Minutes Vermont Downtown Board 3/23/2020

Calvin Coolidge Conference Room, 6th Floor, National Life Bldg., Montpelier Meeting held via conference call in compliance with the Executive Order 01-20

All related applications and reports are appended to the minutes

Members Present (12):

- ☑ Josh Hanford (*Chair*), designated by the Secretary of Commerce and Community Development
- oxtimes Karen Songhurst, alternate designated by the Secretary of Transportation
- In Mojo, alternate designated by the Secretary of Natural Resources
- In Michael Desrochers, designated by the Commissioner of Public Safety
- 🛛 Laura Trieschmann, State Historic Preservation Officer
- ☑ Patricia M. Sears, appointed by the Governor, representing the Vermont Natural Resources Council and the Preservation Trust of Vermont.
- David Allaire, designated by the Vermont League of Cities and Towns
- Image Michael McDonough, appointed by the governor, representing local government
- Bruce Cheeseman, appointed by the Governor, representing local government
- Chip Sawyer, designated by the Vermont Planners Association
- Greg Boulbol, designated by the Chair of the Natural Resources Board
- Ed Bove, alternate designated by the Vermont Association of Planning and Development Agencies
- Tom Torti, appointed by the Governor, representing the Vermont Association of Chamber Executives

Attending Community Planning and Revitalization (CP+R) Team Members (5): Chris

Cochran, Richard Amore, Jacob Hemmerick, Gary Holloway, and Jenni Lavoie.

Guests (8): Carrie Peters, Town of Groton; Judith Jackson, Town of Irasburg; Michael Sanville, Town of Irasburg; Alison Lowe, NVDA; Barbara Bosworth, Town of Shoreham; Katie Raycroft-Meyer, ACRPC; Sue Fillion, Town of Brattleboro; Andrew Graminski, Town of Brattleboro.

Josh Hanford brought the meeting to order at 1:01 pm in the Calvin Coolidge conference room, on the 6th floor of the National Life Davis building, Montpelier.

Additions or Deletions to Board Agenda

The training on Downtown Transportation Fund applications, and the legislative update were deleted from the agenda.

Downtown Development Board March 2020 Page 2 of 2

1. Public Comment Period

Josh Hanford opened the meeting to public comment: there were no comments.

2. Consent Agenda Items:

There were no questions on the following agenda items:

- Groton Village Center Designation Application
- Irasburg Village Center Designation Application
- Shoreham Village Center Designation Application
- Middlebury Downtown Designation Four-Year Check-In
- Windsor Downtown Designation Four-Year Check-In

The board asked a few clarifying questions regarding Brattleboro's Neighborhood Development Area Designation Application

Board members asked Jacob Hemmerick to confirm his support for the town's application and he did so. Additional board questions and comments related to the infrastructure investments to make Canal Street a more pedestrian friendly and why some residential areas were not included within the proposed NDA boundary.

Sue Fillion, Brattleboro Planning Director, said the town has implemented additional Canal Street safety measures for pedestrian crossing and they would continue make pedestrian investments as needed. She explained that other residential areas were excluded due to steep slopes and/or limited potential for future housing development.

Tom Torti made a motion to approve the items on the consent agenda, and Bruce Cheeseman seconded. A roll call vote was taken. Ayes: Bruce Cheeseman, Chip Sawyer, Ed Bove, Greg Boulbol, Jen Mojo, Karen Songhurst, Laura Trieschmann, Michael Desrochers, Michael McDonough, Tom Torti, Trish Sears, and Josh Hanford. The motion carried.

Judith Jackson, with the Town of Irasburg and Barbara Bosworth, with the Town of Shoreham, both thanked the board for approval of the village center designation. The incentives that come with designation will boost their local revitalization efforts.

3. Adjourn

Karen Songhurst made a motion to adjourn and Tom Torti seconded. The motion passed unanimously. The Downtown Board meeting was adjourned at 1:28 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Jenni Lavoie