 
times, an hourly rate, and a description of work performed. It is important that the 
documentation you provide can be tied back to the property you received funding for. Including 
the property address on all invoices, estimates, and work orders is helpful and may be required 
by some HOCs. Check out the sweat equity invoice template in the resource section.  

Grant Disbursements 
It is important to note VHIP funds are disbursed on a reimbursement basis at certain points 
during the project, so you will need to have the capital upfront to cover these expenses until you 
receive reimbursement. To receive reimbursement for the work on your VHIP unit, you must 
submit invoices or receipts documenting the expenses. Please ensure that these documents 
include the unit’s address to ensure prompt payment – this is important so the work can be 
connected back to the unit you received funding for.  

 

VHIP grants are disbursed at four different points during the project: 

• 25% when the project starts; 
• 25% at the halfway point of the project, subject to the property owner returning the fully 

executed and notarized original Subsidy Covenant to the HOC; 
• 30% upon satisfactory final inspection of the unit to ensure it complies with the agreed 

upon scope of work; and 
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• 20% once all receipts have been shared with the HOC, all code and occupancy 
inspections have been completed, and a lease for the apartment has been signed. 

Connecting with the Coordinated Entry (CE) Organization  
When you enroll in the VHIP program you agree to work with the Coordinated Entry (CE) 
organizations to find a suitable tenant exiting homelessness for a minimum of 5 years.1 This 
means that when the project is complete and any time there is turnover, the property owner 
must contact their CE organization for a tenant referral. This is outlined in the grant agreement 
that all VHIP participants sign and is an essential component of program compliance.  

Your Homeownership Center will connect you with the appropriate Coordinated Entry 
organization for your area to get referrals for your unit(s). The referral request form has four 
pages: 

• Page 1: Cover letter to the CE organization to be completed by the HOC.  
• Page 2: Referral Request Form to be completed by the Property Owner with HOC 

assistance. This page will require details about the unit location, rent, and additional 
information about the property's policies.  

Upon completion of Pages 1 & Page 2, the form will be sent to the referring CE organization, 
along with a copy of the blank Common Rental Application for Housing in Vermont. 

• Page 3: Referral Verification Form that will be completed by the CE organization and 
shared with the property owner and HOC. This page will contain information about the 
referred tenants or state that an acceptable referral is not available at this time. A 
completed Common Rental application will also be completed by the prospective tenant 
and shared with the HOC and property owner. If no referral is available, please review 
the next section on seeking a waiver.  

• Page 4: Coordinated Entry Listings provided as a reference. It contains information 
about which CE organizations served various counties and towns throughout Vermont.  

Please note that VHIP participants are required to accept housing vouchers to cover some or all 
their rent.  

When is a Waiver Acceptable 

VHIP participants may seek a waiver to seek tenants outside of the CE referrals if the CE Lead 
fails to provide a suitable tenant option within four weeks of project completion or three weeks 
after the unit has been vacated during the five-year compliance period.* This waiting period may 
be waived at the discretion of the Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD) 
for tenants referred by organizations serving other vulnerable populations, such as the U.S. 
Committee for Refugees and Immigrants (USCRI).  

Your HOC can provide a waiver request form, which will be reviewed by DHCD and approved or 
denied depending on the documentation provided and the reason for the request. When the 
VHIP project is first completed, you should work with your HOC to complete the waiver; 
however, at turn-over during the five-year compliance period, you can connect directly with 

 
1 ADU are exempt from this requirement. 
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DHCD (email waiver requests to accd.vhip@vermont.gov). Property owners are strongly 
encouraged to begin communication with CE Lead before project completion, and property 
owners who can show they have done so will be more likely to have their waivers approved. If a 
waiver is requested before the end of the four-week waiting period, it will be denied, and future 
requests for waivers will not be considered.  

Acceptable reasons to request a waiver: 

• The CE organization could not provide references within the 4-week period. 
• Prospective tenants can’t demonstrate the ability to pay (only if there is no voucher) – 

VHIP participants are required to accept housing choice vouchers. 
• The unit size doesn’t match the referrals. For example, the unit is a 1-bedroom, and the 

household has 4 members.  

Yearly Recertification 
Each year the Department of Housing and Community Development requires you to recertify 
that you are complying with the program requirements, including: 

1. Charging at or below HUD Fair Market Rent (FMR) for any units that received VHIP 
funding; and 

2. If your unit had turnover within the last year that you connected with your Coordinated 
Entry organization to find a suitable tenant or received approval from the Department to 
waive this requirement (ADU are exempt form this). Refer to the waiver section to learn 
more about when it is acceptable to request a waiver.  

