Draft Minutes Vermont Downtown Board 6/27/2022

Calvin Coolidge Conference Room, 6th Floor, National Life Bldg., Montpelier & Via GoTo Virtual Meeting

Members Present (11):

- ☑ Josh Hanford (*Chair*), designated by the Secretary of Commerce and Community Development
- $\hfill\square$ Michele Boomhower, designated by the Secretary of Transportation
- Billy Coster, designated by the Secretary of Natural Resources
- Image Michael Desrochers, designated by the Commissioner of Public Safety
- ☑ Laura Trieschmann, State Historic Preservation Officer, arrived at 1:08pm
- In Jaime Lee, appointed by the Governor, representing the Vermont Natural Resources Council and the Preservation Trust of Vermont.
- David Allaire, designated by the Vermont League of Cities and Towns
- Michael McDonough, appointed by the governor, representing local government
- Bruce Cheeseman, appointed by the Governor, representing local government
- Chip Sawyer, designated by the Vermont Planners Association
- Sabina Haskell, Chair of the Natural Resources Board
- □ Ed Bove, alternate designated by the Vermont Association of Planning and Development Agencies
- Cathy Davis, appointed by the Governor, representing the Vermont Association of Chamber Executives

Attending Community Planning and Revitalization (CP+R) Team Members (5): Chris Cochran, Richard Amore, Gary Holloway, Caitlin Corkins, and Jenni Lavoie.

Guests (5): Lucinda Sullivan, Town of Roxbury; Meghan Rodier, LCPC; Blaine Hoskins, CVRPC; Sara Tully, Town of Mendon; and Patti Lancaster, Town of Mendon.

Josh Hanford brought the meeting to order at 1:01pm via GoTo Meeting virtual conference call.

Additions or Deletions to Board Agenda

There were no additions or deletions to the board agenda.

1. Public Comment Period

Josh Hanford opened the meeting to public comment: there were no comments.

2. Consent Agenda Items:

- April 25, 2022, Draft Meeting Minutes
- Hancock Village Center Designation Renewal
- Wolcott Village Center Designation Renewal

Dave Allaire made a motion to approve the consent agenda items, and Bruce Cheeseman seconded. Ayes: Billy Coster, Bruce Cheeseman, Cathy Davis, Chip Sawyer, Dave Allaire, Jaime Lee, Michael Desrochers, Michael McDonough, Sabina Haskell, and Josh Hanford. The motion carried.

3. Village Center Designations – 2 – Town of Calais

Mendon Village Center

The proposed boundary runs along Route 4 at the intersection of Meadow Lake Drive, and includes the Methodist Community Church, the pump house, commercial businesses, and single-family and multifamily residences. The town worked with staff to define the boundary that meets statutory definition and submitted a map that meets the program's requirements.

Sara Tully, Town Administrator, shared that the town has been considering village center designation for years, and a recent update to the Municipal Plan focused on village center designation and re-imaging and improving the Route 4 corridor.

Chip Sawyer made a motion to approve the consent agenda items, and Jaime Lee seconded. Ayes: Billy Coster, Bruce Cheeseman, Cathy Davis, Chip Sawyer, Dave Allaire, Jaime Lee, Laura Trieschmann, Michael Desrochers, Michael McDonough, Sabina Haskell, and Josh Hanford. The motion carried.

Roxbury Village Center

The proposed boundary runs along Roxbury Road (Route 12A), and includes the fire house, town clerk's office, community hall and senior center, country store, town park, Windridge Camp, church, library, village school, post office, historical society, commercial businesses, and single-family and multifamily residences. The town worked with staff to define the boundary that meets statutory definition and submitted a map that meets the program's requirements.

Lucinda Sullivan, Roxbury Planning Commission Chair, shared that Roxbury – the geographic center of Vermont, has been considering village center designation for years. With lots of current energy, and enthusiasm many good projects are starting to move forward such as new community gathering spaces, and the repurposing of a former church, which has the potential to house a community center, library, and café.

Jamie Lee made a motion to approve the consent agenda items, and Laura Trieschmann seconded. Ayes: Billy Coster, Bruce Cheeseman, Cathy Davis, Chip Sawyer, Dave Allaire, Jaime Lee, Laura Trieschmann, Michael Desrochers, Michael McDonough, Sabina Haskell, and Josh Hanford. The motion carried.

4. Downtown and Village Center Tax Credit Program

In preparation for the upcoming July round of downtown and village enter tax credit applications due July 1, Caitlin walked the board through the application review process, the legislative changes in the program for FY23, and competitive scoring criteria. Board members reviewed sample applications and discussed strategies to ensure consistency in scoring.

5. Old Business / New Business

Gary Holloway shared the success of the recent Downtown and Historic Preservation conference, held in St. Johnsbury, on Thursday, June 9. Approximately 250 of the 350 registered folks braved the rain to come together learn, share, and celebrate in the recent successes of the town.

Gary also shared that the Division is surveying current grantees of the Downtown Transportation Fund grant program, to check on potential project issues and inform future decisions.

Chris Cochran briefed board members on outcomes of the 2022 legislative session that touch on the work of the board including the review of the and modernization of the state

Downtown Development Board June 2022 Page 3 of 3

designation programs, changes to Neighborhood Development Area Program that make it easier for small towns to qualify, and funding to create a Neighborhood Partnership that aims to build new and infill housing in smart growth locations.

6. Adjourn

Billy Čoster made a motion to adjourn, and Bruce Cheeseman seconded. The motion passed unanimously. The Downtown Board meeting was adjourned at 2:20p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Jenni Lavoie