

MEETING MINUTES NOVEMBER 20, 2020 WEBEX VIRTUAL MEETING

9:30 A.M. TO 10:07 A.M.

Members Present: Chair John Davis; Mark Nicholson; Rachel Smith; Thad Richardson; Michael Keane; John Russell; Rep. Charlie Kimbell; and Sen. Cheryl Hooker

Members Absent:

Staff Present: Megan Sullivan, Executive Director; Abbie Sherman, Grant Programs Manager

Others Present: Grace Ciffo, Assistant Director, CEDO, City of Burlington; Katherine Schad, Chief Administrative Officer, City of Burlington; Richard Haesler, City of Burlington

9:30 a.m. Roll Call and Agenda Review

Chair John Davis called the meeting to order.

Chair John Davis requested a roll Call. Members present are noted above.

Chair John Davis inquired as to any additions or deletions to the agenda, hearing none, moved to the next Agenda item.

9:31 a.m. Minutes – October 29, 2020

Chair John Davis inquired as to any corrections or changes to the draft meeting minutes for October 29, 2020. Hearing none, requested a motion.

- ❖ At 9:31 a.m. Michael Keane moved to accept the October 29, 2020 meeting minutes as presented. Rachel Smith seconded the motion. Chair John Davis inquired as to further discussion, hearing none requested a roll call for the vote. All voted in favor and the motion passed. 8-0-0.
 - Aye: Chair John Davis; Mark Nicholson; Rachel Smith; Michael Keane; John Russell; Rep. Charlie Kimbell; and Sen. Cheryl Hooker
 - Nay: None
 - Abstain: Thad Richardson

9:32 a.m. Public Comment

Chair John Davis inquired as to any members of the public present to provide public comment or announcements, hearing none, moved to the next Agenda item.

9:32 a.m. Tax Increment Financing Districts (TIF):

Burlington Downtown TIF District Substantial Change Request (continued)

Abbie Sherman reminded the Board of the details of the City's request which included the removal of structured parking and the Hood Plant sewer line and an adjustment of timelines and costs for Streets and Infrastructure projects. She noted that the City has added the use of various sources of Non-TIF Funding for completion of the Phase I projects. The city has also included in their TIF Financing Plan, the anticipated redevelopment of the Burlington Y property, the annual \$260,000 Development Agreement payment to use toward debt service and related costs, and continued retention of 100% share of municipal tax increment.

Abbie also reminded the Board of the staff's review of the Substantial Change Request standard questions, finding that the City's request meets each of the requirements.

Michael Keane provide the Board with a summary of the VEPC Subcommittee review of the City's request including the discussion of the development agreement and the surplus anticipated at the end of the life of the District. The subcommittee is recommending to the board that they include a condition for the Development Agreement fee in the motion to approve the City's request.

Megan Sullivan noted that the District will be audited by the State Auditor's Office next year and that all TIF Districts have to come back to VEPC to look at share of education tax increment after period to incur debt has ended. This review allows VEPC to determine whether the approved share of education tax increment is still appropriate or if it should be lowered given amount of surplus.

Council members noted VEPC should have been notified by the city of the change in the Eagles-Champlain College development earlier than they were, reiterating the importance of TIF Districts keeping the Council informed of changes. The Council felt this should have been considered substantial change when it happened since it means a substantial amount of anticipated education tax increment would not be going to education fund.

- ❖ At 9:47 a.m. Michael Keane moved to approve the City of Burlington's Substantial Change Request for the Downtown TIF District finding that the amendments meet the criteria for approval and that the documents provided shows the District continues to be fiscally and financially viable, and with the requirement that the \$260,000 Development Agreement Fee be deposited into the TIF District Fund to be used for debt service and related costs and that 100% share of municipal tax increment will continue to be retained in the TIF District Fund, both of these requirements being including the revised TIF Financing Plan which is a source document for monitoring and auditing of the TIF District. Mark Nicholson seconded the motion. Chair John Davis requested a roll call for the vote, all voted in favor and the motion passed. 8-0-0.
 - Aye: Chair John Davis; Mark Nicholson; Rachel Smith; Thad Richardson; Michael Keane;
 John Russell; Rep. Charlie Kimbell; and Sen. Cheryl Hooker

Nay: NoneAbstain: None

Following approval of the City's request the Council discussed how TIF substantial change requests are expected to come to VEPC. Megan Sullivan explained that the plans provided by the towns are just that plan, and there should be an expectation that over that period of time they may change. She noted that 2020 is one example of how development plans can change in one year. Megan added that through the implementation in the last few years of staff monitoring visits, provision and in-depth review of annual reports and the AUP, and conversations with the TIF Districts have all presented more opportunities for VEPC to understand what is changing and to offer advice for when a District should come in with a Substantial Change Request.

9:57 a.m. Executive Director Updates:

Megan Sullivan provided the following updates to the Council on the TIF fall monitoring visits, VEGI applications, and the ACCD economic recovery grant program.

Rep. Charlie Kimbell inquired whether information could be provided so that he could conduct a self-guided tour of TIF Districts. Abbie Sherman will provide him with that information.

Chair John Davis inquired as any other business, there being none requested a motion to adjourn.

- ❖ At 10:07 a.m. Michael Keane moved to adjourn the meeting. Charlie Kimbell seconded the motion. Chair John Davis requested a vote, all voted in favor and the motion passed. 8-0-0.
 - Aye: Chair John Davis; Mark Nicholson; Rachel Smith; Thad Richardson; Michael Keane; John Russell; Rep. Charlie Kimbell; and Sen. Cheryl Hooker
 - Nay: None
 - Abstain: None

Minutes taken by Abbie Sherman: November 20, 2020 Revised by Megan Sullivan: November 25, 2020 Approved by the Council: December 17, 2020