To simplify this process, all this information is captured in one yearly recertification form on the 
Department of Housing and Community Development's VHIP webpage. This form includes 
instructions on how to calculate FMR for your area, and the VHIP webpage also has a FMR 
calculator to assist you with this process.  

FMRs regularly published by HUD represent the cost to rent a moderately-priced dwelling unit in 
the local housing market, including the costs of utilities related to housing. Any utilities the 
tenant pays for will require a utility allowance to be deducted from the Fair Market Rent base 
rate. HUD adjusts its Fair Market Rent rates annually, and a Fair Market Rent calculator can be 
found on the Department of Housing and Community Development's VHIP webpage. 

 

https://accd.vermont.gov/vhip
https://accd.vermont.gov/vhip
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Attention: Charging more than the HUD Fair Market Rent for your area violates the Covenant 
placed on your property. Violations may incur penalties including, but not limited to, repayment 
of rent charged over the fair market rate. Please double-check your calculations to ensure you 
are charging a monthly rent within the allowable range. If you have questions, please check out 
the HUD Fair Market Rent Calculator on our website or reach out to accd.VHIP@vermont.gov.  

Refinancing  
Most lenders will require a “Subordination Agreement” before refinancing a VHIP project. This is 
a commonly used contract for real estate financing.   

 A “Subordination Agreement” is a contract to prioritize one debt over another for repayment…. 
The subordination agreement adjusts the priority of the new and older second mortgage to 
ensure that the refinancing lender gets paid first if a foreclosure happens…. 
(https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/what-subordination-agreement.html) 

Please reach out to accd.VHIP@vermont.gov BEFORE applying for refinancing. The 
Department of Housing & Community Development can help walk you through the process, 
tailor a Subordination Agreement contract and help coordinate the needed signatures so you 
can close on a refinance loan with fewer headaches. 

Selling a VHIP Property 
If you want to sell a property that received VHIP funding within five years of project completion, 
when the rental covenant is in effect, you must notify and receive approval from the Department 
of Housing and Community Development (DHCD). You can contact your Homeownership 
Center for a copy of the Sale Approval Template.  

Here is an example disclaimer to include in your real estate listing: 

This property has a covenant agreement that transfers to any new owner/s and is 
in place for 5 years from the date the property was placed in service.   

At least one rental unit at this property was updated using Vermont Housing 
Improvement Program (VHIP) funds.  This funding requires that the unit remains a 
residential rental home with rent restrictions in accordance with Vermont Act 137 of 2020 
and rent rates must be reported to the Department annually.  Please contact Jayme 
Bauer of the Vermont Department of Housing & Community Development at 
jayme.bauer@vermont.gov for more information. 

When a property is sold or transferred within this period, the new property owner will be 
obligated to abide by the Rent Stabilization Covenant Agreement and work with the Coordinated 
Entry Lead Organizations to identify suitable tenants for the remaining term. You must disclose 
this information when selling the property, so the new owner is informed about the covenant on 
the property. The new owner will be responsible for maintaining these requirements and 
submitting the yearly recertification form for the remainder of the time the covenant is in effect.   

https://accd.vermont.gov/vhip
mailto:accd.VHIP@vermont.gov
https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/what-subordination-agreement.html
mailto:accd.VHIP@vermont.gov
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Additional Resources 

Documents 
• Vermont Common Rental Application (fillable PDF) – VHIP recipients are required to 

accept the Vermont Common Rental Application. This form will be included with any 
tenant referrals from the CE organizations. 

• Sample Lease – There is no requirement to use this sample lease. This is provided as 
an example for VHIP recipients who may be new landlords and would like an example 
lease to work off of. You may use this sample lease in part or in whole if you desire.  

• Rental Recertification Form (fillable PDF) -VHIP recipients are required to submit a 
recertification form attesting that they are complying with the program requirements, 
including charging at or below HUD Fair Market Rent and working with a CE 
organization at turnover, when applicable. This form can also be found on DHCD’s 
website. 

• Sweat Equity Invoice Template – This template is provided for property owners who 
have been approved to complete some of the work on their VHIP unit for sweat equity.  

• Budget Template – This fillable PDF is provided for property owners to assist them with 
developing and organizing the budget for their VHIP project (a printable version is also 
available here).  

Landlord Relief Program 
The Landlord Relief Program provides an incentive and added security to landlords statewide 
who house Vermonters receiving rental assistance or who are homeless. 

The goal of the Landlord Relief Program is to increase rental opportunities to people who may 
not otherwise be able to access housing due to rental barriers. The program offers up to $5,000 
for: 

• Prorated cost to hold the unit for a future program-eligible tenants, limited to two months’ 
rent; 

• Prorated cost for loss of rent from a vacancy due to repairs needed (that exceed normal 
wear and tear), limited to one month of rent; 

• Repair qualifying damages caused by a tenant; or 
• Rent associated with early termination of the lease by the tenant, limited to one month of 

rent. 

