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MEMORANDUM 

 
TO:  Municipal Planning and Development Review Officials 
FROM:  Jacob Hemmerick, Community Planning & Policy Manager 
  Dale Azaria, General Counsel 
  Vermont Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD) 
DATE:  June 21, 2019 
RE: 2019 Legislative Revisions to Vermont’s Planning and Development Act, the 

Downtown Development Act, Act 250, and Other Relevant Changes 
 

 
The General Assembly enacted several laws and amendments affecting local planning and regulation 
in 2019. As in past years, we are issuing this memo to inform municipal planning and development 
officials of changes in statute, as well as provide web links to the pertinent statutory language. 
 
The Vermont Statutes Online are updated each October and will not include the 2019 changes until 
then.  Links provided below go to the bills as enacted. 
 
In compiling these statutory amendments, we owe thanks to Alex Weinhagen for his work as 
Legislative Liaison for the Vermont Planners Association (VPA) and to the Vermont League of Cities 
and Towns (VLCT) for their legislative updates throughout the session. 
 
State Designated Centers  
Act 71 | H.541, §5 

Link: https://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2020/H.541 
 
The Legislature and the administration worked together on several tax policy changes to expand 
support for local community revitalization efforts and make housing more affordable.  
  
Downtown and Village Center Tax Credits 
Technical changes that make the downtown and village tax credit program more effective include: 

 An increase in the annual amount of overall funding by $200,000, from $2.4M to $2.6M. 
 The maximum credit available for elevators was increased as well, with the cap for full-sized 

elevators raised from $50K to $75K.  The cap for a LULA (limited use/limited application) 
elevator was increased from $40K to $60K. 

 The language that limited eligibility to buildings built before to 1983 was amended to allow 
buildings 30 years or older to qualify.   

 The time to complete a project awarded funding was reduced from five to three years. An 
exception is provided for projects that are approved under the federal phased project timeline 
which allows five years for project completion. 

http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/
http://www.vermontplanners.org/
https://www.vlct.org/news/2018-legislative-wrap
https://www.vlct.org/news/2018-legislative-wrap
https://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2020/H.541
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 The 50% Technology Credit for the installation or improvement of data or network wiring was 
repealed. 

 In response to a Supreme Court First Amendment ruling, the definition of “qualified applicant” 
was modified to allow religious organizations to qualify when the building is frequently used for 
secular purposes, e.g. community food banks, scout meetings, and soup kitchens.   

 
Affordable Housing Programs 

 Tax credits available to fund VHFA’s first time homebuyer program doubled and the program 
was extended to FY26.  VHFA estimates an additional 230 households will become permanent 
Vermont residents when they can get $5K of down payment assistance when they get a VHFA 
mortgage. 

 The state’s homeownership tax credits also increased, which will add an additional $625K to 
create affordable homeownership opportunities. The credits are used by developers to lower 
the price of new or rehabilitated homes including replacing older, inefficient mobile homes with 
energy efficient manufactured housing. 
 

 
Act 250 Reform  
Link: https://legislature.vermont.gov/committee/document/2020/12/Bill/188679#documents-section 
The House Committee on Natural Resources and Energy grappled for months on a complicated set of 
issues -- like how Act 250 could address climate change, discourage forest fragmentation, protect 
sensitive habitats, and direct more development to state designated areas like downtowns, village 
centers, and neighborhoods.  While there is broad agreement that Act 250 would benefit from 
modernization, the Committee was unable to find consensus on the details.  The Committee will 
continue its work on Act 250 in January 2020. 
 
 

Land Gains Tax Exemption in State Designated Areas 
Act 71 | H.541, §15 

Link: https://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2020/H.541 
Effective January 1, 2020, the law makes significant changes to the Land Gains Tax such that it will only 
apply to transfers of land that have been recently purchased and subdivided.  
 The act exempts land in a downtown development district, a village center, growth center, or new 

town center. 
 Only land subdivided within six years of purchase will be subject to the tax.  

 
 

Highway Banners 
Act 50 | H.292  
Link: https://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2020/H.292 
To accommodate temporary overhead highway banners (such as those used to advertise civic events), 
the law allows banners with breakaway fasteners over certain highways up less than 21 days and at least 
16.5 feet from the ground.  Effective July 1, 2019. 
  

https://legislature.vermont.gov/committee/document/2020/12/Bill/188679#documents-section
https://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2020/H.541
https://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2020/H.292
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State-Owned Airport Permitting 
Act No. TBD | S.162, §4 

Link: https://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2020/S.162 
To promote development at state-owned airports, the law: 
 Creates state-owned airport master permit and master plan definitions to capture most aviation-

focused development (except runways and general airport operation infrastructure). 
 Encourages the Agency of Transportation to develop master [development] plans in consultation 

with the Agency of Commerce and Community Development and obtain state-owned master 
airport permits for facility upgrades, electric aircraft charging stations and (if practical) renewable 
energy generation. 

