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Section 3 Worker Certification 
 

This form is to identify Section 3 Workers and Targeted Section 3 Workers for the purpose of 
complying with Section 3 of the Housing and Urban Development Act.  The form can be used for 
new hires as well as the current workforce. Employers may complete this form for existing 
employees.  Section 3 of the Act is intended to ensure that employment and other economic 
opportunities generated by HUD financial assistance shall to the greatest extent feasible be 
directed to low-income persons, particularly those who are recipients of government assistance.   
 
Please provide the following information: 
 
Company Name: ________________________________________________ 
 
Date of Hire:  ____________ 
 
Employee Name: ________________________________________________ 
 
Employee Address: ________________________________________________ 
 
   ________________________________________________ 
 
Annual Income (from last tax return or last calendar year): $_______________ 
 
Are you a YouthBuild participant?    Yes ___ No ___ 
 
Employee Signature: _____________________________ Date: ___________ 

(or for existing employees) 
Company Certification/: ____________________________ Date: ___________ 
Employer Signature 
 
 
Company to Complete below: 
 
Does the employee meet the income threshold to be considered a Section 3 Worker? 
 
 Employee’s previous annual income was below 80 percent of the median for the area the 

employee resided in as described in 24 CFR Part 75.  See income limits below. 
 

Does the employee meet at least one of the criteria to be considered a Targeted Section 3 
Worker? 
 
 Employee is a YouthBuild participant 

 
 Employee is a low-income resident of the neighborhood or area where the Company is 

working on a HUD-funded Section 3 project. 
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Section 3 Worker Income Limits 
HUD Income Limits for Vermont 2023 

 
County 2023 HUD Low Income Threshold 
Addison $55,550 

Bennington $50,800 
Caledonia $50,800 

Chittenden $63,600 
Essex $50,800 

Franklin $63,600 
Grand Isle $63,600 
Lamoille $50,800 
Orange $50,800 
Orleans $50,800 
Rutland $50,800 

Washington $54,200 
Windham $50,800 
Windsor $52,300 

 
 
These figures represent 80% of the median income for 1 person in the county indicated as 
determined by HUD.  This chart will be updated annually when HUD releases new figures, 
typically in the first or second quarter of the new year.  The figures presented here are the most 
recent available and should be used for Section 3 worker determinations until new figures are 
posted.  (Refer to HUD income limits at https://www.huduser.gov/portal/datasets/il.html)  
 
 

https://www.huduser.gov/portal/datasets/il.html
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