Fair-Housing 
Fair Housing is the right to equal opportunity in the rental, sale, and financing of housing under 
federal, state and local laws.  

https://outside.vermont.gov/agency/ACCD/ACCD_Web_Docs/Housing/Funding%26Incentives/VHIP/VHIP_VT_Common_Application.pdf
https://burlingtonhousing.org/uploads/files/1618415087_SAMPLE%20LEASE.doc
https://accd.vermont.gov/vhip
https://accd.vermont.gov/vhip
https://outside.vermont.gov/agency/ACCD/ACCD_Web_Docs/Housing/Funding%26Incentives/VHIP/VHIP_SWEAT_EQUITY_INVOICE.pdf
https://outside.vermont.gov/agency/ACCD/ACCD_Web_Docs/Housing/Funding%26Incentives/VHIP/VHIP_SCOPE%26BUDGET_TEMP.pdf
https://outside.vermont.gov/agency/ACCD/ACCD_Web_Docs/Housing/Funding%26Incentives/VHIP/VHIP_SCOPE%26BUDGET_TEMP_PRINT.pdf
https://landlordrelief.vsha.org/
https://accd.vermont.gov/housing/plans-data-rules/fair-housing/fair-housing-analysis
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The Federal Fair Housing Act was part of the Civil Rights Act of 1968, making it illegal to 
discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, and sex. In 1988, Congress 
added familial status and disability to the categories protected under that law. Vermont's Fair 
Housing Act is similar to federal law with six additional protected categories: marital status, age, 
sexual orientation, gender identity, receipt of public assistance, and victims of abuse. 

Resources 

• Vermont’s Analysis of Impediments to Fair Housing 
• Housing Discrimination in Vermont Rental Markets  
• CVOEO’s Fair Housing Project 
• Vermont Human Rights Commission 
• Vermont Legal Aid, Inc. 
• Vermont Center for Independent Living 

Tenant-Landlord Laws 
Renting is a two-way street. A successful rental relationship is much more likely when both 
renters and owners understand their rights and responsibilities. Our Landlord Tenant Education 
Materials will help landlords and tenants understand everything one needs to know about 
renting a home in Vermont.

  

https://accd.vermont.gov/housing/plans-data-rules/fair-housing/fair-housing-analysis
https://accd.vermont.gov/housing/plans-data-rules/fair-housing/fair-housing-analysis
https://outside.vermont.gov/agency/ACCD/ACCD_Web_Docs/Housing/Fair-Housing/Rental-Discrimination-Report-MAY-2014.pdf
https://www.cvoeo.org/get-help/fair-housing-and-discrimination
https://www.cvoeo.org/get-help/fair-housing-and-discrimination
http://hrc.vermont.gov/
http://www.vtlegalaid.org/
http://www.vcil.org/
https://accd.vermont.gov/housing/resources-rules/renters-landlords/education-materials
https://accd.vermont.gov/housing/resources-rules/renters-landlords/education-materials
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Appendix 

A1. Vermont Coordinated Entry organizations by County and Town 

• Addison County (all towns) - Charter House Coalition  
• Bennington County (all towns) - BROC Community Action  
• Caledonia County (except Hardwick) & Essex County towns (East Haven, Granby, 

Guildhall, Lunenburg, Victory & Concord - NEKCA (St. Johnsbury) 
• Chittenden County (all towns) - CVOEO (Burlington) 
• Franklin County & Grand Isle County (all towns) - CVOEO (St. Albans)   
• Lamoille County (plus Hardwick) - Capstone Community Action (Morrisville)  
• Orange County (all towns), plus the following Windsor County towns (Bethel, Rochester, 

Stockbridge, Barnard, Hartford, Hartland, Norwich, Pomfret, Royalton, Sharon, 
Bridgewater & Woodstock) - Upper Valley Haven (White River Junction) 

• Orleans County (all towns) - NEKCA (Newport)  
• Rutland County (all towns) - Homeless Prevention Center  
• Towns of (Stratton, Jamaica, Townshend, Athens, Westminster, Brookline, Wardsboro, 

Newfane, Putney, Somerset, Dover, Dummerston, Wilmington, Marlboro, Brattleboro, 
Whitingham, Halifax, Guilford & Vernon) - Groundworks Collaborative 

• Windsor County towns (Andover, Baltimore, Cavendish, Chester, Ludlow, Plymouth, 
Reading, Springfield, Weathersfield, Weston, West Windsor & Windsor) plus the 
following Windham County towns (Grafton, Londonderry, Rockingham & Windham) - 
Springfield Supported Housing Program 

• Washington County (all towns) - Capstone Community Action (Barre) 
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