 Creates waivers for state permit fees for permits associated with a master plan previously 
reviewed and approved by the Agency of Natural Resources, Department of Public Safety, 
Natural Resources, Board, and the Public Utilities Commission. 
 

Affordable Housing Funding 
Act 48 | H.132 §9 

Link: https://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2020/H.132 
There was continued interest by the Legislature in funding for affordable housing.  This act charges the 
State Treasurer -- in cooperation with Agency of Commerce and Community Development and Dept. of 
Taxes -- to evaluate options and recommend legislation for affordable housing by January 15, 2020, 
including: 
 A plan for the creation of 1,000 housing units over five years for Vermonters with incomes up to 

120% of area median income, above and beyond established baselines; and 
 Provisions for meeting single-family, multi-family, re-investment in existing stock, and service-

supportive housing needs. 
 

Housing Protections for Victims of Domestic & Sexual Violence 
Act 48 | H.132 §§1-4 

Link: https://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2020/H.132 
Effective July 1, 2019, the law extends a variety of protections to victims of domestic and sexual violence 
related to rental agreements, security measures, landlord liability, and unfair housing practices. 
 
 
Health Officers: Rental Housing & Health Code Enforcement  
Act 48 | H.132 §§5-8 

Link: https://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2020/H.132 
To better support town health officers and improve the administration of Vermont’s rental housing code 
enforcement, the law: 
 Establishes the Department of Health as lead on state rental housing health laws and extends its 

charge to aid in the interpretation, implementation, and enforcement of state rental housing 
health and safety laws. 

 Establishes that municipal health officer inspection reports are public records and requires that 
the health officer provide inspection information to the Department of Health within seven days of 
issuing an inspection report using an electronic system (to be established for this purpose). 

 Enables a penalty of $200 per day for each violation (increased from $100) with waiver penalties 
of 50% of full amount. 

https://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2020/S.162
https://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2020/H.132
https://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2020/H.132
https://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2020/H.132


 

 2019 Legislative Revisions  DHCD Memo  Page 4  

 Allows the local health officer, Dept. of Health, or State’s attorney to bring action in the Judicial 
Bureau for cumulative fines less than $800, and to the Superior Court for cumulative fines more 
than $800. 

 Directs the Rental Housing Advisory Board, Dept. of Health, and Dept. of Public Safety to develop 
recommendations for the design and implementation of a comprehensive system for the 
professional enforcement of rental housing health and safety laws by January 15, 2020. 

 Directs each municipality to provide summary information on its inspection activity from July 1, 
2018 – June 30, 2019 to the Dept. of Health by August 1, 2019. 

 Effective July 1, 2019, unless otherwise specified. 
 

Municipal Clerk Recording Fees & Record-Keeping Funds 
Act 38 | H.526, §1 
Link: https://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2020/H.526 
To support effective public records administration, the law, effective July 1, 2019: 
 Increases filing and recording fees for deeds and most documents of public record from $10 to 

$15. 
 Increases filing and recording fees for survey plats from $15 to $25. 
 Requires the creation of a restoration and preservation reserve fund for the restoration, 

preservation, digitization, storage and conservation of municipal records.  
 

Survey Plat Filings & Statewide Digital Survey Library 
Act 38 | H.526, §3 
Link: https://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2020/H.526 
In response to a recommendation from the statewide parcels advisory board, experience from the 
parcel program, and input from multiple related groups, the law: 
 Creates an online statewide survey library that will be created and hosted by the Vermont Center 

for Geographic information (VCGI) for digital copies of survey plats. 
 Requires surveyors to file a digital survey plat in PDF format with VCGI upon filing the plat with the 

town clerk. 
 Requires any conveyance of land by deed that would result in a change in boundary or 

subdivision to be accompanied by a survey plat or cite the volume and page in the land records 
that indicates where the new parcel boundaries have previously been recorded. 

 The survey plat filed with the town clerk of the municipality in which the survey is located remains 
the official plat of record. 

 Effective January 1, 2020; additional information on VCGI implementation is available here.   
 

Prior DHCD memos summarizing the statutory changes starting in 2007 can be found at 
http://accd.vermont.gov/community-development/resources-rules/planning. 
 
 

https://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2020/H.526
https://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2020/H.526
https://vcgi.vermont.gov/press-release/coming-january-2020-vermont-survey-library
http://accd.vermont.gov/community-development/resources-rules/planning

