Draft Minutes Vermont Downtown Board 6/22/2020

Meeting held via conference call in compliance with the Executive Order 01-20

Members Present (12):

- ☑ Josh Hanford (*Chair*), designated by the Secretary of Commerce and Community Development
- ☑ Michele Boomhower, designated by the Secretary of Transportation
- Billy Coster, designated by the Secretary of Natural Resources
- ☑ Michael Desrochers, designated by the Commissioner of Public Safety
- ☑ Laura Trieschmann, State Historic Preservation Officer
- ☑ Patricia M. Sears, appointed by the Governor, representing the Vermont Natural Resources Council and the Preservation Trust of Vermont. (via phone)
- ☐ David Allaire, designated by the Vermont League of Cities and Towns
- ☐ Michael McDonough, appointed by the governor, representing local government
- ☑ Bruce Cheeseman, appointed by the Governor, representing local government
- ☑ Chip Sawyer, designated by the Vermont Planners Association
- ☑ Greg Boulbol, designated by the Chair of the Natural Resources Board
- ☑ Tasha Wallis, designated by the Vermont Association of Planning and Development Agencies
- ☑ Tom Torti, appointed by the Governor, representing the Vermont Association of Chamber Executives

Attending Community Planning and Revitalization (CP+R) Team Members (4): Chris Cochran, Richard Amore, Caitlin Corkins and Jenni Lavoie.

Guests (2): Jock Gill, Peacham Planning Commission; Alison Lowe, NVDA.

Josh Hanford brought the meeting to order at 1:02 pm via GoTo Meeting virtual conference call.

Additions or Deletions to Board Agenda

There were no additions or deletions to the board agenda.

1. Public Comment Period

Josh Hanford opened the meeting to public comment: there were no comments.

2. Consent Agenda Items:

There were no questions on the following agenda items:

- April 27, 2020 Meeting Minutes
- May 19, 2020 Special Meeting Minutes
- East Randolph Village Center Designation
- Peacham Village Center Designation
- East Ryegate Village Center Designation
- Ryegate Corner Village Center Designation
- South Ryegate Village Center Designation

Richard Amore and board members congratulated the towns of Peacham, Randolph, and Ryegate for their hard work and the successful designation requests.

3. Downtown and Village Center Tax Credit Program – Caitlin Corkins

In preparation for the upcoming July round of downtown and village enter tax credit and sales tax reallocation applications due July 1, Caitlin walked the board through the application review process, the competitive scoring criteria and the conflict of interest provisions. Board members reviewed sample applications and discussed strategies to ensure consistency in scoring.

4. Old Business / New Business

Chris Cochran and Josh Hanford provided board members an overview of pending legislation affecting the state designation programs and housing.

5. Adjourn

David Allaire made a motion to adjourn and Billy Coster seconded. Ayes: Billy Coster, Bruce Cheeseman, Chip Sawyer, Dave Allaire, Greg Boulbol, Laura Trieschmann, Michael Desrochers, Michele Boomhower, Tasha Wallis, Tom Torti, Trish Sears, and Josh Hanford. The motion carried.

The Downtown Board meeting was adjourned at 1:59 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Jenni Lavoie