Approved Minutes Vermont Downtown Board 5/19/2020

Meeting held via conference call in compliance with the Executive Order 01-20

Members Present (12):

- ☑ Josh Hanford (*Chair*), designated by the Secretary of Commerce and Community Development
- ☑ Michele Boomhower, designated by the Secretary of Transportation
- ☑ Billy Coster, designated by the Secretary of Natural Resources
- ☑ Michael Desrochers, designated by the Commissioner of Public Safety
- ☑ Laura Trieschmann, State Historic Preservation Officer
- ☑ Patricia M. Sears, appointed by the Governor, representing the Vermont Natural Resources Council and the Preservation Trust of Vermont.
- ☑ David Allaire, designated by the Vermont League of Cities and Towns
- ☑ Michael McDonough, appointed by the governor, representing local government
- ☑ Bruce Cheeseman, appointed by the Governor, representing local government
- ☑ Chip Sawyer, designated by the Vermont Planners Association
- ☑ Greg Boulbol, designated by the Chair of the Natural Resources Board
- ☑ Tasha Wallis, designated by the Vermont Association of Planning and Development Agencies
- ☐ Tom Torti, appointed by the Governor, representing the Vermont Association of Chamber Executives

Attending Community Planning and Revitalization (CP+R) Team Members (2): Gary Holloway, and Jenni Lavoie.

Josh Hanford brought the meeting to order at 1:01 pm via GoTo Meeting virtual conference all.

Additions or Deletions to Board Agenda

There were no additions or deletions to the board agenda.

1. Public Comment Period

Josh Hanford opened the meeting to public comment: there were no comments.

2. Downtown Transportation Fund Grant

Gary Holloway explained that all applications were submitted prior to the COVID pandemic, and the Winooski application was inadvertently excluded at the April meeting. Board members reviewed and individually scored all Downtown Transportation Fund grant applications prior to the April meeting and those same reviewers scored the Winooski application prior to the May special meeting. Gary Holloway presented the tallied and ranked scores of the 10 eligible applications requesting a total of \$580,734 for an available \$379,798 in funding. Based on tallied and averaged board scores full funding could be made available to applications from Bennington, St. Johnsbury, Brandon, Waterbury, Rutland, and Bellows Falls. The remaining \$36,750 could be offered to the next highest scoring application from Winooski.

Board members inquired about the status of having wayfinding signage projects in designated downtowns reviewed by the Travel Information Council, as previously discussed at the April board meeting. DHCD staff advised that grant language has been developed in

Downtown Development Board May 2020 Page 2 of 2

coordination with the Agency General Counsel referencing Travel Information Council approval, and this language will be added to the DTF grant agreement. Greg Boulbol added that there appears to be an exemption in the statute for municipalities that intend to erect certain directional signage.

Michael McDonough made a motion to accept the ranking and staff recommendation to fully fund the Downtown Transportation Fund grants for Bennington, St. Johnsbury, Brandon, Waterbury, Rutland, and Bellows Falls, and to offer remaining funds to Winooski. Michael Desrochers seconded. A roll call vote was taken. Ayes: Billy Coster, Bruce Cheeseman, Chip Sawyer, Dave Allaire, Greg Boulbol, Laura Trieschmann, Michael Desrochers, Michael McDonough, Michael Boomhower, Tasha Wallis, Trish Sears, and Josh Hanford. The motion carried.

3. Adjourn

Michele Boomhower made a motion to adjourn and Trish Sears seconded. The motion passed unanimously. A roll call vote was taken. Ayes: Billy Coster, Bruce Cheeseman, Chip Sawyer, Dave Allaire, Greg Boulbol, Laura Trieschmann, Michael Desrochers, Michael McDonough, Michele Boomhower, Tasha Wallis, Trish Sears, and Josh Hanford. The motion carried.

The Downtown Board meeting was adjourned at 1:16 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Jenni Lavoie

2